No Power to Rambo [Solved]

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
noname117
Printmaster!
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:42 pm

No Power to Rambo [Solved]

Post by noname117 » Sat May 04, 2019 11:28 pm

Printer: Rostock Max V2 with He280

I'm think I have a diagnosis for this one but I'm hoping I'm wrong

So I was a few hours into printing a long t-glass print teps set to 240 and 75 when the printer stopped and screen turned off. The only thing that's was still running was the psu fan. I pulled it apart and tested it with a multimeter and get 12v on the connector going into the Rambo, 0 ohms across all the fuses on the board and no lights on anything. I'm guessing it's a dead board.

Is there a more thorough way check this for sure and if I am right about the dead board, anybody got a suggestion on why it failed?

Solution: Testing the fuses in the board caused them to all test fine despite one of them being blown. Thanks to Mac the Knife for pointing this out.
Last edited by noname117 on Tue May 07, 2019 11:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4932
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: No Power to Rambo

Post by geneb » Sun May 05, 2019 6:53 pm

I would carefully check the power input terminal block and make sure it's tight and not discolored. Were you printing via SD card or USB?

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

noname117
Printmaster!
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:42 pm

Re: No Power to Rambo

Post by noname117 » Mon May 06, 2019 1:05 am

geneb wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 6:53 pm
I would carefully check the power input terminal block and make sure it's tight and not discolored. Were you printing via SD card or USB?

g.
Double checked it. 12v across all the screw heads. Also printing via sd

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: No Power to Rambo

Post by Mac The Knife » Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 am

You did remove the fuses from the board when you checked them?
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4932
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: No Power to Rambo

Post by geneb » Mon May 06, 2019 8:23 am

Good point - if you check the fuses in-circuit, you can get a false "good" indication.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

noname117
Printmaster!
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:42 pm

Re: No Power to Rambo

Post by noname117 » Mon May 06, 2019 5:21 pm

Mac The Knife wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 8:13 am
You did remove the fuses from the board when you checked them?
Nope. This was the problem. the top tiny fuse mounted directly left of the power input to the board was blown but read fine when tested in the board. Thanks for the tip. Now I have to figure out why it blew. Could a short in one of the layer fans have blown it?

noname117
Printmaster!
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:42 pm

Re: No Power to Rambo

Post by noname117 » Mon May 06, 2019 5:29 pm

geneb wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 8:23 am
Good point - if you check the fuses in-circuit, you can get a false "good" indication.

g.
Yep. Learned something new today. Testing the fuse in the board made it look fine. Could a short in the layer fan have blown the fuse?

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4932
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: No Power to Rambo

Post by geneb » Tue May 07, 2019 8:41 am

It's certainly possible.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”