Quickie: V4 how to keep the live Z adjustment all the time?

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
DDXdesign
Printmaster!
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:56 am

Quickie: V4 how to keep the live Z adjustment all the time?

Post by DDXdesign » Fri Apr 05, 2019 12:30 am

So after a couple of prints it looks like -0.25mm is where I want my Z adjust. But how do I keep that without having to adjust it during each print?

Thanks!

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4916
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Quickie: V4 how to keep the live Z adjustment all the time?

Post by geneb » Fri Apr 05, 2019 8:03 am

In the Duet web interface, go to Settings, then click the System Editor tab. Click on the "config-override.g" file.
You'll have a line that looks something like this:

Code: Select all

M665 L340.500 R150.120 H542.745 B145.0 X0.052 Y-0.040 Z0.000

(this is from my Artemis)
The "H" field defines the max Z height of your machine, as discovered during the probing process.

Since you want the Z height closer by 0.25, You'll increase that H value by 0.25. If I was doing this to my Artemis, the new H value would be 542.995.

Note that you'll have to re-tweak that H value any time you re-run the probing routine as the system will overwrite the config-override.g file.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

DDXdesign
Printmaster!
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:56 am

Re: Quickie: V4 how to keep the live Z adjustment all the time?

Post by DDXdesign » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:02 pm

Thanks geneb - so once that line is edited, will the Baby Z Steps field on the web interface then go back to 0 or would it just say -0.25 by default when I open it?

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4916
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Quickie: V4 how to keep the live Z adjustment all the time?

Post by geneb » Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:50 am

It'll be zero. The "baby steps" field is transient - once you reboot the Duet, it goes away. (You should power cycle the printer after any changes made to config.g or config-override.g.)


g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: Quickie: V4 how to keep the live Z adjustment all the time?

Post by dc42 » Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:54 pm

The other way to change the Z=0 height is to alter the Z parameter (trigger height) in the G31 command in config.g The advantage of doing it this way is that it will be unaffected by running auto calibration. Increasing the Z parameter (or if it is negative - as with nozzle-contact probes - making it less negative) will move the nozzle closer to the bed.

DDXdesign
Printmaster!
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:56 am

Re: Quickie: V4 how to keep the live Z adjustment all the time?

Post by DDXdesign » Sun Apr 07, 2019 2:02 pm

dc42 wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:54 pm
The other way to change the Z=0 height is to alter the Z parameter (trigger height) in the G31 command in config.g The advantage of doing it this way is that it will be unaffected by running auto calibration. Increasing the Z parameter (or if it is negative - as with nozzle-contact probes - making it less negative) will move the nozzle closer to the bed.
Thanks that is good to know. Just before trying today's batch of prints I reran Probe Autolevel, but that didn't reset the Z steps in the interface. I adjusted it a little more today as I am trying to eliminate corner warping *and* eliminate elephant foot so it's becoming a delicate balancing act.

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”