Need help with Octoprint

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
longshot
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:39 am

Need help with Octoprint

Postby longshot » Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:43 am

To All:

I know there is a seperate topic to discuss Octopi and Octoprint but the last activity on that board was back in july so i'm not sure how much foot traffic that board gets.

So I recently aquired a Raspberry Pi2. I followed the instructions, loaded up Octopi image, and connected.

-Running Geneb's 0.91 Repetier Host
-I've expanded the file system
-Updated the wifi (I use an Edimax USB wifi adapter)
-Connected and enabled a webcam.
-Found my IP and connected via another computer on the net or SSH

So here's the issue. I can get into the Gui, I can even connect and see that the machine is listed as "operational" but I'm unable to get it to move, home, send G-code commands, etc. When i connect, the printer reboots like and goes through the normal title screen like i would connect with any other host (repeteir, mattercontrol, etc). But i get zero movement. The temps aren't even plotted.

I've tried multiple baud rates: 250000,115200,57600 . Each time i go into the eeprom through mattercontrol, change the number and save to eeprom. So I make sure the printer is matched up to web client/pi on connection.

I've googled multiple times with no indication that a similar problem exists, is there something I'm missing? It can't be a firewall issue, I'm able to see the pi, connect via SSH. It shouldn't be a printer communication error, because the machine boots up like the connection is made. Pulling my hair out, i don't understand how some folks have such an easy time connecting and i'm stuck all weekend not making any headway. Please help.

User avatar
thedoble
Printmaster!
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby thedoble » Mon Jan 11, 2016 12:13 pm

So sending a 'home all axes' does nothing?
I'll take a look at my config tomorrow.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

longshot
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:39 am

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby longshot » Mon Jan 11, 2016 12:59 pm

thedoble wrote:So sending a 'home all axes' does nothing?
I'll take a look at my config tomorrow.


No dice I'm afraid. I hit the little arrows but nothing happens, the little home buttons don't work, and I've even tried to send a G28 command in the Terminal to no avail. Is there something in the Repetier Firmware that is preventing me from sending commands? The weird thing is I get no temperature read out on the graphs. The webcam is working though not that it helps much.

FYI Serial Port set as /dev/ttyACM0

User avatar
blackrabt
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby blackrabt » Mon Jan 11, 2016 6:00 pm

Oh I had a similar issue when I started with Octoprint last week. Let me see if I can remember how I got past it. I will be back to update this after some investigation.

To verify, you are showing that you are connected to your printer and it is marked operational? Do you get a still image from your webcam on the control panel? Is there even a single point of data on your temperature page?

What model pi are you using? I tried initially with a v1 model B but am having a better time with the v1 B+. Also I would stick with the 250000 baud rate, as that is the default for the rostock. Definitely was worth a try though.

You seem to know what you are doing but perhaps this youtuber can help. His videos are a reagular watch for me. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MwsxO3ksxm4
Attachments
octoprint sample.png

User avatar
bubbasnow
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:24 pm
Location: Dayton, WA

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby bubbasnow » Mon Jan 11, 2016 6:58 pm

back in the day when i was running RAMBo, i think i had to drop connection down to 9600 first, then work my way up. you want to ensure that all your main components are at least working together at first (who cares about speed at this point). Start back at square one, direct connect your printer to the PI and no other USB devices. See if the USB devices list pull down populates.

User avatar
thedoble
Printmaster!
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby thedoble » Mon Jan 11, 2016 10:51 pm

Check that you have these settings configured on your printer profile:

Image

Also take a look at the terminal page and switch off the suppression checkboxes, you should see a looping 'wait' command.

Image

If you don't see the wait command, it's a communication problem. If you do, it's something else.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

longshot
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:39 am

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby longshot » Tue Jan 12, 2016 11:18 pm

Ok so here's what i've done:

I've sent an lsusb command at the pi and came up with the following (printer unplugged, ethernet is the only thing plugged in)

Code: Select all

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 7392:7811 Edimax Technology Co., Ltd EW-7811Un 802.11n Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS]


When i plug the printer in and try the same command i get the following:

Code: Select all

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 7392:7811 Edimax Technology Co., Ltd EW-7811Un 802.11n Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS]
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 27b1:0001


So it does see that something is connected, see last line.

I've edited my Printer profile based on what thedoble has. Still no dice.

    Temp doesn't read a thing. Everything is grayed out.
    I can't send any commands
    Web Cam is working

The log shows the following:

Code: Select all

Connecting to: /dev/ttyACM0
Changing monitoring state from 'Offline' to 'Opening serial port'
Connected to: Serial<id=0x32e57d0, open=True>(port='/dev/ttyACM0', baudrate=115200, bytesize=8, parity='N', stopbits=1, timeout=10.0, xonxoff=False, rtscts=False, dsrdtr=False), starting monitor
Changing monitoring state from 'Opening serial port' to 'Connecting'
Send: M110
Recv: start
Send: M110
Recv: Info:External Reset
Recv: Free RAM:1019
Recv: X:0.00 Y:0.00 Z:0.00 E:0.00
Recv: SD init fail
Recv: ok
Changing monitoring state from 'Connecting' to 'Operational'
Send: M21
Recv: ok 0
Send: M105


Let me ask you guys this . . . would this have anything to do with the fact that I'm running a dual extruder setup and a Cyclops hot end? I'm just seeing this, now. . . M105 is a command to initiate a call out for temps, right? If I tell the system I have two extruders . . . but they are sharing the same thermistor would that cause issues? There isn't anything hooked up on the 2nd thermistor. I'm guessing this because it looks like M105 is the last command given, there is no more log after that.

User avatar
thedoble
Printmaster!
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby thedoble » Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:24 pm

Everything looks fine there, I'm in the middle of a print right now so I can't reconnect my printer to see what output I get in my log, once I can though I'll post it here.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

User avatar
thedoble
Printmaster!
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby thedoble » Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:29 am

Here's what I get when I connect:

Code: Select all

Connecting to: /dev/ttyACM0
Connection closed, closing down monitor
Changing monitoring state from 'Offline' to 'Opening serial port'
Connected to: Serial<id=0x3036e30, open=True>(port='/dev/ttyACM0', baudrate=250000, bytesize=8, parity='N', stopbits=1, timeout=10.0, xonxoff=False, rtscts=False, dsrdtr=False), starting monitor
Changing monitoring state from 'Opening serial port' to 'Connecting'
Send: M110
Recv: ok
Changing monitoring state from 'Connecting' to 'Operational'
Send: M21
Recv: ok 44766
Send: M104 S0
Recv: ok 44766
Send: M140 S0
Recv: TargetExtr0:0
Recv: ok 44766
Send: G28
Recv: ok 44766
Send: M84
Recv: ok 44766
Send: M115
Recv: ok 44766
Send: M115
Recv: ok 44766
Send: M115
Recv: FIRMWARE_NAME:Repetier_091S FIRMWARE_URL:https://github.com/seemecnc/Repetier-091-ROSTOCKMAX PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:ROSTOCK MAX EXTRUDER_COUNT:1 REPETIER_PROTOCOL:2
Recv: Printed filament:3681.15m Printing time:21 days 11 hours 17 min
Recv: FIRMWARE_NAME:Repetier_091S FIRMWARE_URL:https://github.com/seemecnc/Repetier-091-ROSTOCKMAX PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:ROSTOCK MAX EXTRUDER_COUNT:1 REPETIER_PROTOCOL:2
Recv: Printed filament:3681.15m Printing time:21 days 11 hours 17 min
Recv: ok 44766
Send: M115
Recv: FIRMWARE_NAME:Repetier_091S FIRMWARE_URL:https://github.com/seemecnc/Repetier-091-ROSTOCKMAX PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:ROSTOCK MAX EXTRUDER_COUNT:1 REPETIER_PROTOCOL:2
Recv: Printed filament:3681.15m Printing time:21 days 11 hours 17 min
Recv: ok 44766
Recv: FIRMWARE_NAME:Repetier_091S FIRMWARE_URL:https://github.com/seemecnc/Repetier-091-ROSTOCKMAX PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:ROSTOCK MAX EXTRUDER_COUNT:1 REPETIER_PROTOCOL:2
Recv: Printed filament:3681.15m Printing time:21 days 11 hours 17 min
Recv: wait
Recv: wait
Recv: wait
Send: M105
Recv: ok 44766
Recv: T:28.41 B:29.76 B@:0 @:0
Recv: wait
Recv: wait
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby Eaglezsoar » Thu Jan 14, 2016 2:50 am

Longshot your baud rate is 115200, the Max V2 uses 250000. That is the biggest discrepency that I see.
I don't believe that it will ever work if your baud rate is not 250000.

enggmaug
Printmaster!
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:54 am
Location: Antony, France

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby enggmaug » Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:24 am

As I recall, I had to set my printer to 115200, rather than octoprint to 250000. I think there was some issue running octoprint at 250000, at least last year when I set up my octoprint server.

