Stepper motors just stopped working?

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:22 am

Hi Folks - I fired up my Rostock MaxV3 last night to print some stuff after it being off for about a month.... loaded the G-code file, went to print it...

The bed heated up, and then the extruder - and then.... nothing..... when I went to the console (I use octopi) it looked like it was sending the right commands, but there was no movement.

OctoPi had just upgraded, and seemed like it had an issue - so I went and downloaded a brand new version of OctoPi and got it up and running - same issue.

I then went to the menu on the screen of the Rostock itself and went to Advanced->Calibration and tried it that way - again, absolutely no movement from any of the motors.

Any idea what would have gone wrong with it just sitting there or what I can check?

Thanks,

Matt

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby geneb » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:43 am

Check the fuses on the RAMBo. It's going to be one of the micro fuses - I don't recall which one though.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:15 am

Thanks - I see in a picture two small ceramic 5a fuses... I will take the out tonite and test them and let you know! I know the larger car type 15a fuse is good.

Matt

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby geneb » Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:46 am

Keep in mind that you need to remove those fuses to test them - you can get a false "good" if you test them while they're installed.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:23 pm

Fuses did check out - but I replaced them anyways - still no stepper motor action.

Anything else I can check? I doublechecked all the wire harnesses - everything is in tight (and remember, it was just sitting there for about 3 weeks doing nothing when it decided not to work)... everything else seems to work - heated bed, octopi, extruder heating up, etc.

Thanks,

Matt

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby geneb » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:14 am

You might want to check the screw terminals on the power input connector. I'd also check the power supply output voltage.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Sun Aug 19, 2018 10:43 pm

All seems good - I have a note out to matterhackers.com to see if they do any service/support.

Matt

User avatar
rootboy
Printmaster!
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:34 am
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby rootboy » Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:12 am

Sounds like something wonky in the config. Have you tried controlling it from different software?

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:07 am

I usually use octopi - I completely blew it away, and also just tried to home the device (or calibrate it) from the front panel.

User avatar
rootboy
Printmaster!
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:34 am
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby rootboy » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:34 am

Hmmm, I think that it's something in the firmware, which would explain why a fresh install of Octopi wouldn't fix it. What controller does the V3 use, and what firmware (and version) are you running?

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:32 pm

I would have to check - but it is whatever it came with 8 months ago..... and it has been working perfectly fine the entire time - with no change to the firmware...

Do the stepper drivers go out? I see on the rambo mini they talk about a better design with heatsinks to "never have a stepper driver failure again..."?

Matt

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby geneb » Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:28 am

At this point I would contact support.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:20 am

Yup - already have a case open with them.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby geneb » Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:36 am

Please post an update here when it's resolved. I'm curious to see what the issue is.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:58 pm

So - i figured it out ... THIS was weird! I was looking at this picture below to try and figure out if I could somehow test the voltage going out of the RAMBO into the stepper motors... and I noticed over on the right - the - and + for "Motors and Logic" - so I swing the multimeter over there to see if I was getting power, and voila - that was it! the positive terminal had somehow become loose and that wire wasn't making contact anymore.

I am happy - that was driving me crazy! Neither matterhackers nor seemecnc suggested - hey, make sure the power going into the board is all solid. I guess that is such a beginner item they didn't even bother to ask.

There you go! Easy fix!

FIAZ7XBI327MJR1.LARGE.jpg

User avatar
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1532
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby Xenocrates » Sat Aug 25, 2018 5:26 pm

I do believe Geneb mentioned checking it earlier in the thread, but the issue with a loose connection is that it can be intermittent. It's also a bit surprising that it didn't kick something back in octopi, as that should have prevented the board from powering on.
Machines:
Rostock Max V2, Duet .8.5, PT100 enabled E3D V6 and volcano, Raymond style enclosure
Automation Technology 60W laser cutter/engraver
1m X-carve router

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
01-10011-11111100001

mathewbeall
Plasticator
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby mathewbeall » Sat Aug 25, 2018 8:33 pm

Well aren't you absolutely right! I did check the PSU voltages, but totally missed the part where he said to check the jumper block.

Strange indeed - I can only assume it was making enough contact to power the logic of the board, but not enough for the stepper motors.

Matt

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Stepper motors just stopped working?

Postby geneb » Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:13 pm

*looks up, whistles innocently*

:D

I'm glad you finally got it sorted.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects


Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IMBoring25 and 3 guests