mhackney's KISS settings

Talk about KISSlicer software here (http://kisslicer.com)
User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

mhackney's KISS settings

Postby mhackney » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:53 pm

I get A LOT of PMs and emails asking for my KISSlicer settings, so to make it easier for me, here is my current set as of today.

Note that I do not use supports currently so that is just the default that comes with KISS.
Attachments
_supports.ini
(216 Bytes) Downloaded 1415 times
_styles.ini
(3.14 KiB) Downloaded 1515 times
_printers.ini
(2.85 KiB) Downloaded 1640 times
_materials.ini
(5.95 KiB) Downloaded 1463 times

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
cambo3d
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:03 pm
Location: Florida

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby cambo3d » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:53 pm

thanks! Is this a general all around print setting?
Last edited by cambo3d on Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

KISS Rostock Max Bed STL Model

Postby mhackney » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:56 pm

I've posted this before, but may as well keep it with my KISS settings. You can load this STL model from KISS' Printer->Hardware tab. KISS will then show the round build surface for the Rostock MAX.
Attachments
RostockBuildPlatform.stl
(12.39 KiB) Downloaded 759 times

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby mhackney » Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:00 pm

This has scads of materials - lots of colors of PLA, lots of colors of ABS, Taulman Nylon, Laywood D3

It also has styles for various infills, a vase style, a bracelet (stretchlet) style with various layer heights for a .5mm nozzle, a High Res style for .5mm with 50micron layers, a .7mm nozzle style, etc.

Printer config for Rostock MAX.

A basic working set.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby Flateric » Sun Mar 31, 2013 3:37 am

Thanks very much, I took opted for the paid version of this yesterday. The paths are just so much higher quality it is undeniable. We'll see if the new Slicer can keep up with it.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

User avatar
MorbidSlowBurn
Printmaster!
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby MorbidSlowBurn » Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:11 am

Thank you for the settings. I know I have to tweak to my usage.

I noticed on the ABS settings you have different destring values for different colors. Did you adjust them individually to ge the best results?

User avatar
foshon
Printmaster!
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: Just to the right of SeeMeCNC

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby foshon » Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:50 am

mhackney wrote:This has scads of materials - lots of colors of PLA, lots of colors of ABS, Taulman Nylon, Laywood D3

It also has styles for various infills, a vase style, a bracelet (stretchlet) style with various layer heights for a .5mm nozzle, a High Res style for .5mm with 50micron layers, a .7mm nozzle style, etc.

Printer config for Rostock MAX.

A basic working set.


I think you may have forgotten the link.
Purple = sarcasm

Please do a board search before posting your question, many have been answered with very time consuming detail already.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby mhackney » Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:05 am

@foshon - the config files are attached to the first post, do you not see them? I know others have since they've been downloaded multiple times.

@MorbidSlowBurn - Yes, I do tweak each filament individually to get the best results. I'll start with a similar material profile, test to get the best extrusion temperature and then do a simple print and adjust other settings. Maybe a little persnickety, but hey, I get pretty nice prints!

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby Polygonhell » Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:10 pm

I should warn people that there is an issue with kisslicer ini files not being compatible between versions, i.e. the Windows version won't cleanly load the Mac versions ini files.
At least this used to be the case.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby mhackney » Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:14 pm

I was not aware of this, thanks Polygonhell. I use the Mac OSX release and this is the 1.1 RC2 version of KISS.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
MorbidSlowBurn
Printmaster!
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby MorbidSlowBurn » Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:17 pm

I have the win64 1.1 RC2 and they appeared to have imported properly.

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby Polygonhell » Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:19 pm

MorbidSlowBurn wrote:I have the win64 1.1 RC2 and they appeared to have imported properly.


He may have fixed the bug I just know Sublime had issues publishing settings with the released version, they appear to import but they don't work properly. I'd assume if you see reasonable values in the boxes they are probably fine.

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby Flateric » Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:55 pm

They do not import at all for me under win7 64.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

User avatar
MorbidSlowBurn
Printmaster!
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby MorbidSlowBurn » Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:48 pm

@flateric- I took my original ini files and moved them to a backup folder. I then placed mhackney's files in my KISSlicer folder. Opened it up and the only thing I had to fix was my build platform STL location. How did you try to import? This was on the latest release candidate (RC2)

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 5411
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby mhackney » Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:54 pm

KISS does not have an import command, you just put the files in the same folder with KISS as MorbidSlowBurn describes.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

jesse
Printmaster!
Posts: 418
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby jesse » Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:17 pm

Does anyone know how to rotate a part in KISSlicer or in general?

It's stuck sideways.

Image

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby Flateric » Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:17 pm

Ok, I'll give that a shot. I am a registered pro user, so I believe we are using the same version but I will triple check that for sure.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby Flateric » Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:20 pm

jesse wrote:Does anyone know how to rotate a part in KISSlicer or in general?

It's stuck sideways.

Image


Yup, go over to the right side of the screen and right click on the objects tiny picture and you will see a menu/submenu called transform axis.

In that submenu just select Y-up, or X-up and that should do the trick.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

User avatar
MorbidSlowBurn
Printmaster!
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby MorbidSlowBurn » Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:26 pm

Flateric posted as I was getting a screen cap. As he said right click to get the menus.

Kisslicer menu.png

User avatar
Flateric
Printmaster!
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby Flateric » Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:30 pm

I'm clearly at the root of my being unable to access the new settings. I select the drop down in the settings box but nothing else is ever there for selection.

I'm sure its me.

The only selectable drop down is called, sample support and it's already picked.

**Derp, basic basic fail on my part, I had the program open on a different desktop which I suppose made the files in use and I couldn't see till I closed and reloaded, sorry.
"Now you see why evil will always triumph! Because good is dumb." - Spaceballs

jesse
Printmaster!
Posts: 418
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby jesse » Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:14 pm

Thanks. I registered with the KISSlicer forum and downloaded version 1.1.0.

Bill Havins
Printmaster!
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:46 pm
Location: Abilene, Texas
Contact:

Re: KISS Rostock Max Bed STL Model

Postby Bill Havins » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:02 pm

mhackney wrote:I've posted this before, but may as well keep it with my KISS settings. You can load this STL model from KISS' Printer->Hardware tab. KISS will then show the round build surface for the Rostock MAX.


What version of KISSlicer are you doing this in? There is not a Printer -> Hardware tab or icon that I can find in the Windows XP version of v1.0.9.7.

Thanks!

Bill

EDIT: Well, (insert blush, here) I downloaded 1.1.0.8 and guess what I found?! Thanks, Mhackney! This slicer works very well and produces very nice infill (unlike the big gaps in Slic3r).
"So many windmills, so little time." - Don Quixote

User avatar
foshon
Printmaster!
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: Just to the right of SeeMeCNC

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby foshon » Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:25 pm

mhackney wrote:@foshon - the config files are attached to the first post, do you not see them? I know others have since they've been downloaded multiple times.

@MorbidSlowBurn - Yes, I do tweak each filament individually to get the best results. I'll start with a similar material profile, test to get the best extrusion temperature and then do a simple print and adjust other settings. Maybe a little persnickety, but hey, I get pretty nice prints!




No I did see the files. I read your description later and thought you were uploading more.
Purple = sarcasm

Please do a board search before posting your question, many have been answered with very time consuming detail already.

harley573
Printmaster!
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:53 pm

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby harley573 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:47 pm

Leave it to me to somehow have a completely different set of choices from everyone else. Any ideas about why I don't have the option to "transform axes"?
Attachments
No Transform Axes.jpg

User avatar
MorbidSlowBurn
Printmaster!
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: mhackney's KISS settings

Postby MorbidSlowBurn » Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:28 pm

What OS and Version are you running? Not sure if it will have an effect, but have you set up the printer settings in KISSlicer yet?


Return to “KISSlicer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest