Orion Firmware Issure

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
Error404
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2022 9:34 pm

Orion Firmware Issure

Post by Error404 »

I am a complete noob when it comes to 3d printers. I was given an Orion last night and was told that it needs a little work. Its possible that while the firmware was being flashed, the printer got bricked. I was told that its possible the wrong firmware was flashed onto it. I have a rambo board. The lcd screen shows nothing when I turn it on. I've let it sit like that for a few minutes, and still shows nothing. Can I buy a new board for it, or can it be fixed by flashing a new firmware?
Attachments
IMG_3181.JPG
IMG_3181.JPG (3.38 MiB) Viewed 179 times
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5327
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Orion Firmware Issure

Post by geneb »

They're kind of hard to brick. It's more likely that the either the wrong firmware was uploaded, or the right firmware with the wrong configuration was uploaded.
You can grab the firmware from here: https://github.com/seemecnc/Firmware/tr ... 20Firmware
Go through the Configuration.h file in order to set it up for the Orion - the firmware can be used with any RAMBo-based SeeMeCNC 3D printer, so you'll need to adjust it for your specific model.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
Error404
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2022 9:34 pm

Re: Orion Firmware Issure

Post by Error404 »

What makes me think its bricked is that when I plug it into my computer, my computer doesn't recognize it. What software do I use to reflash it? I looked through the config file and it says for the orion I use a '1'. Do I need to redefine HOTEND, POWER_SUPPLY, MOTHERBOARD? How do I know what hotend, psu or motherboard I have? What files/folders do I download? I used the link that you provided, and theres 3 folders: Repetier, cores and libraries; then there are 8 files, eeprom_clear.hex, eris.hex, gpl.txt, h2.hex, orion-atx.hex, orion.hex, rostockv2.hex and rostockv3.hex. I doubt I'll rostock v2 or v3, but files do I need? What folders and their contents do I need? I have a feeling i've got an older orion as its from 2015/2016.
Error404
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2022 9:34 pm

Re: Orion Firmware Issure

Post by Error404 »

i was able to get the firmware flashed and got it up and running. Thanks for your help
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5327
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Orion Firmware Issure

Post by geneb »

Great!

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”