Extruder Temp Drops upon starting Print

Discussions related to the Rostock MAX v2
wesd08
Noob

Extruder Temp Drops upon starting Print

Post by wesd08 »

I've been enjoying my Rostock Max v2 for several months now. Recently, I've noticed that when I start a print, the Extruder temp drops off completely.

Preheat works fine, and the hot end reaches a stable preheat temperature before printing. Any ideas about how to troubleshoot this issue? Would love to start printing again.

Thanks in advance!
Tincho85
Printmaster!

Re: Extruder Temp Drops upon starting Print

Post by Tincho85 »

Does the layer fan turns on when the print begins?
Martín S.
JFettig
Printmaster!

Post by JFettig »

What are your pid values?
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by Eaglezsoar »

You may try to wrap your heating block with self fusing silicon tape to act as insulation for the block.
JFettig
Printmaster!

Post by JFettig »

silicone tape only bandaids the problem, when the electrical connections are good and PID is right, it shouldn't have any issues with getting to temp. Your I and D values should be less than 1, usually .1-.2
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by Eaglezsoar »

JFettig wrote:silicone tape only bandaids the problem, when the electrical connections are good and PID is right, it shouldn't have any issues with getting to temp. Your I and D values should be less than 1, usually .1-.2
I suggested the tape in case a fan is blowing on or near the heat block.
SirLinhart
Plasticator

Post by SirLinhart »