Eris settings for Simplify3D?

The ERIS Delta, a truly affordable entry into Delta 3D Printing
AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:33 pm

I am having trouble using the Eris with S3D
Z0 height is off, and I have tried a few things to fix it, but I am not having much success.
Does anyone have an updated FFF profile for the printer (I think the one I am using is several months old)

Any settings summary and profiles will be appreciated

Thanks

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby mhackney » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:06 pm

In 99.99999% of the cases, Z0 height is not a function of the slicer. If you are using the slicer to COMPENSATE for actually setting the correct Z height, then it could be the issue. If your Z0 is way off, don't look at the slicer to fix it. This is an issue with firmware/calibration.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1335
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby Mac The Knife » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:09 pm

If you haven't done it yet, update the firmware in the Eris. They've updated the calibration, and it works much better.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:19 pm

I have tried using the MatterControl bed leveling configuration, and that worked reasonably well in MatterControl, but my settings are off in S3D. Whether it be the specified build height or other settings, I am not sure.

Does anyone have detailed instructions on updating the firmware on the Eris?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by AlanZ on Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:21 pm

I also used the manual multi point leveling in .s.3D but the z 0 height was too high.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby mhackney » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:24 pm

Do not use a control app's "leveling" - it most likely will not work with a delta. And in this case, the firmware and calibration for the Eris is custom.

If you are sure your delta calibration is good, then use the "paper test" that is documented in multiple places here.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:47 pm

Does anyone have detailed instructions on updating the firmware on the Eris?

Thanks in advance.

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:52 pm

I found the firmware instructions and will give it a try
https://www.seemecnc.com/pages/eris-fir ... structions

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:25 pm

I updated the firmware per the instructions (I did not run the eeprom clear code, as it was not in the instructions)

Calibration is better with Mattercontrol, but still a bit off.

I printed the Eris Calibration Print from Repables, and the first layer is low from about 1/3 out from center between the X and Y towers.

I will try printing some various models.

In the meantime, can someone give me updated parameters for S3D (most notably gcode setting for Z height...)

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:00 pm

Oh well... this needs work.

I printed this with MatterControl, and canceled it after the first layer.

The print near the Z tower is quite high, to the point where the filament is barely adhering (and sometimes comes loose)
The print head gets closer to the build plate as it moves towards the front of the machine.

Not what I would call a good first layer.
Any suggestions are appreciated.
Attachments
IMG_4624.JPG

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby mhackney » Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:18 pm

Calibrate.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:30 pm

I did calibrate... several times, with the nozzle cold (as was previously recommended... or has this changed?)

I got an email response from JJ, I will take a look and see if there is something else to do.

Thanks

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4690
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby geneb » Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:32 pm

Run the eeprom_clear program, load the firmware (after setting it up for the Eris) and then run G29 to calibrate. Turn off any "calibration" in MatterControl.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Thu Dec 29, 2016 8:05 am

I wound up clearing and reinstalling the firmware via the Arduino method.
After running G29 results still were not good.

However, JJ suggested I try the Delta calibration wizard and that seems to have worked for my machine.

https://www.seemecnc.com/pages/delta-calibration-wizard

I have made a few prints with MatterControl, and will report back after a little more testing.

I am still looking for the best printer profile settings for S3D.

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: Eris settings for Simplify3D?

Postby AlanZ » Fri Dec 30, 2016 8:19 pm

MatterControl says that there is new firmware available.
I went to github, and it looks like there is a build that includes the new H2.
Does anyone know if there are any changes that would benefit my little Eris?


Return to “ERIS Delta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest