Matter control is currently a pain

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
tc3jg
Printmaster!
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Matter control is currently a pain

Post by tc3jg » Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:37 pm

Hello everyone just got my computer what i thought running again and going through the instructions found that instead of repitier we are now using matter control. It is has been giving me nothing but trouble.

Does it not work with the Rostock Max V1 electronics?

I have connected it to my printer successfully but after sending one command if it even works the printer stops comunicating with the Matter control software.

Its a very intermittent connection which is starting to annoy the mess out of me.

For example at first i could just send the "all" movement command and after the arms hit the stop switches the unit would be dead.

now i started the heat bed and extruder temperatures one after the other without moving the machine at all and the unit heats up but the Matter control panel says its at 48.9 degrees and the bed at 26.6 but when you look at the machine its at the target temp of 200 and 50.

this is really been getting on my nerves

thanks in advance

if i need to go back to repitier just let me know. i was excited about this new program but now not so much.

using on a MAC if that helps

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by Eaglezsoar » Thu Nov 12, 2015 2:28 pm

There are a lot of possible troubleshooting tests but let's start at the very beginning and that is the USB cable, have you tried a different one?

tc3jg
Printmaster!
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by tc3jg » Thu Nov 12, 2015 2:55 pm

Eaglezsoar wrote:There are a lot of possible troubleshooting tests but let's start at the very beginning and that is the USB cable, have you tried a different one?


Hello Eaglezoar tried that and used a different extension for my usb and a different Usb cable and issue persisted. when trying to move the machine manually it does nothing and after a few seconds the temperature stops reading in matter control but the printers temperature continues to execute the hotend command.

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by Polygonhell » Thu Nov 12, 2015 3:14 pm

FWIW and I don't use it and haven't tried a very recent version.
The Mac version was really very buggy when I tried it.

tc3jg
Printmaster!
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by tc3jg » Thu Nov 12, 2015 3:41 pm

Ok maybe i got it, it seems once it switched ports its good. i tell yah. I work for apple but this 3d printer is teaching me so much regarding core computer stuff. Now to get this thing back up and running!!

thanks you two, both of you are amazing

tc3jg
Printmaster!
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by tc3jg » Thu Nov 12, 2015 3:47 pm

Crap it did it again, Oh well this sucks i was exited for a new program to run the printer

tc3jg
Printmaster!
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by tc3jg » Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:06 pm

I think I am going to continue to just disconnect and connect until its fully set up and hope that its just a setting that i had left over from before causing it to crap out on me after clicking manual control too much. Stay tuned

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by Captain Starfish » Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:24 pm

FWIW I run MatterControl on my mac (an 09 iMac running Yosemite) with a v1 Max running Repetier 0.91 firmware via a 5m USB cable and don't have any problems at all. So it's possible to get everything right.

tc3jg
Printmaster!
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by tc3jg » Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:41 pm

Captain Starfish wrote:FWIW I run MatterControl on my mac (an 09 iMac running Yosemite) with a v1 Max running Repetier 0.91 firmware via a 5m USB cable and don't have any problems at all. So it's possible to get everything right.


Thanks captain that is pretty much my set up.

attempting now to set it up but I've got an irregularity when running the script for calibration the machine is not going to the Z axis after executing the "Tower Cal" command

it just goes to the center pauses for a second goes to the x then comes back to center then moves to the Y tower pauses for a second then moves back to center.

I pasted and copied the Gcode so not sure how that could have gotten messed up lol its the simple things slowing me down

tc3jg
Printmaster!
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by tc3jg » Thu Nov 12, 2015 4:50 pm

Mistake is can't paste and copy like the instructions say.

Manually need to type it in

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by Captain Starfish » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:53 pm

send a feature request (copypasta functionality in the gcode windows) to support@matterhackers.com, they'll get it in there eventually :)

User avatar
ramai
Printmaster!
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:17 am
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Matter control is currently a pain

Post by ramai » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:31 am

I use a mac, and initially had problems with matter control. I had strange issues like memory leaks, and prints hanging for 5-10 seconds randomly every few minutes. Quitting the program and rebooting my computer seemed to have fixed most of the issues.
Sometimes I can't type in the program, but turning on caps-lock and turning it back off allows me to type in the fields again.Also, I have to click on the program twice to bring the window to the forefront when I am in another program.
I will say having 3 built in slicers is super nice, and getting a text message when the print is done is my favorite part. I think a lot of the bugs are due to the program being ported over to mac from a multi-platform development environment.
I hope you can work your issues out. I don't use repetier too much now.
Rostock MAX V2 with trick trucks, cf arms, prometheus hot end, nimble extruder, berdAir cooling.
Cura slicer, Duet Wifi, iMac

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”