0.92.4 (official) plus 3rd party Dual Extruder (prometheus system)

Discussions related to the Rostock MAX v2
kodachrome
Plasticator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:15 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

0.92.4 (official) plus 3rd party Dual Extruder (prometheus system)

Postby kodachrome » Mon Sep 25, 2017 12:45 pm

I have the Prometheus System extruders which are similar in principle to the SeeMeCNC Y Coupler.
I figured maybe I should update from my old but working .91 firmware (fine with the dual extruders) on the Rostock Max V2 to the later SeeMeCNC version of 0.92.4.

So It now has tweaks in it for dual extruders (your Y-coupler junction like the Pro System), great. However after uploading, testing extrusion in Mattercontrol:

- EXT0 extrudes fine, +10mm extruders 10mm on EXT0
- EXT1 however.. trying to extruder 10mm from EXT1 makes EXT0 do some purge type behaviour, then rapidly shoots a huge amount of filament out of EXT1, which then retracts, then extrudes a bit then EXT0 comes online again and starts pushing and pulling filament too!!?

What is this behavior about? Can I use 2 extruders without this auto-retract scripting (and supply my own as with the Prometheus System)?

kodachrome
Plasticator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:15 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: 0.92.4 (official) plus 3rd party Dual Extruder (prometheus system)

Postby kodachrome » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:34 am

Can anyone comment on this? The stupid behaviour it runs when disconnecting/reconnecting and Tool Change is just making pointless pools of plastic on my heatbed which I need to scrape off.

WHY!?

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4666
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: 0.92.4 (official) plus 3rd party Dual Extruder (prometheus system)

Postby geneb » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:40 am

I'm going to guess it's because the official SeeMeCNC branch of Repetier Firmware has been specifically modified to assume that their "Y" splitter is in place when 2 extruders are configured.

You also have the option of contacting support@seemecnc.com, or PM pouncingiguana - he's their firmware guru.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
pouncingiguana
Printmaster!
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:48 am

Re: 0.92.4 (official) plus 3rd party Dual Extruder (prometheus system)

Postby pouncingiguana » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:46 am

Correct! The firmware is setup to automatically retract the current extruder far enough to clear the Y and then push the new extruder forward all the way to the nozzle. It's hard coded in the firmware, but can be changed if you still want to run that firmware. Take a look at lines 149, 150, 182, and 183 in Configuration.h, that's the GCode it runs when it's changing extruders. You can set it to anything you want and you've got decent odds it'll work for you.

kodachrome
Plasticator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:15 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: 0.92.4 (official) plus 3rd party Dual Extruder (prometheus system)

Postby kodachrome » Tue Oct 03, 2017 4:25 pm

Thanks, removed that G-Code so all good with the 3rd party script. Maybe some of your advanced users might want to check out:
http://distechforum.com/showthread.php?tid=127


How well or not is the official filament switch working in Simplify3D?
Spegelius' script is working well these days with dual filaments in S3D!


Return to “Rostock MAX v2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest