Stop during Calibration

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
dquattrin
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:47 am

Stop during Calibration

Postby dquattrin » Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:32 am

I started the onboard calibration process on my upgraded Rostock V2. The extruder head lowered to the center, moved to the X strut and stopped. Could not get anything to happen after that. I am open for suggestions as to what happened and what do i need to do.
Thanks

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby Mac The Knife » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:06 pm

Check that the wiring harness is still securely seated in the connector on the hotend,,,,, assuming you "upgraded" to the 280 hotend.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
rootboy
Printmaster!
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:34 am
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby rootboy » Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:58 pm

Can you manually move to that position? And take a peek at the output from the console, did it report anything going on?

dquattrin
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:47 am

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby dquattrin » Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:40 am

The screen locks up with
SeeMeCNC
Rostock MAXV.2
FW Date 20170822
Repetier v 0.92.2
text. I could unplug the printer for about 10 seconds a couple times and the screen showing bed and extruder temperatures would appear. I could then home the printer head fine. I would put in an SD card and try to run the full calibration and it would move to the base and then to the X strut and lock up with the SeeMeCNC screen. Now, I can not even get the temperature screen to appear even after unplugging the printer.

User avatar
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby Xenocrates » Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:47 am

It sounds like an intermittent connection in the hotend whip or connector is causing the printer to reset. Are the wires tight, and when you did the upgrade, did you replace the wires going to hotend? Alternatively, if it's just that it locks up when probing, and not manually, perhaps the code to actually probe isn't active in the V2 configuration, and you didn't get it manually activated cleanly (Repetier is annoying to configure, and it's pretty understandable if it got messed up, as you have a pile of config switches all over the place in it)
Machines:
Rostock Max V2, Duet .8.5, PT100 enabled E3D V6 and volcano, Raymond style enclosure
Automation Technology 60W laser cutter/engraver
1m X-carve router

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
01-10011-11111100001

dquattrin
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:47 am

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby dquattrin » Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:29 am

OK. I made sure that the whip is completely seated and that seems to fix part of the issue. However, I now can not get the Z axis setting to reset. If I move the extruder to the top near the stops and hit Home Extruder it moves down about 55 mm and stops and has a reading of -55. I can adjust the head using the control panel knob but it stops at -100 mm. If I try to get the head to go up using the knob it stops at -52 mm.

If I move the extruder to the glass plate and try to reset the Z axis setting nothing happens to the setting value.

Is this a configuration code problem?

User avatar
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby Xenocrates » Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:29 pm

That sounds like a bad z-height setting. You should try to use something like Mattercontrol to edit the EEPROM parameter for Z-height.
Machines:
Rostock Max V2, Duet .8.5, PT100 enabled E3D V6 and volcano, Raymond style enclosure
Automation Technology 60W laser cutter/engraver
1m X-carve router

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
01-10011-11111100001

dquattrin
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:47 am

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby dquattrin » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:02 am

I tried using Mattercontrol However, while it says that the printer is connected and I have the correct initial screen, I can not get anything to work through Mattercontrol (e.g., homing, x,y,z motors, etc.). I believe I double checked all the connections settings.

User avatar
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby Xenocrates » Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:22 pm

EEPROM isn't largely about connections. It's storing configuration information (In your case, Z height, is what we care about), which while it includes the connection settings, is mostly printer calibration data. Try options, EEPROM settings. You may want to use Show Terminal first, so that you can get a copy/pastable dump for us here on the forums.
Machines:
Rostock Max V2, Duet .8.5, PT100 enabled E3D V6 and volcano, Raymond style enclosure
Automation Technology 60W laser cutter/engraver
1m X-carve router

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
01-10011-11111100001

dquattrin
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:47 am

Re: Stop during Calibration

Postby dquattrin » Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:58 am

This is what I have when I go into MatterControl Options, Eprom Configure. See attached image
Attachments
Mattercontrol image.png


Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests