What im i doing wrong??

Post your prints with the GCode used to help other users achieve a similar result, or get help.
Orellana.arch
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:56 pm

What im i doing wrong??

Postby Orellana.arch » Sun Dec 13, 2015 1:18 pm

Hey whats going on guys

so im pretty new to 3d printing and i have a couple of files i want to print from Rhino 3d. but i have them saved in inches (im not sure if the machine only recognize mm). When ever i export as an STL and import it into Matter Controls the piece comes out realllyyyyy small. what am i doing wrong??? or should i save the stl file as mm idk. please help thank you

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby teoman » Sun Dec 13, 2015 3:50 pm

You can save itas mm,

Or you can scale it in mc. It is under edit.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby mhackney » Sun Dec 13, 2015 5:07 pm

I work in Rhino and just do everything in mm. Much easier that way.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

Orellana.arch
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:56 pm

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby Orellana.arch » Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:18 pm

mhackney wrote:I work in Rhino and just do everything in mm. Much easier that way.


so you think thats the problem? i need to convert my files into mm before i export it into a stl file?

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby Polygonhell » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:05 pm

Orellana.arch wrote:
mhackney wrote:I work in Rhino and just do everything in mm. Much easier that way.


so you think thats the problem? i need to convert my files into mm before i export it into a stl file?


Yes STL files don't have units, and the Slicers all assume everything is mm.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby mhackney » Sun Dec 13, 2015 10:14 pm

KISSlicer has a menu item to convert from inches to mm. I use it on occasion when I forget to work in metric. All the slicers provide a scaling function so you could scale down by 1/25.4. The caveat is that I don't think (or I haven't found) the ability to specify the scale factor in Simplify3D, it seems to just allow you to drag to resize.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

BenTheRighteous
Printmaster!
Posts: 695
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 9:38 am

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby BenTheRighteous » Sun Dec 13, 2015 10:31 pm

Have you tried double clicking the rendered model in s3d?
nitewatchman wrote:it was much cleaner and easier than killing a chicken on top of the printer.

User avatar
nitewatchman
Printmaster!
Posts: 626
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:51 pm
Location: Birmingham, Alabama

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby nitewatchman » Sun Dec 13, 2015 10:35 pm

mhackney wrote:KISSlicer has a menu item to convert from inches to mm. I use it on occasion when I forget to work in metric. All the slicers provide a scaling function so you could scale down by 1/25.4. The caveat is that I don't think (or I haven't found) the ability to specify the scale factor in Simplify3D, it seems to just allow you to drag to resize.


Double click on the presented image after importing the desired model. You will get a popup menu that allows you to manipulate the model as you desire.

gary

Orellana.arch
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:56 pm

Re: What im i doing wrong??

Postby Orellana.arch » Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:06 pm

nitewatchman wrote:
mhackney wrote:KISSlicer has a menu item to convert from inches to mm. I use it on occasion when I forget to work in metric. All the slicers provide a scaling function so you could scale down by 1/25.4. The caveat is that I don't think (or I haven't found) the ability to specify the scale factor in Simplify3D, it seems to just allow you to drag to resize.


Double click on the presented image after importing the desired model. You will get a popup menu that allows you to manipulate the model as you desire.

gary




awesome man thanks alot thats exactly what i needed


Return to “GCode & Test Prints”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest