Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

The RAMBo board is finally here, and here's a place to talk about it!
User avatar
elwooddbeauchamp
Printmaster!
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:51 am
Location: Hickory Flat, Mississippi
Contact:

Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby elwooddbeauchamp » Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:37 pm

What settings in the EEPROM Values will allow changing the RAMBo default Preheat ABS/Preheat PLA temps?...if any...????
Momma told me "You need to work on your Printing"

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby Mac The Knife » Sat Sep 06, 2014 6:24 pm

Check out the settings at the bottom of the config h file.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
elwooddbeauchamp
Printmaster!
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:51 am
Location: Hickory Flat, Mississippi
Contact:

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby elwooddbeauchamp » Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:51 pm

Where is the Config.h file located?
Momma told me "You need to work on your Printing"

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby Mac The Knife » Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:42 am

As far as I've been able to figure out, you have to reflash the eeprom to make changes of that nature. To do that , you have to make changes in the config h file, using the Arduino IDE program you used to install the firmware on the RAMbo board. Open Repetier.ino in Arduino IDE, find and click on the tab that is titled config h, scroll down to the bottom, and you should find the settings you need. once you made your changes, save the file, clear the eeeprom, and upload the revised firmware, like described in the manual.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4622
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby geneb » Sun Oct 05, 2014 2:55 pm

It's configuration.h, not config.h. :)

Also, I don't think the default temps are stored in the EEPROM.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby Mac The Knife » Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:28 pm

default heat settings are at the bottom of the "configuration.h" file, Saving your eeprom settings before you wipe and reload the firmware just saves having to go through all the hoops again that GeneB made you jump through in the manual.

Or I could be wrong.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby Polygonhell » Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:40 pm

If your flashing with the same firmware you shouldn't lose the eeprom settings.
Probably not a bad idea to export them anyway.

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby Mac The Knife » Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:44 pm

Polygonhell wrote:If your flashing with the same firmware you shouldn't lose the eeprom settings.
Probably not a bad idea to export them anyway.


When you change the settings in the config.h file, and upload it, you can can do so and not lose your calibration settings? All this time I've been wiping my Eeprom clean before uploading.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby Polygonhell » Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:12 pm

Mac The Knife wrote:
Polygonhell wrote:If your flashing with the same firmware you shouldn't lose the eeprom settings.
Probably not a bad idea to export them anyway.


When you change the settings in the config.h file, and upload it, you can can do so and not lose your calibration settings? All this time I've been wiping my Eeprom clean before uploading.


Unless you explicitly wipe the EEPROM values, they are unaffected by flashing the firmware.
If your changing firmware versions it's a good idea to wipe it, but otherwise its not necessary.

User avatar
elwooddbeauchamp
Printmaster!
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:51 am
Location: Hickory Flat, Mississippi
Contact:

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby elwooddbeauchamp » Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:04 pm

Great info, everyone. Thanks for your input.

Aside from going through the Firmware, I am considering placing an "M116" (Wait) in the line after the M190 and then place the M109 after the M116.

Reason: Preheating via RAMBo, the hot end always comes up to heat very quickly, causing filament to ooze and form a long string hanging down by the time the bed reaches heat. This usually causes undesirable results with finished print quality, and when higher hot end temps are used, cook the filament into a solid "Plug".

I will give this a go shortly and see if it works. I would like to be able to start my print, have the bed heat up, then the hot end, and not babysit the temp controls for 30 to 45 minutes before the print starts.

Thoughts, anyone?

I could use all that extra time to sit in the back yard and watch my grass grow...lol
Momma told me "You need to work on your Printing"

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby Polygonhell » Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:43 pm

Should work fine.
My current solution is to not set the have any of the bed preheat commands in the startup code, I just manually set the bed temperature and walk away for 10 minutes.

User avatar
elwooddbeauchamp
Printmaster!
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:51 am
Location: Hickory Flat, Mississippi
Contact:

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby elwooddbeauchamp » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:08 pm

Polygonhell wrote:Should work fine.
My current solution is to not set the have any of the bed preheat commands in the startup code, I just manually set the bed temperature and walk away for 10 minutes.


I do that now, only it takes the bed 30 - 45 min to heat and the RAMBo times out the heaters if I don't keep checking the temp.

I HAVE found that using a Pot Lid the size of the bed, I can acheve bed temp much quicker.

Still, I would like to select the file, push the button, and walk away knowing the hot end isn't oozing strings all over the bed... :)
Momma told me "You need to work on your Printing"

bsharpe
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 12:54 pm

Re: Change default "Preheat" Values in RAMBo

Postby bsharpe » Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:03 am

anybody having problems compiling the UI.CPP file?
i am using arduino 1.5.8
I am getting massive errors in this file after downloading the source files from here:
https://github.com/seemecnc/Repetier-091-ORION
Any suggestions would be appreciated...
Here are the errors...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avr-g++ -c -g -Os -w -fno-exceptions -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -fno-threadsafe-statics -MMD -mmcu=atmega2560 -DF_CPU=16000000L -DARDUINO=158 -DARDUINO_AVR_MEGA2560 -DARDUINO_ARCH_AVR -IC:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\arduino\avr\cores\arduino -IC:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\arduino\avr\variants\mega -IC:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\arduino\avr\libraries\SPI C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp -o C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp.o

C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp: In member function 'bool<anonymous struct>::showEntry() const':
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:120:35: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
f = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&filter);
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:120:35: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:120:29: error: expected primary-expression before 'const'
f = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&filter);
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:120:29: error: expected ')' before 'const'
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:123:36: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
f2 = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&nofilter);
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:123:36: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:123:30: error: expected primary-expression before 'const'
f2 = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&nofilter);
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:123:30: error: expected ')' before 'const'
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp: In member function 'void UIDisplay::adjustMenuPos()':
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:1952:47: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
uint8_t mtype = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&(men->menuType));
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:1952:47: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:1952:41: error: expected primary-expression before 'const'
uint8_t mtype = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&(men->menuType));
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:1952:41: error: expected ')' before 'const'
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp: In member function 'void UIDisplay::nextPreviousAction(int8_t)':
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2015:47: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
uint8_t mtype = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&(men->menuType));
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2015:47: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2015:41: error: expected primary-expression before 'const'
uint8_t mtype = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&(men->menuType));
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2015:41: error: expected ')' before 'const'
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2019:49: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
uint8_t entType = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&(ent->menuType));// 0 = Info, 1 = Headline, 2 = submenu ref, 3 = direct action command
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2019:49: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of 'type name' with no type [-fpermissive]
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2019:43: error: expected primary-expression before 'const'
uint8_t entType = HAL::readFlashByte((const prog_char*)&(ent->menuType));// 0 = Info, 1 = Headline, 2 = submenu ref, 3 = direct action command
^
C:\Users\BOBSHA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build4900353575422888629.tmp\ui.cpp:2019:43: error: expected ')' before 'const'
Error compiling.


Return to “RAMBo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests