Slic3r Prints Never Start...

A place to talk about slic3r software (http://slic3r.org)
jarek319
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:29 pm

Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby jarek319 » Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:53 pm

I've been using MatterEngine in MatterControl to slice my files for my Rostock Max V2, successfully. I've started playing with new filaments, and I wanted to try the herbertcurve infill pattern. The only problem is, when I export the Gcode to my SD Card, then plug the SD Card into the Rostock Max V2 and select the file I want to start, the Target Temperature for the Extruder and Bed set themselves to 0 and 0, while the MatterSlice slicer sets therm to 220 and 90 (as they should be). I double checked my settings, and if I manually turn the temperatures up using the LCD menu, the print starts and completes smoothly.

User avatar
craftymethod
Printmaster!
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:45 am

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby craftymethod » Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:12 am

If you print from the SD card it uses the Slic3r engine? didn't realise that...

Im guessing its a setting somewhere for the start temps?

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4751
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby geneb » Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:55 am

Printing from the SD card has nothing to do with the slicer used. If he's actually using Slic3r to generate the gcode, he's doing so specifically - MatterControl won't randomly choose a different slicer just because you're writing the gcode file out to an SD card.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

jarek319
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:29 pm

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby jarek319 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:13 pm

Just to check, I plugged my printer's usb cable into the computer running MatterControl, and the same thing happened if I just tried hitting "Print". I know it takes much longer to slice using Slic3r, but I can tell when this happens because I can manually set the temperatures using the Controls panel in MatterControl, then when I click Print and wait for the slicing to be done, when the gcode is supposed to send the commands to heat the extruder and bed, the "intended temperatures" on the Rostock Max V2 LCD panel set to 0, and I have to manually set the temperatures on the LCD Panel to get the printer to start.

HELP!?!?!

User avatar
KAS
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby KAS » Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:20 am

can you save the gcode to the desktop and attach it here? (for both slicers)

Dale Eason
Printmaster!
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby Dale Eason » Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:39 pm

I have the same problem and I exported the Gcode to see it.
G21 ; set units to millimeters
M104 S{temperature}
M190 S{bed_temperature}
M109 S{temperature}
G28


As you can see the "{temperature}" field should have a number in it but it does not.

I don't know how to correct it or why it is that way.

Dale Eason

IMBoring25
Printmaster!
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby IMBoring25 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:09 am

Not sure how you got those settings. Check your Start G-code field. References to Slic3r variables should be in square brackets, not curly brackets. It would also make more sense to use the first layer temp variables instead of those corresponding to the rest of the print.

Dale Eason
Printmaster!
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby Dale Eason » Sun Mar 22, 2015 6:54 pm

Thank you. The tip about the syntax for Slicr was the key. I never found a way to edit the Gcode directly in MatterControl. Everytime I tried is reverted back to the original setting even after I saved it. Instead I imported a new slicer Material setting. Using that one fixed it except I now need to update all of the other settings that I adjusted to make good prints.

Dale

User avatar
mvansomeren
Printmaster!
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:18 pm
Location: Northridge, CA

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby mvansomeren » Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:35 pm

I just tried to use the Slic3r engine for the first time and I'm having the same issue. I opened the Gcode terminal and this is what it showed:

N1 M110 S1*96
ok
wait
N2 G21*24
ok 2
N3 M104 S{TEMPERATURE}*28
Error:Format error
Resend:3
ok
N3 M104 S{TEMPERATURE}*28
Error:Format error
Resend:3
ok
N3 M104 S{TEMPERATURE}*28
Error:Format error
ok 3
TargetExtr0:0
N4 M190 S{BED_TEMPERATURE}*10
Error:Format error
ok 4
N5 M105*34
ok 5
N6 M109 S{TEMPERATURE}*20
Error:Format error
Resend:6
ok
N6 M109 S{TEMPERATURE}*20
Error:Format error
<-Resend:6
ok
N6 M109 S{TEMPERATURE}*20
Error:Format error
ok 6
TargetExtr0:0
N7 G28*20

Not sure why. I have the material set to 230 for the hot end and 95 for the bed.
___________________________________________________
Proud owner and builder of the Rostock MAX V2
Corsair RM750 PSU, Stepper Motor Dampers, Stock Hotend.

IMBoring25
Printmaster!
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby IMBoring25 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:04 am

Did you get your copy of Slic3r the same place the others did? Your Slic3r variables in the start G-code are also in curly brackets instead of square brackets. The code won't parse that correctly.

User avatar
mvansomeren
Printmaster!
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:18 pm
Location: Northridge, CA

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby mvansomeren » Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:55 am

IMBoring25 wrote:Did you get your copy of Slic3r the same place the others did? Your Slic3r variables in the start G-code are also in curly brackets instead of square brackets. The code won't parse that correctly.


Slic3r came with MatterControl. The only thing I had to download were the preferences and that came from the SeeMeCNC download page
___________________________________________________
Proud owner and builder of the Rostock MAX V2
Corsair RM750 PSU, Stepper Motor Dampers, Stock Hotend.

Implicit
Noob
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:59 am

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby Implicit » Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:22 pm

I'm having same issue.

IMBoring25
Printmaster!
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby IMBoring25 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:23 pm

I downloaded the preferences you're talking about and looked at it. It specifies triangular infill, which is not a listed option in Slic3r, so it shouldn't be for the Slic3r engine. The curly brackets around the environment variable names would also be a problem if the Slic3r engine is trying to use that configuration, as they will not be parsed as variable names and will just show up in the gcode the way they are. If Slic3r is going to use it they need to be square brackets.

The note that some people are getting an SD print to start by selecting the file on the LCD and then manually setting the bed and extrusion temperatures puzzles me, as it doesn't launch the print for me when I select a file with the LCD but I've had success getting it to launch an SD print by passing it M24 from Repetier Host after pointing it to a file, without need to manually set any temperatures.

stonewater
Printmaster!
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:24 am

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby stonewater » Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:00 am

the latest version of MC has a huge slic3r bug in it, I notified them of my problem and they are aware of it, they will come up with something really quick I imagine.

TomC
MAX V1
325 MM carbon arms trick trucks effector mount LED ring heat spreader
Corvair750
V6 Hotend
Robo 3D
Flashforge creator
http://WWW.TeslagenX.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; - Bedini experimenter kits, books, DVD's

dignition
Noob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Slic3r Prints Never Start...

Postby dignition » Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:24 pm

For anyone finding this due to a Google search, here is how you fix the problem:

1. Open Slic3r and go to Printer Settings --> Custom G-code
2. Under "Start G-code", change every instance of a curly bracket, { or }, to a square bracket, [ or ]. Here is what is entered in my "Start G-code" section:

M104 S[temperature]

M190 S[bed_temperature]

M109 S[temperature]

G28


3. Save the settings and re-export the G-code for your print.
4. Open the file that you exported with a text editor and verify that it says something like this around line 10ish:

M104 S228

M190 S100

M109 S228


...and NOT something like this instead:

M104 S{temperature}

M190 S{bed_temperature}

M109 S{temperature}


5. Close the file without saving, move the G-code to your printer, and have at it!


One last thing, since you might run into this while tinkering: if you connect to your printer using MatterControl while printing (or pre-heating to print) from an SD card, chances are it will stop the print. I recommend just closing MatterControl when using Slic3r.


Return to “Slic3r”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests