Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
Unknown Target
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by Unknown Target »

This doesn't affect anything but it is annoying to always have to close the boxes:

Error: G1/G2/G3: intermediate position outside machine limits

Any idea? This is stock, from factory, has been doing it ever since I got the machine.

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by geneb »

What machine? :) What slicer are you using? Is it limited to a specific print job, or any?

tnx.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Unknown Target
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by Unknown Target »

Sorry, Artemis 300. Simplify3D and Cura 4.5/4.6. Every job. :)

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by geneb »

What version of the firmware is on your Artemis? Can you post your config.g in a reply? I'm curious to see what the M208 setting is.

tnx.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Unknown Target
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by Unknown Target »

Firmware Version: 2.02(RTOS) (2018-12-24b1)

Contents of config.g:

M550 PArtemis ; Printer name
M555 P2 ; Gcode Output Type
M552 S1 ; Enable Wifi
M575 P1 B57600 S1 ; PanelDue Comm Setup
G21 ; Work in millimeters
G90 ; Send absolute coordinates

M569 P0 S0 ; Drive 0 goes forwards (X)
M569 P1 S0 ; Drive 1 goes forwards (Y)
M569 P2 S0 ; Drive 2 goes forwards (Z)
M569 P3 S1 ; Drive 3 goes forwards (E0)
M569 P4 S1 ; Drive 4 goes forwards (E1)

M574 X2 Y2 Z2 S1 ; set end stop configuration (all end stops at high end, active high)

;M665 R150 L351.1 B145 H530 X0 Y0 Z0 ; INJ. MOLDED ARMS delta radius, diagonal rod length, printable radius and homed height
M665 R150 L339.47 B145 H530 X0 Y0 Z0 ; CARBON FIBER ARMS delta radius, diagonal rod length, printable radius and homed height
; Y X Z are tower angle offsets
M666 X0 Y0 Z0 ; end stop offsets in mm

M350 X16 Y16 Z16 E16:16 I1 ; Set 16x micro-stepping w/ Interpolation
M92 X200 Y200 Z200 ; Set axis steps/mm
M92 E182.0:182.0 ; Set extruder steps/mm

M906 X1500 Y1500 Z1500 E1200:1200 I50 ; Set motor currents (mA) and idle current %
M201 X2400 Y2400 Z2400 E5000 ; Accelerations (mm/s^2)
M203 X12000 Y12000 Z12000 E18000 ; Maximum speeds (mm/min)
M566 X500 Y500 Z500 E2000 ; Maximum instant speed changes mm/minute

M106 P0 H-1 ; Part Cooling Fan
M106 P2 T50 S0.7 H1 ; Heat sink fan

M307 H0 B0 ; Heated Bed (H2)
M305 P0 T100000 B4388 R4700 H30 L0 ; Bed thermistor

M305 P1 T100000 B4388 R4700 C7.06e-8 H30 L0 ; Hot end Thermistor
M563 P0 D0 H1 ; Hot end (T0), drive (E0), heater (H1)
G10 P0 S0 R0 ; Hot end operating and standby temperatures

;Dual Extrusion Code
M563 P1 D1 H1 ; Hot end (T1), drive (E1), heater (H1)
G10 P1 S0 R0 ; Hot end (1) operating and standby temperatures

;STRAIN GAGE PROBE
M558 P5 I0 A2 S0.05 R0.4 H20 F2500 ; Strain gauge probe settings
G31 P100 X0 Y0 Z-0.1 ; Probe trigger and offset values Glass Plate Only
;G31 P100 X0 Y0 Z-0.5 ; Probe trigger and offset values for FabLam Flex Spring Steel PEI on Glass
M557 R140 S30 ; defualt bed mapping
M501 ; Load saved config values
T0 ; Select Tool 0
M375 ; Load height map

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by geneb »

Right after the M666 command, add this:

M208 X800 Y800 Z800; Set max limits.

The homedelta.g script runs all three axes up to 780mm. The value is purposefully much higher than the actual travel available to make sure the limit switches are hit.

Adding that M208 command should prevent the error message from happening. Let me know how it works for you.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Unknown Target
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by Unknown Target »

Nope, got the error as soon as the upload finished and the print started. :(

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by geneb »

Well THAT is weird. Nobody else has reported that issue, so you might want to post on the duet3D forum (https://forum.duet3d.com/) and see if one of the wizards over there can help. The author of the firmware is very active there (dc42).

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 449
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by dc42 »

Please upgrade to firmware 2.05.1 and see if the problem is still present.

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by geneb »

dc42 to the rescue! Thanks!

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Unknown Target
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by Unknown Target »

Well, it works in getting rid of that but now I have this;

G0/G1: target position not reachable from current position

My prints are all cancelling before they start.

Starting script:

G28 ; home all axes
M564 S0 H0; Set axis limits, forbid movement outside unhomed axis, allow movement outside boundaries

Unknown Target
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 11:01 pm

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by Unknown Target »

Now the machine loads with a warning on the screen telling me that the heightmap was loaded before the z=0 datum, which was not determined during probing and might lead to an offset.

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5143
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Firmware error every time I start printing on the machine

Post by geneb »

You might want to make a backup copy of the SD card contents, wipe it, and then reload it from the SeeMeCNC Artemis git repo.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”