V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
DDXdesign
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:56 am

V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Post by DDXdesign » Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:51 am

So, when I got my V4 in the mail today (RTP, no special software or firmware or anything), I took the glass off to look at it and get the test wheel off, then put it right back on. Don't know if it was before, but the glass is visibly tilted, a couple mm above the case on one side and flush or slightly below on the other side. SO, once I got it up and running, I went to run a bed mapping macro from the browser control window. The effector dropped toward the bed and over to one side, but then an error message popped up that the Z probe was already triggered, so it wouldn't do the bed map. I did the firstprint benchy test though and it came out pretty good!

Things I noticed, may be relevant?:
- In the control window, the Z probe value is constantly jumping around, even now after it's done the test print. Jumping between 1000 and 750 and all points in between.
- The red LED on the effector was solidly on during the print, is now off with the effector homed.
- The blue LED on the effector flickered some during the print, and is now solidly on when the effector is homed. (oop, it went out.)
- The thermistor block is resting against one of the cooling fans' ducts - just touching, doesn't seem to be deflecting anything.

It seems the V4 is a little light on exposition and documentation for those of us brand new to SMCNC - I dont know what the LEDs are, I don't know how to interpret some of what's happening, etc. But that Benchy, right out of the gate and against a visibly tilted bed, came out smoother than the one from my crappy CR10SPro! The gcode is set to 210 and I got stringing so I'd print it at 200C, but otherwise I don't really have any complaints about the print quality. just want to squash the little issues asap so I can go full steam ahead with this thing!

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4885
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Post by geneb » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:34 am

Make sure the bed isn't resting on the edge of the metal enclosure - there shouldn't be any tilt to it at all.

If you contact support@seemecnc.com you'll get a faster response than here - this isn't an "official" support channel, it's for user-to-user support. :)

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

DDXdesign
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:56 am

Re: V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Post by DDXdesign » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:06 am

Well, I thought there shouldn't be any tilt myself but yeah... EDIT: took the glass off again and either the heatbed underneath is tilted, or one side of the platform sheetmetal is bent up at the edge along the glass. Can't tell. Put the glass back on and measured - The glass is 1.12mm below the platform on one side, 1.42mm *above* on the other side.

I printed the benchy last night and it came out great, but this morning i ran probe autolevel instead of bed mapping and that worked - and now I just sent something to it from Cura and the effector is WAY high up! I live-adjusted the Z down 0.3mm and still not pressing the filament to the bed like the test print did.

EDIT 2: releveled and now am getting what looks like a successful print after live-adjusting the Z to -0.25.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4885
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Post by geneb » Fri Apr 05, 2019 8:06 am

I would contact support@seemecnc.com regarding the bed tilt - it shouldn't be there.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

DDXdesign
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:56 am

Re: V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Post by DDXdesign » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:14 am

geneb wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 8:06 am
I would contact support@seemecnc.com regarding the bed tilt - it shouldn't be there.

g.
I did that and they helped me confirm it's not a tilted bed, just an imprecise folding of the sheetmetal of the case; apparently much like a jeep, the sheetmetal is just there for looks and the frame is all that matters. a spirit level on the glass also shows no tilt, relative to the floor/table at least.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4885
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Post by geneb » Sat Apr 06, 2019 12:45 pm

Ah, that's nice to know. Optical illusions suck. :(

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
rootboy
Printmaster!
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:34 am
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

Re: V4 "Z probe already triggered before move" when trying to check bed map

Post by rootboy » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:32 am

I had nothing but trouble with mine doing this until I did my bed leveling with the heaters turned off. Problem solved.

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”