Software/hardware parameter limititing print size

An affordable delta DIY kit made with high quality electronics/parts/hardware
CapperLabs
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:03 pm

Software/hardware parameter limititing print size

Postby CapperLabs » Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:32 am

Hi,
I've been trying to print some masks, but the printer is cutting off the edges on both sides as if it's hitting a limit.
I'm not sure what to change, there is plenty of room left for the mechanicals to move.
Here's a pic of what it should print.
IMG_1931.JPG

and here's what it's printing:
IMG_1930.JPG

IMG_1929.jpg

Probably something simple, I've tried changing print area in MatterControl, and recalibrating the H2, I have the long arms installed.
***update***
After 5 hours of firmware updates, recalibrations, and a bunch of test prints, I think I'm back to factory default... :shock:
The cal wizard values are all 0.03 or less now however.
Here are my EEPROM settings exported from MC:
Baudrate|250000
Advanced User|1
Filament printed [m]|1.107
Printer active [s]|1411
Max. inactive time [ms,0=off]|900000
Stop stepper after inactivity [ms,0=off]|600000
Steps per mm|80.0000
Max. feedrate [mm/s]|250.000
Homing feedrate [mm/s]|80.000
Max. jerk [mm/s]|32.000
X home pos [mm]|0.000
Y home pos [mm]|0.000
Z home pos [mm]|0.000
X max length [mm]|250.000
Y max length [mm]|250.000
Z max length [mm]|179.890
Acceleration [mm/s^2]|1850.000
Travel acceleration [mm/s^2]|3000.000
Diagonal rod length [mm]|291.060
Horizontal rod radius at 0,0 [mm]|98.890
Max printable radius [mm]|105.000
Segments/s for travel|80
Segments/s for printing|200
Tower X endstop offset [steps]|67
Tower Y endstop offset [steps]|0
Tower Z endstop offset [steps]|30
Alpha A(210):|209.670
Alpha B(330):|330.010
Alpha C(90):|90.000
Delta Radius A(0):|0.000
Delta Radius B(0):|0.000
Delta Radius C(0):|0.000
Corr. diagonal A [mm]|0.000
Corr. diagonal B [mm]|0.000
Corr. diagonal C [mm]|0.000
Z-probe height [mm]|-0.100
Max. z-probe - bed dist. [mm]|20.000
Z-probe speed [mm/s]|80.000
Z-probe x-y-speed [mm/s]|50.000
Z-probe offset x [mm]|0.000
Z-probe offset y [mm]|0.000
Z-probe X1|-75.933
Z-probe Y1|-43.840
Z-probe X2|75.933
Z-probe Y2|-43.840
Z-probe X3|0.000
Z-probe Y3|87.690
Autolevel active (1/0)|1
Bed Heat Manager [0-3]|1
Bed PID drive max|255
Bed PID drive min|80
Bed PID P-gain|87.860
Bed PID I-gain|3.010
Bed PID D-gain|641.820
Bed PID max value [0-255]|255
Extr.1 steps per mm|92.400
Extr.1 max. feedrate [mm/s]|100.000
Extr.1 start feedrate [mm/s]|45.000
Extr.1 acceleration [mm/s^2]|6500.000
Extr.1 heat manager [0-3]|1
Extr.1 PID drive max|230
Extr.1 PID drive min|80
Extr.1 PID P-gain/dead-time|48.3000
Extr.1 PID I-gain|9.7000
Extr.1 PID D-gain|60.0000
Extr.1 PID max value [0-255]|255
Extr.1 X-offset [steps]|0
Extr.1 Y-offset [steps]|0
Extr.1 temp. stabilize time [s]|3
Extr.1 temp. for retraction when heating [C]|150
Extr.1 distance to retract when heating [mm]|0
Extr.1 extruder cooler speed [0-255]|200
Extr.1 advance L [0=off]|0.000

Scott

IMBoring25
Printmaster!
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Software/hardware parameter limititing print size

Postby IMBoring25 » Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:05 pm

That doesn't look like the behavior I'd expect from hitting the firmware limit on printable radius. Does the STL get thinner there, potentially thinner than the nozzle? Are you sure the STL is manifold?

CapperLabs
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:03 pm

Re: Software/hardware parameter limititing print size

Postby CapperLabs » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:49 pm

The MatterControl program "knew" where it was going to limit the print, because the skirt was shortened at the sides also.
maskskirt.jpg

IMBoring25
Printmaster!
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Software/hardware parameter limititing print size

Postby IMBoring25 » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:52 pm

That doesn't mean it's not a problem with wall thickness or STL quality.

User avatar
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1538
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: Software/hardware parameter limititing print size

Postby Xenocrates » Tue Apr 17, 2018 12:16 am

Can you post the STL or G-code? It may very well be that the slicer has a max radius setting, which may be the issue (If it's mattercontrol, which it looks like, IIRC, it does have one). It can also be that the slicer is choosing to ignore an errored, too thin, or otherwise unprintable area. This looks to be the case, as it appears that the lost chunks are not along a smoothly described radius, but instead are rather roughly and triangularly removed.
Machines:
Rostock Max V2, Duet .8.5, PT100 enabled E3D V6 and volcano, Raymond style enclosure
Automation Technology 60W laser cutter/engraver
1m X-carve router

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
01-10011-11111100001


Return to “Hacker Series - H2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest