The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values.

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values.

Post by Flateric » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:25 pm

The absolute oddest thing just occured after using my print for the entire day.

Started up my 5th print of the day.

And the hotend only moved exactly halfway down.

Check my firmware settings and they have selectively reset themselves to default......or something.

My steps per mm went from 160 to 80, should be 160.

My radius went from 133.789 (very carefully tuned this for hours) to 75.00, should be 133.789.

Acceleration for print and travel went from my previous setup to 2500 and 5000, and I had much different values in here.

My jerk went from 50 to 20.

My tower x y z offsets all reset themselves to zero.

My PID values for the heated bed and hotend are no longer the values I set them as.

I do NOT have the arduino utility even loaded.

I did absolutely not one thing between the end of one print to the start of the next. I was sitting here when the print ended, backed my filament off, put down some new blue painters tape, pressed it down, alcohol wiped it....

Hit print and everything is reset.

Anyone able to tell me how this could happen?

No one else around, this is a total mystery to me in every way shape and form. It simply should not be possible as far as I can tell. If I were reading this I would immediately assume the person typing it must be mistaken, but I can assure I am not. How!!????.....
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

User avatar
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:35 am
Location: Notre Dame area
Contact:

Re: The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values

Post by Jimustanguitar » Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:20 am

Did you make sure to uncheck the "reset after 5th print" box?

Haven't heard that one before, sorry. I found some glitches in Slic3r over the weekend, but not in Repetier. Good luck!

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values

Post by Eaglezsoar » Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:47 am

Is it possible the Eprom somehow got cleared and it came up with the old values?

User avatar
lordbinky
Printmaster!
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:53 am
Location: Tri Cities Washington

Re: The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values

Post by lordbinky » Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:32 pm

Is this the equivalent of a Rambo suicide? Maybe it's just amnesia or it had to supress all it's memories...What ARE you printing?! Poor rambo....

User avatar
lordbinky
Printmaster!
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:53 am
Location: Tri Cities Washington

Re: The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values

Post by lordbinky » Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:11 pm

:o And that radius setting... I'm so jealous!

I'm still not sure about the second decimal much less the third, and I thought I was doing good when I was printing sheets of single layer .05mm square and using the thickness (by looking through it) to judge where my adjustments needed to be made until I had a smooth fairly uniform semi-transparent sheet. I guess I better take it down to .02mm and see how far I'm off ;).

User avatar
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:35 am
Location: Notre Dame area
Contact:

Re: The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values

Post by Jimustanguitar » Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:33 pm

lordbinky wrote:Is this the equivalent of a Rambo suicide?


Every mission is a suicide mission when you're Rambo!

CaptInane
Plasticator
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 6:21 pm

Re: The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values

Post by CaptInane » Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:54 am

I've had the same problem happen to me recently and more than a few times. I haven't been able to pin it down exactly, but I have a bad feeling a previous version of Octoprint running on my RPi caused this memory reset. I'm not sure if it's happened since I updated Octoprint.

The one time I remember for sure, was I was printing (and forgot completely about it) and loaded Octoprint in the browser. It immediately killed the print, as it reset the printer and took control over it (no longer have autoconnect turned on because of that reason). The next print using black ABS turned into a big afro setting on the bed after running an hour with the print height being off by ~167mm.

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: The oddest thing just occured. Repetier reset all values

Post by Flateric » Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:35 pm

I never did resolve this surprise problem, but thankfully it has never occurred again. Now that I have migrated to smoothie I would say it's safely an impossibility now.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”