Cura dual print issue - '2nd' extruder is not turning on

The one, the only, the Atremis. Forum for the monster metal machine from SeeMeCNC
Post Reply
Tom55
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 8:58 am

Cura dual print issue - '2nd' extruder is not turning on

Post by Tom55 »

I've loaded up the quick start batarang a few times, grouped the 2 shapes, they are each assigned the same brand PLA (Overture) to the two extruders. The print starts fine, but in Duet I see T0 (1st extruder) has a temp set but T1 doesn't. So when the first filament change comes around, the hot end shuts off and then I get an error because the hotend isn't hot enough. I've gotten around this by manually entering the temperature in for the second extruder while the print starts running but looking for a better long term solution.

This is my first printer with 2 extruders, and I don't see anything in the GCODE that cura generates that specifically is turning on the extruder for T1 so, understandably, duet does not turn it on. My primary question is - is this a Cura issue of not sending a 'set extruder temp' for T1, or is a setting in Duet that says 'just treat both extruders the same'?

Thank you

Tom55
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 8:58 am

Re: Cura dual print issue - '2nd' extruder is not turning on

Post by Tom55 »

I fixed this one too :lol: Learning more about G-code I'll say that much. The interface in Cura leaves a lot to be desired. Absolutely hate the accordion menu style. I would like to switch over to prusa slicer one day but the tool changing method is not 100% clear so I want to make sure I understand it fully.

Anyway if anyone is wondering what I did - I added this to the machine settings Start G-code beginning:

Code: Select all

G10 P1 S{material_print_temperature_layer_0} R{material_print_temperature_layer_0} ;set extruder temp
G10 P0 S{material_print_temperature_layer_0} R{material_print_temperature_layer_0}
M116 P0 ;wait for tool 0 to heat up
And then in beginning of the End G-Code:

Code: Select all

G10 P1 S0 R0 ;turn off tool 1
G10 P0 S0 R0
Apparently M109 is deprecated and Duet recommends using a combination of G10 + M116. Interestingly I tried just starting up the second tool via this method, thinking Cura was initiating heating the first tool in any case, but found that Cura would then skip heating the first tool. So I had to explicitly heat up both tools.

I also had to add a line in the cancel.g in Duet to make sure the second tool is turned off if I initiate a cancel.

DeepsReddy
Plasticator
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Cura dual print issue - '2nd' extruder is not turning on

Post by DeepsReddy »

I'm having this same problem, however pasting this into the start and end g-code really hasn't helped.
What version of Cura are you running? Would you be able to post the entire start and end G-code and the start and end Extruder code for 1 and 2?

I'm trying to make dual extrusion work with Cura 4.8 as the old Artemis edition won't run in Mac OS Big Sur.
It's pretty inconvenient that SeeMeCNC can't work with Cura to make a stable dual extrusion artemis profile native in the software. Every chineese no name brand of printer seems to have figured out how to support their printers in the latest build of Cura.
Thanks
DR

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5172
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Cura dual print issue - '2nd' extruder is not turning on

Post by geneb »

These profiles: https://github.com/seemecnc/slicing-profiles/tree/master/SE300 should work fine with Cura 4.8.

There is no such thing as an "Artemis Edition" of Cura.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

DeepsReddy
Plasticator
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 10:41 pm

Re: Cura dual print issue - '2nd' extruder is not turning on

Post by DeepsReddy »

Most of the SeemeCNC literature stays that Cura 3.4.1 is supported and should be used. That doesn't run in current versions of Mac OS.

Never the less when importing the dual print batarang into Cura 4.8 it reproduces phenomenon described above where extruder 2 doesn't achieve it's set temperature and 2 filament prints fail every time.
Single extrusion on extruder 1 or 2 works fine, but dual extrusion prints always fail at the first filament swap.

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5172
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Cura dual print issue - '2nd' extruder is not turning on

Post by geneb »

I would email support about it.

If there was something wrong with the file itself, others would report an issue, which as far as I know, none have.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Post Reply

Return to “Artemis”