Measure twice, print once?

A place to post your fails. We know you got 'em, now share what you think caused 'em
Post Reply
User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Measure twice, print once?

Post by Captain Starfish » Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:03 am

Thought some might get a giggle out of this.

My DIY dive torch, a 3000 lumen LED monster, sucks a bit of juice. I'm feeding it with eight 3000mAh Li Ion 18650 format batteries. Say that five times in a hurry.

At the moment the carrier for these cells is cobbled together with tape, a bit of copper sheet and an old PET soft drink bottle. And it has its issues with intermittent connections, the vulnerability to shorting out against a metal case etc.

Time to fix with a printed custom pro looking jobby.

Printed in a rush so quality is fairly rough (0.4mm layers on a 0.5mm nozzle!) but still took well over two hours to crank out this version. As it threw on the "lid" it dawned on me - the captive design will not let any batteries out once installed but, D'OH, nor will it let them be installed.

Version 2 over the weekend :)

I was always taught measure twice, cut once. But this is something between the measuring and the cutting - I'm ever so glad it's not a thousand bucks worth of NC milled billet I just got back!

Image

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by Eaglezsoar » Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:11 am

It may not work but it does look nice. Drill a hole in the end, put in a little hamburger and it would work good as
a fly catcher! They fly in but won't fly out.

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by Captain Starfish » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:30 am

No, I think I'm going to mount it above my computer as a general reminder in future... "Are you SURE you've thought this one through, Einstein?"

:lol:

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4952
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by geneb » Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:37 am

I think the rule goes, "Measure with micrometer, mark with chalk, cut with chainsaw." :D

We've ALL been there, so you're in good company. :D

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4952
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by geneb » Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:38 am

I think the rule goes, "Measure with micrometer, mark with chalk, cut with chainsaw." :D

We've ALL been there, so you're in good company. :D

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:35 am
Location: Notre Dame area
Contact:

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by Jimustanguitar » Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:09 am

geneb wrote:I think the rule goes, "Measure with micrometer, mark with chalk, cut with chainsaw." :D



A friend of mine was telling me about his experience with the Air Force / Skunk Works on the now unclassified F117-A project... His summary of building a state of the art airplane was "The design is digital, the parts are cut on CNC, measured with lasers, and assembled with a sledgehammer."

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by Captain Starfish » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:09 pm

Looking at it this morning I've realised I can open up a single battery sized loading hole with a file, and incorporate this with a few other improvements into my CAD drawing for next time. So all's not lost.

Still. Think ahead!

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by Nylocke » Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:29 pm

"Precision parts"

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: Measure twice, print once?

Post by Captain Starfish » Sat Mar 01, 2014 5:20 am

Part of the fun of prototyping.

I remember paying mega bucks years ago to send a design for STL printing so we could check for fit/interference, ergonomics etc before we went out to the toolmakers to make moulds etc. It took weeks to get organised, cost a mint but the part taught us enough before it went in the bin that the process saved a bomb on tooling rework later on.

The D'OH moment was a moment of annoyance but like I said a lot better than discovering it in a $5,000 mould that had to be scrapped or reworked.

And being able to achieve all of that in a lunchtime now without even leaving my desk?

That is a pretty marvellous place for us to have reached.

Post Reply

Return to “FAIL HAPPENS ! ! !”