Z-Probe for Max V2? BLTouch or another option?

User-Generated tips and tricks for the Rostock Max, Orion, H1.1, or H1 Printers
buggy
Printmaster!
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:05 pm
Location: everett, washington

Z-Probe for Max V2? BLTouch or another option?

Postby buggy » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:39 pm

Hey guys so ive been using my max v2 for about 2 years now and one thing that I have always struggled with is getting a level bed allowing me to utilize the full print area. My friend recently bought a Tivo little monster which has a BLTouch already installed which got me wondering if its worth it/supported on the max v2 with repetier .92 firmware.

Ive searched the forums a bit but havent really found any information about someone installing it and using it. I currently have a e3d v6 and a 713maker mount with the intentions of purchasing a 713maker aluminum effector plate soon. I dont really want to change out my hotend set up to get this function with the h280 hotend so is the bltouch compatible with repetier firmware or is there a better zprobe option for bed leveling on the rostock max v2 with repetier firmware on the stock rambo board. Any advise or direction would be greatly appreciated as i would love to get the max out of my max, pun intended lol

Thanks guys

User avatar
DeltaCon
Printmaster!
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Wessem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Z-Probe for Max V2? BLTouch or another option?

Postby DeltaCon » Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:05 am

Depends on what you want really. I am not familiar with the BLTouch, but know that Repetier does not really do any auto calibration (besides the SeeMe branch that only supports the Boink-a-Probe Caliwhacker (not my invention!) ;-) The best way to do calibrations is using the tip of the nozzle as probe. An FSR system will do that. There is a really nice system using a strain gauge in the effector, but it needs tinkering to get fitted to a Rostock (https://www.duet3d.com/DeltaSmartEffector). By far the easiest way for now is going for FSR (https://www.ultibots.com/fsr-kit). It fits to a standard Rambo board, and it helps doing manual calibrations, because you can accurately read-out values and put them in http://escher3d.com/pages/wizards/wizarddelta.php. But as said, Rambo does not offer auto-calibration.

But ultimately you will want auto-calibration. You will have to invest in a Duet, or wait for SeeMe's own 32-bit Rambo. Although I am not sure if it will ever be sold, because SeeMe just recently started selling Duet's too...
I am DeltaCon, I have a delta, my name is Con, I am definitely PRO delta! ;-)
Rostock V2 / E3D V6 / Raymond Style Heatchamber on the way!

PS.: Sorry for the avatar, that's my other hobby!

User avatar
Renha
Printmaster!
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:18 am
Location: Balashikha, Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: Z-Probe for Max V2? BLTouch or another option?

Postby Renha » Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:48 am

so sad it looks like it's for magballs and e3d hotend only
3D printing is magic!

Sorry my engrish :-/ you could PM me in Russian.

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: Z-Probe for Max V2? BLTouch or another option?

Postby dc42 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:50 am

Renha wrote:so sad it looks like it's for magballs and e3d hotend only

The Duet3D effector was designed for magballs and an E3D hot end with a modified heatsink (made by E3D), but that doesn't mean it can't be adapted for other hardware. I expect it would be easy to print an adaptor plate that you attach between the SeeMeCNC dumbells and the effector. For mounting the hot end, the effector has a 12mm diameter central hole.

It is open source hardware, so you are also at liberty to make your own variation of it with whatever mounting arrangements you want.

buggy
Printmaster!
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:05 pm
Location: everett, washington

Re: Z-Probe for Max V2? BLTouch or another option?

Postby buggy » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:09 am

Thank you all for the fast response! I will definitely look more into the fsr system. Looks like the duet might just end up on my christmas list lol

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4707
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Z-Probe for Max V2? BLTouch or another option?

Postby geneb » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:27 am

"Boink-a-Probe Caliwacker". Made my day. :D

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects


Return to “General Tips 'N Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests