Page 1 of 1

How do I do dual extrusion??? (Artemis 300)

Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2020 8:11 pm
by Unknown Target
Hi, there's no help documentation on this.

How do I load both filaments into the Artemis 300 and print with them? Every time I load a filament it stops maybe 6 inches from the nozzle, so when I start printing with just one extruder it doesn't actually feed through.

What's more, I don't know how to configure it using Cura to print using one extruder or the other and how to tell it to switch. Please help?

Thanks!

Re: How do I do dual extrusion??? (Artemis 300)

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:26 am
by geneb
The filament load script knows to stop short of the split feeder on load. In order for it to properly feed when a print begins, you need to use the current dual extrusion configuration for Cura that's on the SeeMeCNC git repository.

g.

Re: How do I do dual extrusion??? (Artemis 300)

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:37 am
by Unknown Target
Ok, so one bit of confusion I had was if all Artemis 300 printers have a Y extruder, why is there a single nozzle preset included at all? Wouldn't I always want to use the dual print preset and just not print with the second nozzle?

Re: How do I do dual extrusion??? (Artemis 300)

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 9:25 am
by geneb
Not all Artemis 300s were shipped with the Y adapter. The 2nd extruder used to be an option. I'm not sure when it became the default.

g.