What im i doing wrong??

Post your prints with the GCode used to help other users achieve a similar result, or get help.
Orellana.arch
Plasticator

What im i doing wrong??

Post by Orellana.arch »

Hey whats going on guys

so im pretty new to 3d printing and i have a couple of files i want to print from Rhino 3d. but i have them saved in inches (im not sure if the machine only recognize mm). When ever i export as an STL and import it into Matter Controls the piece comes out realllyyyyy small. what am i doing wrong??? or should i save the stl file as mm idk. please help thank you
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Post by teoman »

You can save itas mm,

Or you can scale it in mc. It is under edit.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by mhackney »

I work in Rhino and just do everything in mm. Much easier that way.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler
Orellana.arch
Plasticator

Post by Orellana.arch »

mhackney wrote:I work in Rhino and just do everything in mm. Much easier that way.
so you think thats the problem? i need to convert my files into mm before i export it into a stl file?
Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by Polygonhell »

Orellana.arch wrote:
mhackney wrote:I work in Rhino and just do everything in mm. Much easier that way.
so you think thats the problem? i need to convert my files into mm before i export it into a stl file?
Yes STL files don't have units, and the Slicers all assume everything is mm.
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by mhackney »