stl output not quite as i expected

http://freecadweb.org
Post Reply
User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

stl output not quite as i expected

Post by teoman »

As a member recommended freeCAD i decided to give it go. It seems fairly easy to use however the stl output did not quite turn out as i expected. Anyone has any ideas?
Attachments
view of STL in mattercontrol
view of STL in mattercontrol
Freecad bottom view
Freecad bottom view
Freecad view
Freecad view
BidonKapak.stl
The STL file
(499.89 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
BidonKapak.FCStd
The Freecad File
(12.94 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

User avatar
crocky
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 6:55 pm
Location: Werribee, Aust

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Post by crocky »

None yet...

I have just loaded it :)
Bob
Rostock Max V2, Ball Cup Arms, New Carriages, HE280, Dampers, PSU Breathing, Simplify 3D, GeckoTek3D, Raspberry Pi3. Duet soon... Kossel Mini still under construction.
Delta's are the way!

User avatar
crocky
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 6:55 pm
Location: Werribee, Aust

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Post by crocky »

Same result as you I'm afraid.

Might be the way it is constructed, not much help :)
Bob
Rostock Max V2, Ball Cup Arms, New Carriages, HE280, Dampers, PSU Breathing, Simplify 3D, GeckoTek3D, Raspberry Pi3. Duet soon... Kossel Mini still under construction.
Delta's are the way!

User avatar
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:35 am
Location: Notre Dame area
Contact:

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Post by Jimustanguitar »

Did you try running it through NetFabb? Sometimes there are problems with the export process (disconnected triangles and the such) that NetFabb can repair.

Provided that you're selecting the correct parts, and have the right features of your model "turned on", it's got to be something between the export and opening it in the slicing program.

Have you tried a different slicer, just to eliminate variables?

Another test could be to save as a "real" CAD file, open it with something else, and do the STL export with a second program. It's hard to speculate what will fix it, you'll just have to try a little bit of everything :)

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Post by teoman »

It was my first try. And i did not try that part again. But i believe it wqs because i left some degrees of freedom on my bottom sketch.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

Neofire
Noob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 11:59 am

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Post by Neofire »

This is an old post but I wanted to answer the question in case anyone else has this problem.

The problem with the STL file is that the FreeCAD model hasn't been "fused" using the "Make Union of Several Shaps Tool" on the Parts workbench. Since it wasn't fused FreeCAD only exported the highlighted portion and not the entire model. I attached the fused and Re-Filled FeeCAD and STL files
Attachments
BidonKapak v2.stl
STL File
(157.99 KiB) Downloaded 131 times
BidonKapak v2.FCStd
Fixed FreeCAD File
(19.16 KiB) Downloaded 153 times

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Post by teoman »

Thank you for that.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

Post Reply

Return to “FreeCAD”