misaligned layers

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
MashinoDesign
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:14 pm

misaligned layers

Post by MashinoDesign » Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:34 pm

Hi Everyone,

I've been working on trying to get my Orion dialed in. When I run a 20m test cube, the bottom layers look fine, but when it starts to build the walls, they look like they are misaligned. This happens no matter what slicer I use. Attached is an image of what I am seeing. Anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks
Tom
Attachments
IMG_20140212_155259_042.jpg

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: misaligned layers

Post by Eaglezsoar » Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:31 pm

What kind of filament and what temperatures are you using?

MashinoDesign
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: misaligned layers

Post by MashinoDesign » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:10 am

Sorry about that. I was in a hurry last night when I made my post. I'm using ABS at 240 degrees.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4924
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: misaligned layers

Post by geneb » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:26 am

Try running the ABS at about 215-220 and see how it works. At 240C, you're nearly to the thermal limit of the PEEK thermal break in the hot end.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

MashinoDesign
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: misaligned layers

Post by MashinoDesign » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:48 am

Ok, I changed my hot end temp to 220 degrees on this one. Still getting the same thing. See picture. This is sliced using 1 peremiter shell. I am going to try this again in Kisslicer to see if it behaves differently. This was sliced using Simplify.
Attachments
IMG_20140213_094510_641.jpg

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: misaligned layers

Post by Orenfor » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:06 am

it's look like slicer problem, try to print another cube, maybe the stl file have errors....
and btw use G28 at the end of the print, i can see that in the right upper corner the printer sfinish the printing and stay at the same point , G28 at the end of the printing will make your all axis go home as it finish the printhing

MashinoDesign
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: misaligned layers

Post by MashinoDesign » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:30 am

So I guess my issue was the slicer that I was using. Kisslicer provided a nice looking test cube. Now on to figure out why my cube is about 1.5mm too small in the x and y direction.
Attachments
IMG_20140213_102808_153.jpg

User avatar
lordbinky
Printmaster!
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:53 am
Location: Tri Cities Washington

Re: misaligned layers

Post by lordbinky » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:06 am

I just adjust my delta rod length by the % off it is to change the scale of the X & Y .

MashinoDesign
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: misaligned layers

Post by MashinoDesign » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:09 am

Can you enlighten me a little bit on this process? My 20mm cube is measuring 18.65mm.

MashinoDesign
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: misaligned layers

Post by MashinoDesign » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:16 am

I took a look at the EEPROM settings. Is Diagonal Rod Length what you are referring to? My rod length is set to 178.00mm, so does that mean that I need to scale mine by approximately 7%? 20/18.65?

User avatar
lordbinky
Printmaster!
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:53 am
Location: Tri Cities Washington

Re: misaligned layers

Post by lordbinky » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:38 am

Yeah, that's the one you change. I don't remember if it is (Real Size/Intended Size)*Diagonal Rod Length or (Intended Size/Real Size)*Rod Length, just write the result for both and if you choose the wrong one it'll get smaller instead of larger :D .

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: misaligned layers

Post by Orenfor » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:44 am

did you check that nozzle high ? did it fix with the EPROM high ?

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4924
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: misaligned layers

Post by geneb » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:47 am

You guys need to be careful when changing things on the Orions. They're calibrated and test prints are run before they ship each one. You should back out any firmware changes you've made and contact support directly for guidance.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
lordbinky
Printmaster!
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:53 am
Location: Tri Cities Washington

Re: misaligned layers

Post by lordbinky » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:38 pm

Woops, wasn't thinking about it being an Orion... Gene's suggestion is definitely the way to go.

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”