Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
User avatar
jcarlin
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:23 am

Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby jcarlin » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:09 pm

Everything has been great for about a year then now over the last few days the printer has been acting strange. Heating up and printing all start fine then somewhere at a random point during the print it will just stop moving. The heat sometimes stays on and sometime it shuts off, just no movement. Once it kept chattering the steppers.

Thinking it was the gcode I was sending I used a Mattercontrol instead of Simplify3d. It printed once perfectly, but it was only a tease and froze during subsequent prints.

Next I cleared the EEPROM and updated it to 0.92.2. Still it's freezing during about 95% of my prints. I'll get one or two out just fine.

Any ideas?
R-Max v3.2 (upgraded)
Powerspec Ultra


Simplify3D

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1334
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby Mac The Knife » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:51 pm

Are you printing off of the SD card, or over the USB cable?
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
jcarlin
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:23 am

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby jcarlin » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:05 pm

SD. I haven’t tried a different card but it started this issue while I was using Astroprint. I then switched to SD to pull that as being part of the issue.
R-Max v3.2 (upgraded)
Powerspec Ultra


Simplify3D

User avatar
rootboy
Printmaster!
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:34 am
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby rootboy » Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:51 pm

Sounds like the controller to me. I can't think of anything common that would affect all three axis other than that. What does it do when you try to make manual moves?

User avatar
jcarlin
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:23 am

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby jcarlin » Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:16 am

I will have to try that, but I can home the printer just fine from the blue knob after the problem happens. Wiring, power supply or the controller board were my thoughts at this point.
R-Max v3.2 (upgraded)
Powerspec Ultra


Simplify3D

User avatar
rootboy
Printmaster!
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:34 am
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby rootboy » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:39 pm

I don't see how it could be your wiring. The power supply might be it. And then there's the controller...

In other topical news, I just got in a Maestro, it looks sharp, and it appears to support my RepRapDiscount. It might be worth looking into.

User avatar
jcarlin
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:23 am

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby jcarlin » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:30 pm

What is a Maestro?

This problem is hopefully going to be a moot point soon. Just ordered the v3.2 upgrade...
R-Max v3.2 (upgraded)
Powerspec Ultra


Simplify3D

User avatar
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1532
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby Xenocrates » Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:47 pm

IIRC, the Duet Maestro is a cut down version of the Duet board family meant mostly for larger OEM's to integrate it into more price sensitive printers (IE, fewer drivers, less expansion, but same web interface and computational capacity we know and love)
Machines:
Rostock Max V2, Duet .8.5, PT100 enabled E3D V6 and volcano, Raymond style enclosure
Automation Technology 60W laser cutter/engraver
1m X-carve router

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
01-10011-11111100001

User avatar
rootboy
Printmaster!
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:34 am
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby rootboy » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:53 am

Pretty much, but it really isn't missing anything that you need to run a 3D printer. The stepper drivers have a lower current limit, but still well above what your steppers would normally draw. It supports two extruders and a dual Z. And it's ~$120 as opposed to ~$180.

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1334
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby Mac The Knife » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:08 am

I wonder if it would fit inside an Eris? Too many projects, not enough time,,,,
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
jcarlin
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:23 am

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby jcarlin » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:30 am

Well the issue is gone. Upgraded to the v3.2 and honestly I couldn't be happier with the upgrade. When I was performing the upgrade I did fine two possible suspects for the issue I originally posted.

One was a cut on the heated bed thermistor wire running up extruded aluminum. The wire separated on me as I was unplugging it so it was barely hanging on or could have caused intermittent contact. Replaced the wire during the upgrade.

Second, the whip was very loose plugging into the HE280. I mean like -really loose- and like it had worked itself about 90% unplugged.

Both of those were could have been causing intermittent connections and possibly the reason for the random freeze...
R-Max v3.2 (upgraded)
Powerspec Ultra


Simplify3D

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 Stops Moving after a while

Postby geneb » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:51 am

If the HE280 comes unplugged it can crash the RAMBo.

The 3.2 upgrade is a whole new ballgame - the Duet & SD300 are a perfect combination.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects


Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IMBoring25 and 1 guest