Motors not working

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
hunt529
Plasticator
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:30 pm

Motors not working

Post by hunt529 »

I have a Rostock MAx V3.

I recently had a thermal fuse blow. While I was trying to diagnose the problem I think I created a new problem.

I have fixed the thermal fuse and the HE280 is now functioning properly.

While I was trying to diagnose the problem, I first took out all the connections to the Rambo and took it out and examined it.

I replaced all the wiring per SeeMeCNC guides.
I reinstalled the firmware.

THe problem I am having now is none of the motors are working.

I checked the F2 fuse and it's working. I even swapped the F2 and F3 fuses with each other just to be sure.

Any ideas? what could cause all the motors to stop functioning other than the fuse.

David

AlanKilian
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 3:30 pm
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: Motors not working

Post by AlanKilian »

If you manually move the carriage down away from the limit switches and type G28 into a terminal, does anything move?

hunt529
Plasticator
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: Motors not working

Post by hunt529 »

The carriages will move, as the motors are not "locked".

G28 commands don't do anything. No motor movement commands work, including extruding.

User avatar
thechewiestbacca
Printmaster!
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 5:53 pm

Re: Motors not working

Post by thechewiestbacca »

Did you clear the EEPROM before reinstalling the firmware? Not sure if that matters, but it has solved problems for me before...

hunt529
Plasticator
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: Motors not working (SOLVED)

Post by hunt529 »

@thechewieesttbacca -- the eprom clear wasn't the issue

I solved my issue. When I had unplugged all the wires from my Rambo to examine it I then plugged them all back in.

The main power coupling, specfically the looping red wire on position 3 -- had become loose enough not to make an electrical connection but it was still in position.

pictured here: https://d17kynu4zpq5hy.cloudfront.net/i ... VoX.medium

Once I tightened it -- the circuits got powered and away we go.

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”