stl output not quite as i expected

http://freecadweb.org
User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

stl output not quite as i expected

Postby teoman » Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:02 pm

As a member recommended freeCAD i decided to give it go. It seems fairly easy to use however the stl output did not quite turn out as i expected. Anyone has any ideas?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 01.59.12.png
view of STL in mattercontrol
Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 01.32.28.png
Freecad bottom view
Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 01.32.15.png
Freecad view
BidonKapak.stl
The STL file
(499.89 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
BidonKapak.FCStd
The Freecad File
(12.94 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

User avatar
crocky
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 6:55 pm
Location: Werribee, Aust

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Postby crocky » Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:05 pm

None yet...

I have just loaded it :)
Bob
Rostock Max V2, Ball Cup Arms, New Carriages, HE280, Dampers, PSU Breathing, Simplify 3D, GeckoTek3D, Raspberry Pi3. Duet soon... Kossel Mini still under construction.
Delta's are the way!

User avatar
crocky
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 6:55 pm
Location: Werribee, Aust

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Postby crocky » Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:32 pm

Same result as you I'm afraid.

Might be the way it is constructed, not much help :)
Bob
Rostock Max V2, Ball Cup Arms, New Carriages, HE280, Dampers, PSU Breathing, Simplify 3D, GeckoTek3D, Raspberry Pi3. Duet soon... Kossel Mini still under construction.
Delta's are the way!

User avatar
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2617
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:35 am
Location: Notre Dame area
Contact:

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Postby Jimustanguitar » Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:13 am

Did you try running it through NetFabb? Sometimes there are problems with the export process (disconnected triangles and the such) that NetFabb can repair.

Provided that you're selecting the correct parts, and have the right features of your model "turned on", it's got to be something between the export and opening it in the slicing program.

Have you tried a different slicer, just to eliminate variables?

Another test could be to save as a "real" CAD file, open it with something else, and do the STL export with a second program. It's hard to speculate what will fix it, you'll just have to try a little bit of everything :)

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Postby teoman » Wed Sep 24, 2014 3:09 am

It was my first try. And i did not try that part again. But i believe it wqs because i left some degrees of freedom on my bottom sketch.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

Neofire
Noob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 11:59 am

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Postby Neofire » Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:18 pm

This is an old post but I wanted to answer the question in case anyone else has this problem.

The problem with the STL file is that the FreeCAD model hasn't been "fused" using the "Make Union of Several Shaps Tool" on the Parts workbench. Since it wasn't fused FreeCAD only exported the highlighted portion and not the entire model. I attached the fused and Re-Filled FeeCAD and STL files
Attachments
BidonKapak v2.stl
STL File
(157.99 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
BidonKapak v2.FCStd
Fixed FreeCAD File
(19.16 KiB) Downloaded 138 times

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: stl output not quite as i expected

Postby teoman » Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:55 pm

Thank you for that.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.


Return to “FreeCAD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest