Mhackney's Rostock Max

Start your own build thread so others can see how it's going, and even help out!
User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4358
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby geneb » Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:51 pm

Where did you get those thumbscrews?

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Nylocke » Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:52 pm

McMaster if I saw correctly. Think they talked about them in the TrickTrucks thread.

User avatar
bubbasnow
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:24 pm
Location: Dayton, WA

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby bubbasnow » Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:53 pm

or amazon

Stainless Steel Thumb Screw, Plain Finish, Knurled Head, Flat Point, 1" Length, Fully Threaded, #6-32 UNC Threads (Pack of 5)

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:59 pm

My SS came from Amazon/Smallparts. Part #B001OO2C9S - pack of 5. They are perfect.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Repetier 9.2???

Postby mhackney » Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:52 pm

I have installed the FSRs on my Rostock Max and now looking for the Repeater firmware that supports delta calibration. Thought I'd do this in 2 steps - FSRs first, then swap to Smoothie.

Is the only way to get .92 through the auto configuration crap? What a PIA. I hate that and it constantly seems to change.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Nylocke » Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:56 pm

There is a version from the github that you can do without the online tool. Not completely sure if its kept up to date but I think it is.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:05 pm

I looked at the git version and it seems to be .91 and hasn't been updated in a long time. I assumed that this meant .92 comes from a different place.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

FSR mounts and installation

Postby mhackney » Sun Mar 22, 2015 5:36 pm

Here are the new FSR mounts I designed that work with most any printer. This one is designed for the short 1/2"D FSRs that Ultibots sells in their convenient kit. They have a 2 pin connector pre-attached and come with wiring and the FSR Controller board. This board makes installation easy and provides great LED feedback.

Image

Here is a closeup of the mount in place on the Rostock. I set them all up, installed the build plate (photos next), and then centered the plate. Once centered and I verified the plate floated freely, I spot glued each mount in place with superglue. Once cured, I'll drill holes and screw them down with wood screws. The slots allow for a lot of adjustment and can also be used to mount to the rails on a Kossel, TAZ or other printer.
Image
Image

Closeup of one of the 3 plungers affixed to the build plate. I used brass inserts to screw to the surface. My build surface consists of (top down) an 1/8" aluminum eat dissipator, the Onyx, the snowflake spacer. I clip glass/PEI to this. The plate has 6 holes, three are attached to these plungers and the other three have a screw and nut to fasten them.
Image

Installed:
Image

Tested - you can see 2 FSRs have triggered by by finger press (the red LEDs):
Image

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Tonkabot
Printmaster!
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:28 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Tonkabot » Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:14 am

You should use twisted pairs for the FSR wires. It will cut down on noise A LOT. The wires will be picking up all sorts of crap especially if they are widely separated.

Maybe the noise doesn't matter enough, but I am certain the thresholds could be set lower if twisted pairs are used. You can just twist the existing wires, no need for anything fancy. I chuck up one end of the wires into the drill and spin them (slowly!). Also chuck the wires past the connector, it is easy to pull them out of the connector otherwise.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:12 am

Good point, I twisted them on my Kossel install. Its a simple matter to twist these, I'll do that before I button up the install.

Cheers,
Michael

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Repetier 0.92.3 question...

Postby mhackney » Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:56 pm

Ok, so I wanted to try the delta calibration stuff in Repetier. But, Repetier .92 requires the configuration tool in order to get the source. I've mucked around with the config tool in the past so I gave it a go. I now have a working configuration but I had to manually edit the endstop switch configuration in the generated Configuration.h file. I can't find anywhere where these settings can be entered on the online config tool:

Code: Select all

#define min_software_endstop_x true
#define min_software_endstop_y true
#define min_software_endstop_z true
#define max_software_endstop_x false
#define max_software_endstop_y false
#define max_software_endstop_z false


Code: Select all

//set to true to invert the logic of the endstops
#define ENDSTOP_X_MIN_INVERTING true
#define ENDSTOP_Y_MIN_INVERTING true
#define ENDSTOP_Z_MIN_INVERTING true
#define ENDSTOP_X_MAX_INVERTING false
#define ENDSTOP_Y_MAX_INVERTING false
#define ENDSTOP_Z_MAX_INVERTING false


Code: Select all

#define INVERT_X_DIR true
#define INVERT_Y_DIR true
#define INVERT_Z_DIR true


has anyone been able to use the auto generated config tool output as-is without manual editing?

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Nylocke » Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:12 pm

With the .92.3 release they were on the motion tab. Invert motors were with each axis and end stops were down below that. Min end stops aren't really on there from what I know.

.93 is out?

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:59 pm

Opps, sorry, missed a digit - v 0.92.3

I'll check that, thanks.

Now I am having a problem with it recognizing my FSR control board on the Z min endstop. I'm running an X3 Pro like you, using FSRs connected to the little control board and connected to the Z min endstop connector on the board. The controller is working as I see it trigger when I press the bed with a finger. I just configured my son's kossel with RAMBO this weekend and it went smoothly. I must be missing something with the X3 Pro???

The switch input always shows low with a G31 command.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Nylocke » Tue Mar 31, 2015 10:04 pm

I have mine connected to Z Max, my setup is a little backwards though.

Firmware setup is:

Code: Select all

#define ENDSTOP_PULLUP_Z_MAX true
#define ENDSTOP_Z_MAX_INVERTING false
#define MAX_HARDWARE_ENDSTOP_Z true


Electronics, its just connected to the Z Max endstop connector. +, sig, - (from left to right, though my board is "upside down" (USB port on left, bed outputs on right))

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:15 pm

Thanks. How did you get a backwards setup? Do you have endstops at the top but they are configured as min?

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:19 pm

Hey wait, my board is upside down too with USB on left but I have the wiring configured as sig/+/-

That is probably the problem, I need to check the X3 Pro board layout.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:28 pm

So, RAMBo endstop terminals are labeled + | - | S (left to right with USB port facing left). This is very clear. The X3 Pro is labeled + | Z- | - (left to right with USB facing left). Not as clear. For some reason I assumed the Z- was the (-) pin like on the RAMBo. Anyhow, I'll change the pins in the connector tomorrow and give it a go.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Nylocke » Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:35 pm

I had the X3 Pro on my Hackimaker before I got the the MAX. When I installed the X3 Pro in my MAX, I was forgetting that I needed enough wire to reach the max connections, since the Ultimaker uses the min endstops and not the max (or at least mine did). I connected the endstops to the min endstops again, like I was used to and I didn't think about it until I got to firmware.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:55 pm

The wiring was the problem, now it is probing like gangbusters. Now I am trying out the repetier firmware's "Z correction".

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Nylocke » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:01 pm

Tell me how it goes, when I tried it out it seemed kinda jenky, but that was an early .92 version.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:18 pm

It seems to be doing it's thing but the implementation is not all that great:

1) it does not calculate delta arm length and radius, it simply gives a Z height map of a rectangular area of the bed. You can use this to tweak arm and radius but that's a PIA.

2) it only measures a rectangular area, not a circle. So on a delta you are limited to the largest incised square. That's a PIA.

3) I haven't created a Z height map and used that to print yet but the instructions (which are not very well written) say to limit it to the first layer or few for performance reasons. That will result in better first layer stick but distorted out of dimension parts.

Now that I have the FSRs installed and working to my satisfaction, I think my next move is to Smoothie. I just need to finish setting up one of the 2 I got during the sale.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Nylocke
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:43 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby Nylocke » Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:06 pm

And that's why I haven't bothered with it

jlmccuan
Printmaster!
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 11:10 am

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby jlmccuan » Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:44 am

Is there a tutorial on adding FSR's to the Orion and Max? Mostly the process of configuring the firmware and code needed to automatically set Z zero.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5402
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby mhackney » Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:08 am

No and that is primarily due to the poor support for probing deltas with Repetier. It currently does not do auto calibration and the basic leveling is not really going to save you much time. Smoothie is much better - especially with Pilot626's branch.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
forrie
Printmaster!
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:15 am
Location: Crab Nebula

Re: Mhackney's Rostock Max

Postby forrie » Thu Apr 23, 2015 3:50 am

Would you mind sharing the FSR mount stl files? I wouldn't mind trying them out...

Cheers..
I'm not an alcoholic...I'm Australian!


Return to “The Build Zone”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests