Page 1 of 1

Dead RAMBO v1.3

Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:01 pm
by Anton
Hi all.
While changing the nozzle, I've made a terrible mistake and shortened contacts of the heater, while it was ON. LCD screen turned off, the board seems to be dead now: all LEDs are off, no power on 5V output, nothing.
I tried to remove extruder heater - the board is still dead.
I don't see any fuses on the board, so probably some mosfet has burned out. I have a heat-gun, in theory can replace something, if I find out what. Any advice, what can be damaged and how to test that?

Re: Dead RAMBO v1.3

Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:01 pm
by Xenocrates
It's a micro fuse. The Rambo 1.3L has two of them, one which powers the logic and motors, and the other the heater and fans (According the the rep-rap wiki, but I recall the fan fuse will also shut down the whole board), and they are Littlefuse Nano2 fuses, see http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Littelfuse/0448005MR/?qs=zLq6hPBL7g7rOZQEM1wS4Q==
https://ultimachine.com/products/fuse-0448005-mr.

They should be by the power entry connector, one in line below it, and the other inboard near the top.

Re: Dead RAMBO v1.3

Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:46 pm
by Anton
Thanks for the info! But the fuse you point out is quite expensive (considering the delivery to UK). Can I just buy any 1808 SMD 5A fuse? It will be slightly smaller, but it shouldn't be a problem, right?

Re: Dead RAMBO v1.3

Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:21 pm
by Xenocrates
If you de-solder the fuse holders, perhaps. You can also solder another fuse to the existing one. However, smaller fuses are unlikely to make good contact in the fuse holders. But since you're in the UK, trythese from Farnell UK.

Re: Dead RAMBO v1.3

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:41 am
by Anton
Oh, I didn't know it has holders.
I've found the fuse, extracted it, it's broken. Just ordered a replacement.
Thanks for all your help, Xenocrates!

Re: Dead RAMBO v1.3

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:22 am
by Anton
Replaced the fuse, now everything works!
Thank you so much! I was afraid I'd have to replace the entire board.