print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

A place to talk about slic3r software (http://slic3r.org)
ahgu
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:48 am

print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby ahgu » Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:07 am

When printing multiple of the same item, the software jumps around, is there a way I can tell it to finish one part first and then jump to the second one , then third one?
I don't want it to jump to 2nd one just for a small line.

User avatar
Renha
Printmaster!
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:18 am
Location: Balashikha, Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Renha » Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:55 am

i dont know right solution, but at least you could prepare multiple gcode files with objects placed where they wouldn't be destroyed by the hot end when it moving around, but it isn't trivial. Same for software: i dont think anybody have such complicated algorhitm realised. If i'll join slic3r "team", i will look closer at that problem, but it would take months and years =)
3D printing is magic!

Sorry my engrish :-/ you could PM me in Russian.

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:13 pm

ahgu wrote:When printing multiple of the same item, the software jumps around, is there a way I can tell it to finish one part first and then jump to the second one , then third one?
I don't want it to jump to 2nd one just for a small line.


What you want to do is called sequential printing and is discussed here: http://manual.slic3r.org/SequentialPrinting.html
It is found under output options if more than one item is loaded. You have to make sure that the head does not hit the other
items when starting to print the new items.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

ahgu
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:48 am

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby ahgu » Fri May 02, 2014 11:23 am

How do I set it up? I copied the same items twice on the "object Placement", but that did not help. I get an impression that I need two separate g-code files and combine them manually?
Could you give a simple example?
I am using Rpetier-host with slic3r.


thank you

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Fri May 02, 2014 12:48 pm

ahgu wrote:How do I set it up? I copied the same items twice on the "object Placement", but that did not help. I get an impression that I need two separate g-code files and combine them manually?
Could you give a simple example?
I am using Rpetier-host with slic3r.


thank you

You add them to the plate then go to output options and check the little box that says sequential printing as indicated in the page I referred to.
That's really all there is too it.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

ahgu
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:48 am

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby ahgu » Fri May 02, 2014 9:23 pm

How do I add duplicate items? I did copy on the placement , but did not notice anything different after I enable the sequential.

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Fri May 02, 2014 9:49 pm

ahgu wrote:How do I add duplicate items? I did copy on the placement , but did not notice anything different after I enable the sequential.

If you want to add duplicate items then simply add the same items more than once. You are not going to notice anything different until you start to print.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

ahgu
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:48 am

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby ahgu » Fri May 02, 2014 10:06 pm

I added the same stl twice, gave it some spacing, goto print, show one layer only, it still shows going back and forth.
see picture.
Attachments
test.jpg

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Sat May 03, 2014 9:20 am

If you have the sequential printing box checked, try the print irregardless of what the layers show.
Slic3R is full of "bugs" and I would try the actual print and see if it does it sequentially, if not you can stop the print before you waste filament.
That sequential print box is the only way I know of to tell Slic3R to print sequentially.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

ahgu
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:48 am

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby ahgu » Sat May 03, 2014 10:02 am

Tried printing, no difference, it still go over to the other one to drop something small and then come back.

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Sat May 03, 2014 10:17 am

ahgu wrote:Tried printing, no difference, it still go over to the other one to drop something small and then come back.

What version of Repetier Host are you running or are you running a stand alone Slic3R?
Just looking for version numbers.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

ahgu
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:48 am

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby ahgu » Sat May 03, 2014 5:20 pm

repetier-host : V0.95F
slic3r comes with it. Version 1.0.0RC3

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Sat May 03, 2014 7:33 pm

ahgu wrote:repetier-host : V0.95F
slic3r comes with it. Version 1.0.0RC3

There is nothing wrong with the versions you have that I know of.
I am asking other users who may be reading this if you have experienced Slicr3R not doing sequential printing even with the sequential printing box checked.
If any of you have any experience with this could you please respond.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

ahgu
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:48 am

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby ahgu » Thu May 08, 2014 5:35 pm

Have you tried something simple and get the same result?

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Thu May 08, 2014 5:50 pm

ahgu wrote:Have you tried something simple and get the same result?

Looks like a bug in the software, see this link: http://www.soliforum.com/topic/5037/rep ... ing-issue/
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

shapeshifter
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:08 pm
Location: Somewhere out there.

Re: print multiple (duplicate) items, how to do one by one?

Postby shapeshifter » Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:57 pm

I am facing the same issue but it looks like it's slic3r and repetier not talking properly, apparently it works if you open slic3r separately and just slice in that not via repetier... I'll try it later and let you know if it works... Here's the GitHub link to the issue:
https://github.com/repetier/Repetier-Host/issues/307


Return to “Slic3r”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest