powering a light ring off the HE280

Start your own build thread so others can see how it's going, and even help out!
Penged
Printmaster!
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:30 am
Location: Alsip, Il

powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby Penged » Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:28 am

Howdy all,

I asked this question on an older thread for the MAX3 board and have not received a response. I will repost it here and hopefully someone else can benefit from it besides myself.

I know you can power a light ring off the HE280 board. Is there any way to turn it on and off?

Thanks in advance.
V2 max with the HE280 hotend

Eric
Printmaster!
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:09 am
Location: Chula Vista, CA

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby Eric » Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:51 am

No, not unless you create a way to turn it on and off.

I suspect most people that install light rings aren't terribly concerned about turning them off.

Penged
Printmaster!
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:30 am
Location: Alsip, Il

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby Penged » Sun Nov 06, 2016 8:01 am

I know the amount of electricity the light ring uses is infinitesimal small, but I was just curious if there was a line of code or something that would do that.
V2 max with the HE280 hotend

User avatar
briankb
Printmaster!
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:50 am
Location: North Florida - USA

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby briankb » Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:49 am

I didn't even notice it had the optional power out for a light ring so this is awesome!

I would also be interested in their is gcode to turn it off/on or more importantly dim the light. Sometimes full power is too much and causes reflections and issues for the camera.

I did this for the Orion last year - viewtopic.php?f=36&t=6546&p=59721&hilit=gcode+light+on#p59721

I also got an email directly from Ultimachine saying that, for the RAMBO board directly the code was:
M42 P2 S255

S255 is the coded to turn pin to 100%, you can change this to S0 to turn it off or anywhere between to adjust power level.


You could try M42 P2 S0 (off) and then M42 P2 S255 (on) and see if the seemecnc guys are just hooking into that from the rambo board and passing it through to their hotend pcb which is controlled via serial data (i2c I think). If not maybe they will chime in with an official answer.
- CNC's: Prusa i3, Orion Delta, Max v3, Shapeoko2 CNC (in progres...), Shark Mako Edition CNC (working)
- Software: Fusion 360, SpaceClaim Engineer, Simplify3D, Repetier Firmware & Host

HComet
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 10:36 pm

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby HComet » Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:04 am

There is no control for the Part LED on the HE280. Based on the schematics in GitHub looks like the + side connects to the main +12V feed and and the - side connects to ground through a 470 ohm resistor.

User avatar
briankb
Printmaster!
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:50 am
Location: North Florida - USA

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby briankb » Sun Nov 06, 2016 12:55 pm

Is there a recommended led ring light that works well with the HE280 hot end assembly?
- CNC's: Prusa i3, Orion Delta, Max v3, Shapeoko2 CNC (in progres...), Shark Mako Edition CNC (working)
- Software: Fusion 360, SpaceClaim Engineer, Simplify3D, Repetier Firmware & Host

Penged
Printmaster!
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:30 am
Location: Alsip, Il

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby Penged » Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:44 pm

briankb, I have the tricklaser one. It's a perfect fit for the Max
V2 max with the HE280 hotend

Noircogi
Printmaster!
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby Noircogi » Mon Nov 07, 2016 12:06 am

As mentioned in my thingiverse thing, http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1845789 I used this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BG ... UTF8&psc=1

It's cheap, the perfect size and works great. It provides a nice general illumination, but not a spotlight effect. It's just a medium brightness.

User avatar
briankb
Printmaster!
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:50 am
Location: North Florida - USA

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby briankb » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:56 am

Noircogi wrote:As mentioned in my thingiverse thing, http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1845789 I used this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BG ... UTF8&psc=1

It's cheap, the perfect size and works great. It provides a nice general illumination, but not a spotlight effect. It's just a medium brightness.


I actually have that exact light ring that I'm using on the Orion and the spare is somewhere in my collection of stuff. Thanks for making and sharing those retaining clips for the HE280 mount!
- CNC's: Prusa i3, Orion Delta, Max v3, Shapeoko2 CNC (in progres...), Shark Mako Edition CNC (working)
- Software: Fusion 360, SpaceClaim Engineer, Simplify3D, Repetier Firmware & Host

Hobby Creek
Plasticator
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:18 am

Re: powering a light ring off the HE280

Postby Hobby Creek » Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:01 am

I used these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BG ... UTF8&psc=1

and installed it on the effector with a little double sided tape. It works great and I don't really have to worry about the light level. It does flicker sometimes as the hot end is heating up. What if you just add a potentiometer in line to the LED?
Attachments
IMG_6447.JPG
IMG_6449.JPG
IMG_6444.JPG
IMG_6522.JPG
It's upside down in thumbnail. click to enlarge and have it right side up.
IMG_6510.JPG
IMG_6450.JPG


Return to “The Build Zone”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests