RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

General info from SeeMeCNC HQ
Post Reply
johnoly99
Printmaster!
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Goshen, IN

RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by johnoly99 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:02 pm

Guys, please read the blog post on our site. Remember, this only accounts for RAMBo 1.2's, NOT earlier 1.1 or 1.0's, and we have NOT been shipping since Monday to wait for these fixes to arrive. So, if you've got a machine out there, please don't hesitate to email us, and we'll get you fixed up

John

http://seemecnc.com/blogs/news/12116989 ... -patch-fix

Eric
Printmaster!
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:09 am
Location: Chula Vista, CA

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by Eric » Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:11 pm

I was curious, so looked at the Rambo v1.2 schematic. The fix-it jumper just connects the USB ground to the ground the rest of the board uses.

User avatar
KaibutsuX
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by KaibutsuX » Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:29 pm

I just sent an email to seemecnc today about my board not connecting. The description from the blog post sounds exactly like my situation so I guess I will start disassembling my board.

Thanks for the info.

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by Eaglezsoar » Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:44 pm

That explains a few things. One user in Arkansas has just sent in his board for the same reason.
Now it makes sense.

enggmaug
Printmaster!
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:54 am
Location: Antony, France

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by enggmaug » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:18 am

I sent am email on Feb. 6th, but still didn't receive any reply... probably a mistake.

Do you guys know where can I find an exact description of the fix ?

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by Eaglezsoar » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:28 am

enggmaug wrote:I sent am email on Feb. 6th, but still didn't receive any reply... probably a mistake.

Do you guys know where can I find an exact description of the fix ?


It's listed on the first thread of this topic.
John gave this link: http://seemecnc.com/blogs/news/12116989 ... -patch-fix

enggmaug
Printmaster!
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:54 am
Location: Antony, France

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by enggmaug » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:31 am

:oops: How could I miss it ?

tx !

enggmaug
Printmaster!
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:54 am
Location: Antony, France

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by enggmaug » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:53 am

OK, I read the link.

It seems that the fix is not just a wire strap, but from the pictures, it looks like there is a component inside it, maybe a diode, a resistor, but definitively a dipole.

Does anyone know what is it inside ? I want to do the fix myself, as I probably already have the component at home, plus I live in Europe, plus seeMeCnc did not reply my email for 2 weeks.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by mhackney » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:21 am

A couple of thoughts:

Contact Ultimachines - the RAMBo's manufacturer and explain you are in Europe and want to do the repair

SeeMeCNC is usually very good about getting back to emails, if you haven't heard in a few days, email again. Don't just send 1 email and assume it got through. Follow up with another one (or two)!

cheers,
Michael

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by Eaglezsoar » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:42 am

The problem that is being fixed is that when they manufactured the cards they kept the ground area for the USB separate from the ground area from the rest of the card.
The fix simply ties the two ground areas together. That wire jumper contains this part: http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDet ... 0026D580DL
Their intent was to reduce noise on the USB side but in doing so they made it extremely susceptible to damage from static. Tying the grounds together allows any static
buildup to be discharged through the power supply. All the previous Rambos had a common ground then someone had a bright idea to separate them, it apparently was
not too bright of an idea after all. I do recommend to get the official patch kit because you may void the warranty if you use home brew parts plus why should you pay
for something that you can get for free.

enggmaug
Printmaster!
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:54 am
Location: Antony, France

Re: RAMBO 1.2 static issue fix!!!

Post by enggmaug » Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:11 am

I do not have varistors at home... ok, I'll try sending another email.

Thanks guys.

EDIT > I did that, and it's on its way. USPS is a bit slow, though... but well, it's not like I cannot print in the meantime.

Post Reply

Return to “General Announcments”