Now I don't know about updates, I did not check into that.

User avatar
Windshadow
Printmaster!
Posts: 520
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:35 pm
Location: Mid Coast Maine

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby Windshadow » Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:55 am

With this new product being sold by SeeMeCNC
Image
http://www.seemecnc.com/collections/par ... rinter-kit
I expect you will see more threads on Octoprint and Astroprint http://seemecnc.dozuki.com/c/Cool_Projects

Neptune
Printmaster!
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:29 am

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby Neptune » Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:16 pm

isn't an SD card a requirement of the Octoprint on the Pi? your Init has the SD as a "Fail"...just checking all the corners here

User avatar
thedoble
Printmaster!
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby thedoble » Thu Jan 14, 2016 5:41 pm

Neptune wrote:isn't an SD card a requirement of the Octoprint on the Pi? your Init has the SD as a "Fail"...just checking all the corners here


Nah, this refers to whether or not there's an SD card installed in the printer :)
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

User avatar
bubbasnow
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:24 pm
Location: Dayton, WA

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby bubbasnow » Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:51 pm

did you try setting the baud rates on both your printer and octoprint to 9600? it must match for it to work.

DGBK
Printmaster!
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 10:03 pm

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby DGBK » Thu Jan 14, 2016 11:47 pm

I could never get connected below a 250000 baud rate. It always gave a connection failure.

I was able to get it to connect after getting Pyserial for my raspberry pi and setting my V2 to 250000 baud rate. I discussed that here.

enggmaug
Printmaster!
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:54 am
Location: Antony, France

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby enggmaug » Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:12 am

thedoble wrote:
Neptune wrote:isn't an SD card a requirement of the Octoprint on the Pi? your Init has the SD as a "Fail"...just checking all the corners here


Nah, this refers to whether or not there's an SD card installed in the printer :)


Hum, If I try remembering, I also had issues with octoprint when no SD card was present in the printer. I can't recall what issues, though... since I keep an SD in there all the time.

longshot
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:39 am

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby longshot » Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:39 am

So I've been trying all the different solutions. I've reloaded the firmware, tried and matched multiple baud rates, with no luck. So I looked online at a program called Astroprint. Its another PI/Linux flavor print server similar to Octopi. I loaded up the firmware, it connected to may network just fine, camera works, and my machine actually moves. I'm able to home it, jog the machine left right up and down.

I am still not able to send G code commands to it directly but I'm able to manual control it. So that's a start.

Something curious that did happen on setup was when i connected my printer. It'll typically identify what kind of USB device is detected. For example if you use an Arduino Mega, it'll say Arduino Mega. I'm running a V1 Rostock with one of the original Rambo boards. For some reason the USB device is detected at BAUD 250000 but the device says unknown.

It still lets me go through the process at which i can start to manually control the printer. Again I cant send any G-Code. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with me running Repetier 0.91S while astroprint primarily recognizes Marlin and Sailfish.

Could all my issues be because I'm running a stock Rambo Board?

For now I'm going to try and splice it using mattercontrol and send it over to print, wish me luck. . .

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby geneb » Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:28 pm

I've tried AstroPrint as well this week and I'm not impressed. Transferring files dies at 2% - I've yet to be able to print anything with it.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
thedoble
Printmaster!
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:32 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby thedoble » Fri Jan 22, 2016 6:16 pm

I run a stock Rambo - my printer is 100% stock other than the hot end
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

JFettig
Printmaster!
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 4:39 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby JFettig » Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:31 am

So far repetier server has worked the best for me but none have been 100% reliable. I'm trying a RADDS board now, so far I haven't had an issue. I had lots of problems with the USB connection on the RAMBO
Repetier server is made for Repetier firmware, you can edit eeprom or even flash firmware with it.

longshot
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:39 am

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby longshot » Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:29 am

Looks like its working . . . I'm slicing using MatterControl since my settings are in place and then sending the Gcode over to the PI. Its not a perfect setup but it did a decent job. Thanks . . . Octoprint not connecting and Astroprint still defining the board as unknown is still mystery. Perhaps one day I'll replace it for something else and get better results.

User avatar
REV
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:29 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Need help with Octoprint

Postby REV » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:53 pm

Having the seemingly the same issue as you with a stock Rambo board and Octoprint. Did you ever figure this out? :?


Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests