Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to know?

Talk about KISSlicer software here (http://kisslicer.com)
User avatar
0110-m-p
Printmaster!
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to know?

Postby 0110-m-p » Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:57 am

Because I have gotten tired of the crazy path that Slic3r decides to take sometimes (esp. on the first layer) and I have heard KISSlicer is better at this I'm going to give a try this weekend. I'm not looking for a tutorial or anything, just curious if there is any expert advice that can be given ahead of time to make my transition a little easier. Thanks!
Current Machines || Rostock Max (V1) | V3DR ||
Previous Machines || Flashforge Creator Pro ||

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby Flateric » Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:11 am

I have heard that he has restarted development somewhat, although I have yet to see any substantial gains in this area to speak of. For now I would not go for the pro version and just go for the free version. Until regular updates begin to start again.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

User avatar
Batteau62
Printmaster!
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:36 pm
Location: Connecticut

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby Batteau62 » Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:16 am

KISS is my go to slicer. I recommend getting MHackney's profiles here: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1452 They will get you started. You can tweak as you go. Development is slooooow! But I still purchased a pro key because I like it so much. I really hope it continues. Have fun with it...and Happy Printing :!: :D
-"Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool."
-"As soon as you make something fool proof...along comes an idiot."
-"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." ~Thomas Edison

User avatar
0110-m-p
Printmaster!
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby 0110-m-p » Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:41 pm

Thanks, I'm finishing up my bed leveling tonight and will be trying out my new IC3D ABS with Slic3r since I know what to expect. Once I get good parts with Slic3r I take the same STL and give it a go in KISSlicer and see what I can come up with.
Current Machines || Rostock Max (V1) | V3DR ||
Previous Machines || Flashforge Creator Pro ||

bdjohns1
Printmaster!
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:50 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby bdjohns1 » Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:06 pm

Flateric wrote:I have heard that he has restarted development somewhat, although I have yet to see any substantial gains in this area to speak of. For now I would not go for the pro version and just go for the free version. Until regular updates begin to start again.


Unless you need multiple extruder support, that's about the only reason you have to have a pro key. There's one other feature (crowning path threshholds) that's unlocked with Pro, and it's not a showstopper.

He has added in some missing features (like actually printing a brim on parts to stick them to the bed better) in the beta releases.

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby Polygonhell » Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:39 pm

I paid for it because I used it, and I like to support developers, not the "pro features".
The other omitted feature in the free version is the ability to plate multiple parts.

User avatar
McSlappy
Printmaster!
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby McSlappy » Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:36 pm

It still is the best slicer that I've found despite it's slow development table. Ever since he added the brim feature I've had far less reason to ever use the others at all.

Tips... Check de-string and wipe and use 'loops go from inside to perimeter' if you're doing something to look nice rather than be dimensionally accurate.
I loved my Rostock so much I now sell them in Oz :)

User avatar
0110-m-p
Printmaster!
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby 0110-m-p » Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:48 am

Thanks for the tips everyone! I finally got my printer recalibrated and printing pretty in Slic3r tonight. I started playing with the KISSlicer software and really like it even if it is a little less pretty. Going to give it a go tomorrow.
Current Machines || Rostock Max (V1) | V3DR ||
Previous Machines || Flashforge Creator Pro ||

User avatar
0110-m-p
Printmaster!
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby 0110-m-p » Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:49 pm

So first off...KISSlicer is awesome. Went ahead and bought the Pro key to support the dev and to be able to print multiple objects.

Only problem I'm having is that it extrudes a huge blob of material at the beginning of the print based on the prime value. So to eliminate this I have to manually change the code to set the initial extruder value (E92) closer to what it want during the first move. Has anyone else experienced this and is there a way to fix this in the slicer settings?

Anyway...here are a few pictures of my first prints with my 0.4mm nozzle E3D V5 hot end.

0.15mms layer height, 25% infill...love the rounded infill option

Image

0.15mm layers, 33% infill

Image

0.2mm layers, 100% infill, ultra fine supports

Image

Image
Current Machines || Rostock Max (V1) | V3DR ||
Previous Machines || Flashforge Creator Pro ||

DGBK
Printmaster!
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 10:03 pm

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby DGBK » Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:24 am

0110-m-p wrote:Only problem I'm having is that it extrudes a huge blob of material at the beginning of the print based on the prime value.]


I just switched to KISSSlicer two days ago, and I was reading through the forums to see if this question had been answered. Did you ever find a fix? The only place I have substantial blobbing is the beginning point of the bottom layer where it jumps from the skirt to the model.

It just seems to either extrude too much right at that spot or doesn't implement de-stringing on that jump.

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby Polygonhell » Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:58 am

You need to add a G92 E0 to the start up microcode, I would assume MHackneys configuration files referenced here have something like it added.
Kiss' configuration relies pretty heavily on pieces of uCode inserted before and after the print, before and after extruder changes etc, and the defaults aren't very rational for our printers.

User avatar
KAS
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby KAS » Wed Jan 27, 2016 4:28 pm

Some reason the kiss interface reminds me of using a lynx browser in the 90's :)

DGBK
Printmaster!
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 10:03 pm

Re: Thinking of giving KISSlicer a try...what do I need to k

Postby DGBK » Wed Jan 27, 2016 8:29 pm

Polygonhell wrote:You need to add a G92 E0 to the start up microcode, I would assume MHackneys configuration files referenced here have something like it added.
Kiss' configuration relies pretty heavily on pieces of uCode inserted before and after the print, before and after extruder changes etc, and the defaults aren't very rational for our printers.


Would I add that in the the "printer G-code" tab under "prefix"?


Return to “KISSlicer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests