Trouble Setting up viki 2.0 on smoothieboard

User avatar
Aflac
Printmaster!
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 11:32 pm

Trouble Setting up viki 2.0 on smoothieboard

Postby Aflac » Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:19 pm

Hi everyone,
I am trying to get a viki 2.0 board working on my smoothieboard. The board is not installed in the machine yet as I am trying to get all the electronics figured out first.

i have a 5x smoothie, it says in the panel documentation that there are not enough pins to attach everything...but the pins are all there so that has me a little confused.

when i power up the smoothie, i am using usb only att. the screens backlight comes on, the ring led lights up but nothing is displayed on the screen.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong.

Also I am planning on connecting a thermocouple at some point, since It seems that smoothie can only use SPI thermocouple boards, how would i go about connecting that, is it even possible with a lcd screen...it seems that is using pretty much all the extra pins. The documentation says that p1.18 to p1.21 can be free if leds_disable is set true in config. Could i do that and free up those pins for usage?

thanks for all your help.

my set up is below

SDCD P0.28
BTN left open
SDCS p0.27
LCS p0.16
SCK p0.15
GND the gnd on serial debug
ENCB p3.26
ENCA p3.25
MISO p0.17
A0 p2.11
MOSI P0.18
V+ V+ on serial debug

BTN p1.30
BUZZER p1.31
BLUE-LED p1.23
RED-LED Nothing

# Panel
panel.enable true # set to true to enable the panel code
panel.lcd viki2 # set type of panel
panel.spi_channel 0 # set spi channel to use P0_18,P0_15 MOSI,SCLK
panel.spi_cs_pin 0.16 # set spi chip select
panel.encoder_a_pin 3.25!^ # encoder pin
panel.encoder_b_pin 3.26!^ # encoder pin
panel.click_button_pin 1.30!^ # click button
panel.a0_pin 2.11 # st7565 needs an a0
#panel.contrast 8 # some panels need contrast set, this is for viki2
#panel.encoder_resolution 4 # number of clicks to move 1 item
panel.buzz_pin 1.31 # pin for buzzer (use red led OR buzzer not both)
#panel.red_led_pin 1.22 # pin for red led on viki2
panel.blue_led_pin 1.23 # pin for blue led on viki2 (5 driver can't use this)
#panel.back_button_pin 1.30!^ # optionally using the red button as a back button (NOT available on 5 driver)
# setup for external sd card on the viki2
panel.external_sd true # set to true if there is an extrernal sdcard on the panel
panel.external_sd.spi_channel 0 # set spi channel the sdcard is on
panel.external_sd.spi_cs_pin 0.27 # set spi chip select for the sdcard
panel.external_sd.sdcd_pin 0.28!^ # sd detect signal (set to nc if no sdcard detect)

User avatar
Aflac
Printmaster!
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 11:32 pm

Re: Trouble Setting up viki 2.0 on smoothieboard

Postby Aflac » Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:24 pm

Also, currently I am only using 4 steppers, can I somehow disable the 5th and free up the pins that are spare on 3 and 4 driver boards?

User avatar
Aflac
Printmaster!
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 11:32 pm

Re: Trouble Setting up viki 2.0 on smoothieboard

Postby Aflac » Fri Feb 19, 2016 4:32 pm

So after some judicious multi meter use I discovered I'm an idiot. On the viki wiring harness there were two of the same color wires and I got them backwards.

Also I disabled the leds and was able to use those pins for the thermocouple, so currently I have my board running two thermocouples and the viki2 board.

I saw a lot of stuff in my searches that said multi thermocouple was bugged, however it seems to be working for me...though it's not actually hooked up to the printer yet, just breadboarded to the various things, but it seems to work.

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: Trouble Setting up viki 2.0 on smoothieboard

Postby teoman » Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:27 am

Aflac wrote:So after some judicious multi meter use I discovered I'm an idiot.



This happens to me more than i like to admit.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

User avatar
Aflac
Printmaster!
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 11:32 pm

Re: Trouble Setting up viki 2.0 on smoothieboard

Postby Aflac » Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:53 am

Yes it really does.

There where two wires the same color, well two sets of two, grey and black, but I did the black ones right. But I used the multimeter to figure out which one was which and then marked both ends, but on the grey wire somehow in the motion of putting down the multimeter probe and picking up the sharpie i switched grey wires...and then trusted my marks.


Return to “Smoothieboard and variants”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 626Pilot and 1 guest