Sectioning a STL file

User-Generated tips and tricks for the Rostock Max, Orion, H1.1, or H1 Printers
Post Reply
User avatar
DavidF
Printmaster!
Posts: 779
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:12 pm
Location: Delaware

Sectioning a STL file

Post by DavidF » Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:10 pm

well to quote one of the things I hate "as the title says" ...
What do you guys and gals use when you want to section a stl file for printing? I would love to find a good program for free that is capable of doing this... ;)
http://www.youtube.com/user/aonemarine
Lost pla castings? see me

User avatar
Batteau62
Printmaster!
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:36 pm
Location: Connecticut

Re: Sectioning a STL file

Post by Batteau62 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:40 pm

I use Netfabb basic for this. Look at this tutorial on trimming a flat base. You don't have to do the deleting and repairing part. (Although that comes in handy too)

http://www.3dgeni.us/trimming-objects-w ... dio-basic/

You can just do cuts in XYZ right where you desire using the measured sliders. Then select an area of the object. Right click and export the selected section as a discreet .stl

Hope this helps :)
-"Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool."
-"As soon as you make something fool proof...along comes an idiot."
-"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." ~Thomas Edison

User avatar
bvandiepenbos
Printmaster!
Posts: 927
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:25 pm
Location: Goshen, IN
Contact:

Re: Sectioning a STL file

Post by bvandiepenbos » Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:56 pm

Netfabb basic is what I use for cutting up .stl files.
Works great.
~*Brian V.

RostockMAX v2 (Stock)
MAX METAL "ShortyMAX"
MAX METAL Rostock MAX Printer Frame
NEMESIS Air Delta v1 & v2 -Aluminum delta printers
Rostock MAX "KITT" - Tri-Force Frame
GRABER i3 "Slim"

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: Sectioning a STL file

Post by Captain Starfish » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:04 pm

I prefer to add locating pins, blocks or wedges to make the final part a lot more solid.

So I would (first choice) do the slicing in the modelling tool, then export multiple STLs from that.

It looks like you can probably import an existing file and do this (add pads/pockets to faces) with FreeCAD but I haven't tried it yet.

User avatar
DavidF
Printmaster!
Posts: 779
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:12 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: Sectioning a STL file

Post by DavidF » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:05 pm

Well crap!! I was told basic wouldnt do a cut, but I just tried it and sure enough it sliced it just fine. I feel like such a dope!
Then again this also means I may have been lied to..... not happy about that, but will give benefit of the doubt for now.
http://www.youtube.com/user/aonemarine
Lost pla castings? see me

Post Reply

Return to “General Tips 'N Tricks”