jdh2550's Rostock MAX

Start your own build thread so others can see how it's going, and even help out!
jdh2550
Plasticator

jdh2550's Rostock MAX

Post by jdh2550 »

Hi - I'm a 3D printer noob & this thread will document my journey into the art & science of building my first printer.

I visited MAX's parents yesterday to pick up my baby - thanks to John and Steve for taking the time to show me around the shop and chat for a while. There's no question in my mind - these guys know their stuff and are making a great product at a great price. They're committed to the 3D printing community and with their expert background in the CNC and injection molding space they bring great bona fides. I can't wait to see how they continue to increase their offerings.

Also, John didn't laugh when I dropped my new baby on the way to the car! The fall chipped the edge of the melamine sheets but didn't effect any of the pieces - my parts were loose in an open top box (my choice) and not packed with peanuts in a sealed box - I'm confident that unless UPS drives a truck over the box then the other kits should arrive safe and sound.

I started assembly yesterday evening and have started keeping track of build notes. I'll post them here later today and I'll also send them to John & Steve and probably create a sub-page at the wiki for "user notes on building".

Exciting times!
jdh2550
Plasticator

Re: jdh2550's Rostock MAX

Post by jdh2550 »

OK - end of day 1 and I've reached "base camp"... but not without a few adventures along the way...

1) The biggest slow down was the idlers and stepper motor mounting. I had a heck of a time understanding that particular PDF and I had trouble finding the parts (they were all there - it was a question of which part is the "bushing washer 3mm" - it doesn't actually look the same in person as it does on the diagram). I couldn't find any photos or video that showed a good close up of the part.