Object placement collision question

Talk about the Repetier Host software here (http://repetier.com)
Post Reply
User avatar
Shizuma
Printmaster!
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Object placement collision question

Post by Shizuma » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:37 pm

I just got my Rostock MAX up and running yesterday and I noticed one thing in the repetier host software that I had a question on. When I placed multiple parts it had an area for if there was a part collision with a green check or red X, I noticed it seems to base that off a virtual box around the object, so with a curved object, like something banana shaped it says there is a collision because it's inside that virtual box, but the parts themselves aren't colliding, is it safe to ignore the warnings in that case, or should I always place multiple objects so the virtual boxes don't collide?

User avatar
gestalt73
Printmaster!
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:10 am
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Object placement collision question

Post by gestalt73 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:33 pm

I've used Repetier Host to load up the build plate with multiple parts from time to time.

What I'll do, is pack them as closely together as possible, but not touching, then rotate your view around to make absolutely certain that they're not touching anywhere. I think I try to give each object about 5mm of clearance.

The only gotcha that I've ran into, is I'll save out that arrangement as a new stl, and occasionally it will invert the surfaces on one of the objects. (I load the resulting stl into KISSlicer for slicing) Not sure if there's a similar concern if you keep everything in Slicer. I can't remember if Repetier Host does this, but if you can visualize the generated gcode, you'll be able to tell quickly if it sliced it correctly.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4992
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Object placement collision question

Post by geneb » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:52 am

The easiest way to do this is to load up all the parts you want and then click the "Auto Arrange" button that's in the little toolbar above the object list.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
Shizuma
Printmaster!
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Object placement collision question

Post by Shizuma » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:56 am

I didn't even notice there was an auto arrange button, I'll just use that then, been so excited just getting the printer up and running Sunday that I've been throwing files at it to print and not really looking at all the different settings :roll:

KConley
Noob
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Object placement collision question

Post by KConley » Mon May 12, 2014 2:50 pm

When I take a sample part from repables to Repetier and place the object I get a warning that the object is off the bed or something like that. But I go back to scale it down and to make it fit it comes out really small. What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance for any help.

Post Reply

Return to “Repetier Host”