Rostock Max v3 only Duet upgrade?

The new for 2016 RostockMAX v3!
Post Reply
User avatar
Francisco
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:52 pm
Location: Argentina

Rostock Max v3 only Duet upgrade?

Post by Francisco »

Hello everyone!

After two years of my RMax v3 being in storage I saw the duet 2 wifi boards are really cheap now.
I was wondering, is it possible to only upgrade the board while mantaining everything else? I want to take advantage of the higher processing power the Duet 2 offers compared to Rambo.

I'm looking forward to give new life to this machine now that I'm moving to a new place with a small room separated from the house where the machines can work without disturbing my sleep.
FranciscoJS12 | Rostock Max v3
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5370
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 only Duet upgrade?

Post by geneb »

Having the Duet without either the SE300 or the Duet Smart Effector won't help you much. The huge benefit of the Duet is the auto-calibration that comes along with the strain gauge sensor that the SE300 and Duet Smart Effector use - it makes the nozzle tip a Z probe.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
Sonitrolio
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 only Duet upgrade?

Post by Sonitrolio »

I got the duet board and smart effector upgrade on my old V2. After some tweaking to get the settings dialed in, it prints better than ever.
User avatar
Francisco
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:52 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Rostock Max v3 only Duet upgrade?

Post by Francisco »

Which one is the smart effector? I've got the stock RMax v3 extruder with the accelerometer probe. Should I buy a complete SE300 or could it be done cheaper?
FranciscoJS12 | Rostock Max v3
Sonitrolio
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:12 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 only Duet upgrade?

Post by Sonitrolio »

I don't know which one of the SeeMeCNC boards does the trick, but I got mine from duet directly...I dont think SeeMeCNC had theirs yet at the time.
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5370
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 only Duet upgrade?

Post by geneb »

Apologies for the late response. Traveling. :)

If you want to supply your own hot end, like an E3D v6, you'll want the Smart Effector. If you want a plug & play solution, you should get an SE300 from SeeMeCNC - it's got the same strain gauge circuit as the Smart Effector, but also includes the hot end and layer cooling fans in one module. You can get a pre-built wiring harness for it as well.

If you're going the Smart Effector route, make sure you've got any 3D printed parts needed BEFORE you start your build. ;)

Good luck!

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
Post Reply

Return to “RostockMAX v3”