Size Problem

Talk about the Repetier Host software here (http://repetier.com)
ThatDirectorGuy
Printmaster!
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:18 pm

Size Problem

Postby ThatDirectorGuy » Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:42 am

When I load the stl files in Repetier my print a Pirate Ship is bigger than the printer bed and will not print it because the pirate ship is bigger then the print area of my printer. The size /scale is on 1. I am not sure what is going on.

User avatar
DavidF
Printmaster!
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:12 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: Size Problem

Postby DavidF » Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:21 am

either the problem is obvious or I totally missed the question..
Have you tried scaling it down to where the model fits the build platform> Try setting it to .5 and see if it fits then.
1.=100% .5=50%
http://www.youtube.com/user/aonemarine
Lost pla castings? see me

ThatDirectorGuy
Printmaster!
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:18 pm

Re: Size Problem

Postby ThatDirectorGuy » Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:48 am

I know I can scale it up or down but the print was made to certain measured specs why is it showing up so big in Repetier. Changing the scale would just be a guessing game. Is there an option to go from inches to mm or something?

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: Size Problem

Postby teoman » Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:50 am

I remember seing from inches to mm and vice versa... i cannot recall if it was in repetier or mattercontrol.


But i think you are going about this wrong. First find out what you have and what you need.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.

User avatar
DavidF
Printmaster!
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:12 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: Size Problem

Postby DavidF » Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:22 am

on the top of the repiter screen go to config, units of imported objects, select objects in inches and see if that does it for you...
http://www.youtube.com/user/aonemarine
Lost pla castings? see me

User avatar
Tracku2
Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:54 am

Re: Size Problem

Postby Tracku2 » Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:35 am

I am having the same issue. When I load the stl files in Repetier they are not to proper scale.

When we printed the files for the Rostock max they worked perfect, however all other files from Thingiverse and our engineering dept are way off.

Is there a way to ensure parts are sized correctly in the Repetier program so they are printed to the accurate size?

Any tips or suggestions would be a big help.

Thanks,
Bob

User avatar
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:35 am
Location: Notre Dame area
Contact:

Re: Size Problem

Postby Jimustanguitar » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:03 am

I agree with Teoman... Check your inches to metric conversion settings. It's probably 2.54 or 25.4 times bigger than you were planning on.

User avatar
teoman
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: Size Problem

Postby teoman » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:41 am

as far as I know the stl file format does not have a specific measurement. So each program interprets it however they want. That is why you have to scale it to your machine application in your machine application.

I have encountered a problem such as yourself while trying ot print a lightsaber from thingiverse. It was thiny, I think it was in microns or thousandths. When is scaled it up, the proportions did not match and it ended up looking more like a ship than a lightsaber. As it was not really an important print i gave up. Other stuff i have downloaded from thingiverse have been good though.
When on mobile I am brief and may be perceived as an arsl.


Return to “Repetier Host”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests