Why does the Artemis always retract and then extrude the filament before starting?

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
Unknown Target
Printmaster!
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Why does the Artemis always retract and then extrude the filament before starting?

Post by Unknown Target »

I've got this annoying thing where every time I want to start a print I have to manually push the filament down the last 2 inches or so thru the Y adapter into the extruder nozzle.

Steps:

1) Load filament using the load filament macro. The filament goes almost all the way in, then retracts to about 2 inches above the Y adapter.
2) Upload + Start print (my only start gCode is just G28).
3) The printer will heat up.
4) Before starting, the printer will retract the filament again, then extrude it just a little bit. Most of the time it doesn't even get into the Y nozzle. Then it starts printing.

So I always have to manually push the filament in all the way. I don't know where this behavior is being stored, how can I get it to stop?
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5362
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Why does the Artemis always retract and then extrude the filament before starting?

Post by geneb »

What slicer are you using?

The Load Filament script is aware of the Y adapter, but your start g-gcode script is not. Here's some profiles that will work for Cura 4.5+ https://github.com/seemecnc/slicing-pro ... Cura%204-5

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
Unknown Target
Printmaster!
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Re: Why does the Artemis always retract and then extrude the filament before starting?

Post by Unknown Target »

I'm using Simplify3D, I've been having serious performance issues with Cura (and the interface is clunky for me). I've tried copy/pasting the start script from the Cura profile I was told to download in the Quickstart but I still have this issue in Simplify3D - so the code doesn't seem to work super well or the behavior is hidden somewhere else?
Unknown Target
Printmaster!
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Re: Why does the Artemis always retract and then extrude the filament before starting?

Post by Unknown Target »

Found it, going to post the solution here for anyone searching in the future:

The start script should be taken from the "Extruder Start" section of Cura. Mine is as follows for Extruder 1:

G28 ; home all axes
G91
G1 Z1 F10000
G90
G1 X0 Y-130 F14000
T0 P0
G92 E0
G1 E145 F5000
G92 E0
G1 E15 F1000
G92 E0
M18 E1

...and Extruder 2:

G28 ;Home
G91
G1 Z1 F10000
G90
G1 X0 Y-130 F14000
T1 P0
G92 E0
G1 E145 F5000
G92 E0
G1 E15 F1000
G92 E0
M18 E0

In Simplify3D, if you want to add these to each separate extruder, make sure to select "only extruder 1/2" in the top right dialogue.
Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”