Cura 3.1

Talk about Cura software here (http://wiki.ultimaker.com/Cura)
User avatar
tcat007
Printmaster!
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:19 pm

Cura 3.1

Postby tcat007 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:15 pm

I usually just use Cura for gcode production. Now that I have my laptop network working, it's plugged into my Max v2. Normally I use Mattercontrol to control the printer (USB). If I want to try Cura, and I hit "upgrade firmware" in printer settings, will it screw anything up? I'm finding the graphical interface when adding a gcode file to Mattercontrol, puts a bunch of what looks like support on the screen (maybe an inch high, when I have support off). File looks fine in Cura, but it does print fine in MC.

Also wondering about Start and End code, Cura seems to put in a bunch of extra lines I haven't seen. Maybe that's what's adding the odd graphics? I don't print much and am still learning.

Edit: added picture of what shouldn't be there after importing gcode from Cura.
Attachments
Screenshot 2018-01-15 18.14.15.png

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4689
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby geneb » Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:22 am

The "Upgrade Firmware" button is only for Ultimaker printers.

What printer do you have?

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
tcat007
Printmaster!
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:19 pm

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby tcat007 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:08 am

Rostock Max v2. Thanks.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4689
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby geneb » Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:48 am

If you've updated your machine with the HE280 hot end, you can find good default Cura 3.1 profiles here: https://github.com/seemecnc/slicing-profiles

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
tcat007
Printmaster!
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:19 pm

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby tcat007 » Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:15 am

Thanks. Looks like I need to update my HE. Still on kit one, acting strange lately.

User avatar
tcat007
Printmaster!
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:19 pm

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby tcat007 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:53 pm

I can't seem to get Cura to send proper gcode to print from Mattercontrol. I find Cura easier to use (STL to Gcode), but have MC setup on my laptop to my printer. I have gcode flavor set to Reprap. I just exported a Reprap, and a Marlin file and attached the beginning. The print seems to squirt and extra "gob" of material everytime it pauses (big gob every 4 or 5 seconds). What's proper flavor for MaxV2? I see in earier posts it's Reprap(Marlin), which is confusing, since there's no choice like that. Also attached what current setting is.
Attachments
CuraPrinterSettings.jpg
CuraGcode.jpg

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4689
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby geneb » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:49 am

What happens when you go from Cura -> SD card?

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
tcat007
Printmaster!
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:19 pm

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby tcat007 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:50 am

Same gcode. Just odd one seems to accumulate E values and one doesn't. Is that amount of material? I think the .15 values look like the "squirt".

G1 X-40.36 Y-2.749 E0.01095
G1 X-40.856 Y-5.872 E0.15958
G1 X-40.941 Y-6.657 E0.03985
G1 X-40.945 Y-7.446 E0.03982
G1 X-40.87 Y-8.232 E0.03985
G1 X-40.715 Y-9.007 E0.03989
G1 X-40.483 Y-9.762 E0.03986
G1 X-40.182 Y-10.475 E0.03906
G1 X-40.214 Y-10.833 E0.01814
G1 X-40.214 Y-11.443 E0.03078
G1 X-40.137 Y-13.425 E0.1001
G1 X-40.067 Y-14.211 E0.03982
G1 X-39.917 Y-14.987 E0.03989
G1 X-39.689 Y-15.743 E0.03985
G1 X-39.387 Y-16.472 E0.03982
G1 X-39.012 Y-17.167 E0.03985
G1 X-38.569 Y-17.821 E0.03986
G1 X-38.062 Y-18.426 E0.03983
G1 X-37.496 Y-18.977 E0.03986
G1 X-36.878 Y-19.468 E0.03983
G1 X-36.213 Y-19.894 E0.03985
G1 X-35.508 Y-20.251 E0.03988
G1 X-34.771 Y-20.534 E0.03984
G1 X-34.268 Y-20.681 E0.02645
G1 X-31.308 Y-21.435 E0.15415
G1 X-30.534 Y-21.591 E0.03985

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: Cura 3.1

Postby dc42 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:29 pm

The lines that extrude 0.15m also have about 3mm of X or Y movement, much more than the other lines, so more filament needs to be extruded in them.

When you select RepRap flavour GCode, Cura defaults to relative extrusion, which is what RepRapFirmware prefers. So use it if you have Duet electronics. Other flavours default to absolute extrusion, in which the E values accumulate.


Return to “Cura”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest