Print error I can't seem to fix.

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:16 am

Ok gus/gals, I have a problem that is really giving me a fit and don't know what to do.

To start off I have a V2 Max with the E3dV6 hotend. I have the upgraded 269mm carbon fiber arms. I am also running the Fly struder. Everything else is stock. The print you see here is an example of my problem. The printer starts off just fine then at the same height on each print I get this void in my prints. I have tried both PLA and ABS(this red print is ABS). I even rotated the model on this print and the void stays in the same spot.

I has thought after some troubleshooting and investigating the printer that my cheapskate bearings were going bad because I found that when you moved them up or down you would feel flat spots. So, I ordered and installed the new clear plastic cheapskates and thought that would help. Nope. Still getting this strange void in my prints. Also, before anyone asks it is not the model. I have printed this same model several times and on both of my printers.

Any help would be great.

Gundy



http://imgur.com/a/LInaC
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1370
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Mac The Knife » Sun Sep 04, 2016 11:01 am

Strange,,, I would check to see if the bowden tube is getting bound up when the hot end is in that area.
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Eaglezsoar » Sun Sep 04, 2016 12:37 pm

Mac The Knife had a good suggestion.
I would also ensure that the wiring to the hotend does not open when the Hotend is in this position.
It sure looks like a filament binding problem or an electrical problem but only when the Hotend is in that position.
Best of luck finding that problem and if you find a solution please tell us what it was.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

TwoTone
Printmaster!
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by TwoTone » Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:34 pm

I know it's a long shot, but how are the belt teeth at that position?

User avatar
bvandiepenbos
Printmaster!
Posts: 927
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:25 pm
Location: Goshen, IN
Contact:

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by bvandiepenbos » Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:41 pm

Can you print other things that height?
~*Brian V.

RostockMAX v2 (Stock)
MAX METAL "ShortyMAX"
MAX METAL Rostock MAX Printer Frame
NEMESIS Air Delta v1 & v2 -Aluminum delta printers
Rostock MAX "KITT" - Tri-Force Frame
GRABER i3 "Slim"

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:44 pm

Ok, so I tried a different model and changed out my nozzle assuming maybe it was old and needed replacement, and I cleaned my hobbed gear. What I got you see in the link below. Still failing but it got higher up. I am running ABS at 235 60mm inner walls and 40 outer walls. The vases were printed in spiral vase mode. I included pictures of my hot end. I can'e see the bowden tube being an issue since I have such a short travel distance to the hot end now. Not sure how to tell if the hot end is cutting out really so suggestions would be great.

Also, I did notice that there seems to be a blob building up at the tip of the nozzle as it goes around. I am thinking that at some point this causes the nozzle to jam for a bit causing the fail but I will be darned if I can figure out why this problem has come about. I am trying the print again to see if I can get you a picture of this blob issue.

http://imgur.com/a/IHvNy

Gundy
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:58 pm

I got the webcams listed in my signature set up if you all want to watch ans see if you see anything I am missing. I will adjust the height as the print goes along.
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

nebbian
Printmaster!
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:31 am

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by nebbian » Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:58 pm

I doubt it's temperature related on the hotend, as the hotend wouldn't be able to cool down and heat up again that quickly as the perimeters are being printed.

My money is on bowden tube binding. Is the bowden cable seated properly into the hotend? Can you wiggle the bowden cable as it enters the hotend? What about where the bowden cable is attached to the extruder motor?

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:28 pm

With the new set up there is little to no bowden tube movement. I can replace the bowden tube though to see if that helps. Still trying to figure out why I am getting some blobbing at the tip as well.
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

User avatar
bvandiepenbos
Printmaster!
Posts: 927
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:25 pm
Location: Goshen, IN
Contact:

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by bvandiepenbos » Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:51 pm

What slicer are you using?
I would try a different one.

Is the filament getting caught someplace before it enters extruder, or just as it enters. Maybe as extruder tips a certain way filament gets caught entering crooked.
~*Brian V.

RostockMAX v2 (Stock)
MAX METAL "ShortyMAX"
MAX METAL Rostock MAX Printer Frame
NEMESIS Air Delta v1 & v2 -Aluminum delta printers
Rostock MAX "KITT" - Tri-Force Frame
GRABER i3 "Slim"

User avatar
Tincho85
Printmaster!
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:27 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Tincho85 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:32 am

Do you have some sort of counterweight system? Maybe it's too much weight.
Either way, it won't hurt if you add it.

Is your extruder motor running too hot that can melt the filament? The weird thing is that it continues ok after that part, but worth to check..
Martín S.

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:39 am

I am thinking about taking the fly struder system off and going back to stock to test to see if the fly d
struder system is causing it. It had worked really good for a while but I do wonder if the weight might be the problem.

Web cams are back up and running now, computer restarted on my last night.
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 2:22 pm

Ok, got a picture of what I think is the cause of the voids. The nozzle tip is getting ooze build up. Any ideas why?

http://imgur.com/a/jHS1I

At some point that blob will come off causing a bad spot in the print or it will cause the nozzle to jam, which is what I think is causing the fails.
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Eaglezsoar » Mon Sep 05, 2016 2:58 pm

What are your retraction settings?
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:37 pm

Here is what I have for ABS retraction setting. Also, while I was looking for these I noticed that for some reason my nozzle size was set to .5mm when I have a .4mm nozzle installed. Not sure how this happened unless it did it during the latest update of matter control. Trying another test print real quick to see what happens.

20160907_163156.jpg
Retraction settings


Sorry about the side ways view, not sure why it won't post it right.
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:42 pm

Ok everyone, here is what fixed it. I removed the fly struder system, did a complete re-calibration of my towers and everything seems to be working great. Not sure why the fly struder system started causing a problem other than the weight. I guess I could have a stepper motor that is getting week but without the fly struder system it is working as good as new so I will just leave it off.

Thanks for the help!

Gundy
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Eaglezsoar » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:50 pm

I am glad that you found the problem.
Many are using the fly struder so you may want to try it again sometime in the future.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Gundy1024
Printmaster!
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:14 pm
Location: Norman, OK

Re: Print error I can't seem to fix.

Post by Gundy1024 » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:41 am

Reason I bought and tried the Fly Struder was to see if it would help with stringing and it did not. I may try using it again in the future but for now I will stay where I am. The priunter is producing better print right now than it ever has so why mess with a good thing. :)
Rostock Max V2 - Unnamed as of yet...
Robo 3D R1
One of the two printers can be found streaming at the link below just about every day. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wky8RuNW9TY

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”