Page 1 of 1

S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 3:59 pm
by dmo
I purchased Simplify 3D and I notice the settings are off. Does anyone have a list of the settings I should change? First thing I noticed is the bed size setting was off. I'm wondering if the g code and others are also off. I'm having trouble with it not working properly. One problem I'm having is adjusting the nozzle temperature while printing. It doesn't send it. I'm not very experienced at this so any help would be great. Thanks

Re: S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 6:39 am
by KAS
From my understanding S3D uses the largest square that fits inside your build envelope(circle). That's the reason the print area looks small in comparison.


In your Processes section edit your FFF settings: Under the g-code tab, to set the build volume to X-Axis 266, Y-Axis 266, With Origin Offset 133 for both.
Then uncheck the "Update Machine Definition" and "Update Firmware Configuration" to disable those options.

That will stop S3D from automatically adjusting your settings from the firmware on the printer. Now your build table should be appropriately sized and stay that way.


Hopefully that helps. :D

Re: S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 6:54 pm
by kodachrome
Just digging this up as Im getting a bit confused in fine tuning my Rostock Max V2 (with upgraded ball joint arms and carriages)..

What are the correct figures for Origin Offset and Build Volume? The Wizard in S3D is putting in 197 build volume and 98.5 Offset..
197 is a lot smaller than 265mm (which is the spec) and not whats below.

Re: S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:23 pm
by geneb
The X and Y axis figures of 266 will give a "diameter" of 266mm. The 133 X and & axis offset will put the zero point in the center of the bed.

When working with S3D, the X and Y axes are both set to the diameter of the printing volume and the X and Y offset are always half the diameter, regardless of what kind or size of delta printer you have.

g.

Re: S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:37 pm
by kodachrome
Wonderful.. but my question is where are 197mm X/Y and 98.5mm Origin Offset coming from? These are the figures S3D says are correct for the Rostock.

Re: S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:33 am
by geneb
I have no idea. Might be a bug. S3D does a few things that leaves me scratching my head, so a weird bed center offset wouldn't surprise me terribly. Just set it by hand and you'll be fine.

g.

Re: S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:15 am
by kodachrome
Just testing now, 266 is way too large, its out of bounds on the extremities. 197/98.5 appears correct dimension wise, not sure if that has other side effects tho.

Re: S3D V3 Settings for Rostock Max V2

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:03 pm
by geneb
If your're setting the offset to 266, then yes, that's wrong.

Here's my current S3D settings:
s3d settings.png
s3d settings.png (10.54 KiB) Viewed 2850 times


g.