G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Discussions related to the Rostock MAX v2
Post Reply
MHZathras
Plasticator
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:22 am

G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by MHZathras » Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:14 am

I have upgraded my V2 machine for the HE280.I have previously upgrades the following;
Cheap Skates
Arms
power supply

I have had the issues that other people seem to have The accelerator system did not have a proper ground, I have it wired right now and I am continuing the calibration process starting with G29... Head comes down close to the bed the moves toward the left front tower then moves down and crashes and continues to move off the the glass and off the plate. I have to kill the power. Her is the terminal ourtput before I kiil the printer
"
->G29

<-ok
<-
<-TargetExtr0:0
<-
->M114

<-Transformation matrix: 1.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
<-
<-SpeedMultiply:100
<-
<-X:0.00 Y:0.00 Z:365.738 E:0.0000
<-
->M105

<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-accelerometer send i2c error.
<-
<-accelerometer i2c recv error.
<-
<-Z-probe state:L
<-
<-zprobing...
<-
->M105


"
I have checked the PW-ON lead and it looks OK... But I get the impression that the interrupt is not happening.

Any Ideas?

MHZathras
Plasticator
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:22 am

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by MHZathras » Tue Mar 07, 2017 3:46 pm

I just completed the v2 to v3 upgrade with the HE280.I had the same issue too. I fixed it by manually setting the Z height to old way. The printer thinks the bed is lower so the head crashes. G29 worked after that.

Dale Eason
Printmaster!
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by Dale Eason » Tue Mar 07, 2017 4:49 pm

It could be that the accelerometer is not working correctly. To figure that out use the G-Code terminal of Mattercontrol. Send a M261. The return values will be data about the accelerometer. Pay attention to the INT value. Then thump (flick) the hot end with your finger. Send M261 again. The INT value should change. If it does not then check that the accelerometer is wired correctly.

If that value does change then the Max Z height is probably too large to begin with and can be made smaller using the EEPROM editor of MatterControl.

Also I do not get the I2C send error on my working V2 to V3 upgrade so that may actually be a symptom of something wrong but I do not know what.
Dale

MHZathras
Plasticator
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:22 am

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by MHZathras » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:17 pm

I am sure the I2C buss is working now and the terminal screens are correct now. Some observations;
The occasional garbage I get started when I started using the I2C buss. I observed that when the screen was hung it cleared by disconnecting the buss.
The display buss is also on that buss...

A better understanding by me of the line design changes, learned before the wiring changes, would have reduced my confusion and the self imposed problems. Everyone needs understand that an additional computer system is now in the head and proper power conditions have necessitated raising the required importance of the ground lead wire of the thermistor to now be the negative or ground wire of the new computer system. This one has gotten me and a lot of other people too.

The Z effector needed to be reversed.

Also I had to swap the SCL SDA lines.

Once I put together the pins on the 8 bin plug on the head circuit board, with where they landed on the Rambo board. I Ohmed it out and found the wiring problems. A better drawing would have helped.

I had the board in and out of the cabinet so many times now I have broken the USB bulkhead. :(
I am now in the process of removing the old USB connector on the RAMBO and installing a new one.
Last edited by MHZathras on Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:33 am, edited 2 times in total.

MHZathras
Plasticator
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:22 am

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by MHZathras » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:18 pm

Oh and my Extruder motor is not working now.

MHZathras
Plasticator
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:22 am

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by MHZathras » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:21 pm

Hope I made it clear I manually set the Z height the old way by the front panel before I ran G29.

MHZathras
Plasticator
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:22 am

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by MHZathras » Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:49 am

My printer is working pretty good now. I have discovered a new issue. If I put G29 in the Start G-Code, when I run the job the bed heats up to my desired temp, then starts the auto alignment procedure. The problem is the bed temperature is turned off by calling of the G29 routine. Afteer the G29 routine is complete it does not turn the bed back on. It turns on the exturder heater. When it reaches target temp, printing commences...on an unheated bed.

I currently work around this my adding this line after the G29 call;

M140 S100 ( set to 100)

Which sets the bed temp before turning on the extruder. Have I missed something or blundered in to the correct process

Dale Eason
Printmaster!
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by Dale Eason » Sun Mar 12, 2017 2:59 pm

That is the correct process.

MHZathras
Plasticator
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 9:22 am

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by MHZathras » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:02 am

Printer is running pretty good. But I need to move MaterControl to a different PC. I did an install from the SeeMeCNC link and install went fine. I am now trying to set it up the same. We I place "G29" in the I get a message telling me to disable Print Recovery. But I do not find "Print Recovery as a menu item under "Printer" settings on the new install. I see it on the pld install. I must have a setting incorrect.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4991
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: G29 issues after conversion to HE280

Post by geneb » Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:07 am

Why are you running a G29 before every print?

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Post Reply

Return to “Rostock MAX v2”