slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code" ste

A place to talk about slic3r software (http://slic3r.org)
vandmaker
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:46 pm
Location: Goshen, IN
Contact:

slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code" ste

Postby vandmaker » Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:15 am

has anyone been experiencing problems with slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code" step? I am having this issue on two different computers with different models. the other steps take 1min 15sec then it just sits there.

User avatar
DavidF
Printmaster!
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:12 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby DavidF » Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:54 am

Try waiting, and waiting, and waiting :D
http://www.youtube.com/user/aonemarine
Lost pla castings? see me

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Eaglezsoar » Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:19 am

vandmaker wrote:has anyone been experiencing problems with slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code" step? I am having this issue on two different computers with different models. the other steps take 1min 15sec then it just sits there.

You don't say what version of Slic3r you are using but if the same version is doing the same on two different computers, I would try a different version to see if it
does the same. The current and older versions are located at http://dl.slic3r.org/win/old/
Please let us know if changing to a different version resolved the problem.

vandmaker
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:46 pm
Location: Goshen, IN
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby vandmaker » Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:25 am

I am using slic3r version 1.0.0RC2 on both computers, one is really old XP machine the other is a really fast win7 machine. it just sits there for hours and hours!

User avatar
DavidF
Printmaster!
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:12 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby DavidF » Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:06 pm

0ne of my larger files too 1 hr and 15 minutes to load...hours and hours sounds like there is something going on...
is it a complex file?? can you share it so we can try loading it?
http://www.youtube.com/user/aonemarine
Lost pla castings? see me

vandmaker
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:46 pm
Location: Goshen, IN
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby vandmaker » Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:23 pm

2 hours and 23 min later.... it finished!! here is the file for the curious ones.
Attachments
raft8x10.STL
(561.9 KiB) Downloaded 114 times

User avatar
DavidF
Printmaster!
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:12 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby DavidF » Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:28 pm

vandmaker wrote:2 hours and 23 min later.... it finished!! here is the file for the curious ones.


THATS ONE BIG RAFT!!!!!! For the printer any ways....

Oh BTW it sliced in cura in less then a minute LOL
http://www.youtube.com/user/aonemarine
Lost pla castings? see me

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Eaglezsoar » Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:05 pm

DavidF wrote:
vandmaker wrote:2 hours and 23 min later.... it finished!! here is the file for the curious ones.


THATS ONE BIG RAFT!!!!!! For the printer any ways....

Oh BTW it sliced in cura in less then a minute LOL

It sounds as though vandmaker should give Cura a try, at least for that part. You might like it well enough to keep it around.

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 959
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Captain Starfish » Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:32 pm

Does it occasionally on the Repetier Host loaded version on my Mac (latest Repetier) too.

Consistent for a given STL file, then another STL file of similar complexity blasts through in a few seconds. I seem to recall something about a dodgy file lock somewhere.

vandmaker
Plasticator
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:46 pm
Location: Goshen, IN
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby vandmaker » Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:17 am

you think that is big the real thing is 8'x10' and weighs over 400 lbs! this is a 1:10 scale model of the real thing, we rotational mold it in one piece where i work. I am just trying to make a salesman sample for them.
I guess i better start using Cura (I already have it installed) just need to become familiar with it.

User avatar
McSlappy
Printmaster!
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby McSlappy » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:49 am

Ever since upgrading to 0.91 slic3r never seems to finish. It's taking for-freaking-ever on a single drink coaster. The export g-code is the spot it's having trouble at. It's driving me crazy, any ideas?

Here's what I'm printing
http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:115150

The Kirby one..

I'm not even sure which version of slic3r I'm using, whichever was bundled with repetier 0.91
I loved my Rostock so much I now sell them in Oz :)

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Eaglezsoar » Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:32 am

The latest Repetier Host is .095F perhaps downloading and trying it could resolve your problem.
Not saying it will but it's worth a shot.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby geneb » Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:47 am

Slic3r is at 1.0 right now - RC1 or RC2 is included with 0.95F of rep host. I'm not sure which though.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
McSlappy
Printmaster!
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby McSlappy » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:05 am

Eaglezsoar wrote:The latest Repetier Host is .095F perhaps downloading and trying it could resolve your problem.
Not saying it will but it's worth a shot.


Oh perhaps! Will do.

I downloaded and installed slic3r RC3, but it's still bloody slow... I'll see how the latest repetier goes.
I loved my Rostock so much I now sell them in Oz :)

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby geneb » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:38 am

McSlappy, did you make sure to tell Slic3r how many cores your CPU has? If you've got more than one, Slic3r can use them all. You'll see a dramatic speed improvement.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
McSlappy
Printmaster!
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby McSlappy » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:11 pm

I did end up just downgrading and havn't looked back... I'll wait till they sort out speed issues. I can handle fewer features for a 10x speed improvement.

I have 2 cores, and it's set to be use them both :/
I loved my Rostock so much I now sell them in Oz :)

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Eaglezsoar » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:43 pm

McSlappy wrote:I did end up just downgrading and havn't looked back... I'll wait till they sort out speed issues. I can handle fewer features for a 10x speed improvement.

I have 2 cores, and it's set to be use them both :/

I have also installed the Repetier-host 0.90C on my 4 core computer and have experienced a faster throughput on the copying of the GCode file plus I seem to get the added
benefit on not having as many strings when using PLA as the newer ones seem to generate more of the strings using the same settings. I intend to stay at this version as it
just plain works better. Thanks for the tip!

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby geneb » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:05 am

Eagle, if you're using Repetier to transfer files to the sd card, you'd be better served by getting a USB SD card reader/writer.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Eaglezsoar » Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:07 am

geneb wrote:Eagle, if you're using Repetier to transfer files to the sd card, you'd be better served by getting a USB SD card reader/writer.

g.

No, I am using an onboard card reader/writer to write the GCode to the cards. The only time I run into problems is with the last line of the Cura GCode where they stick in all
of that jibberish that Repetier does not like. If I leave that last line in I get the Orion going spastic when it reads it. If I take out the line using Notepad then the Orion refuses to
read the file and just displays read error on the LCD. I cannot understand why Cura sticks in that gibberish as the last line of the GCode it produces.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby geneb » Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:14 am

Eaglezsoar wrote:
geneb wrote:Eagle, if you're using Repetier to transfer files to the sd card, you'd be better served by getting a USB SD card reader/writer.

g.

No, I am using an onboard card reader/writer to write the GCode to the cards. The only time I run into problems is with the last line of the Cura GCode where they stick in all
of that jibberish that Repetier does not like. If I leave that last line in I get the Orion going spastic when it reads it. If I take out the line using Notepad then the Orion refuses to
read the file and just displays read error on the LCD. I cannot understand why Cura sticks in that gibberish as the last line of the GCode it produces.


That is very, very weird. It sounds to me Notepad is screwing with the file when you edit it. Can you try editing the file with Notepad++ (it's a free, open source text editor that's pretty neat) and see if the Orion still throws a fit over the file?

tnx.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Eaglezsoar » Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:50 am

I will try the Notepad ++ and report back the results. Might be a few days though, all my stuff is upstairs and the old back is acting up.
It is hell getting old but you youngsters wouldn't know that.....Yet.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4687
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby geneb » Mon Mar 10, 2014 11:45 am

That's one of the reasons I made sure when we moved, we got a single story house. :D

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby Eaglezsoar » Mon Mar 10, 2014 11:53 am

geneb wrote:That's one of the reasons I made sure when we moved, we got a single story house. :D

g.

Probably the wisest move you have done in your life. As you get older, two story houses suck. But mine is paid for so unless a find a great deal, (unlikely) I will stay put.
Retirement is tough enough without adding a mortgage payment.

User avatar
analog_banana
Printmaster!
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:53 am
Location: London, England

Re: slic3r hanging up when it gets to the "exporting g-code"

Postby analog_banana » Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:54 am

If you are really bored waiting for slic3r to slice and you think it may have hung you can do this:

select "show work directory" from the File menu of Repetier (alt+w)

look at the file size of "composition.gcode" (assuming you have the windows folder set to view "details")
Keep pressing f5 to refresh, and you should see the file size gradually increasing - then you know that the gcode to create your print is actually being written.

I have occasionally thought a big file has hung, but have used this technique to reassure myself that something is happenning.

ALSO! Slic3r says that leaving "Avoid Crossing Perimeters" checked in the "Layers and Perimeters" field of slic3r's Print Settings can slow down gcode creation - I agree, I think it does on big files
Ho Hum...
Rostock Max MDF Kit purchased from Creative Machines UK April 2013
RAMPS 1.4
EZStrruder
SeeMeCNC Bowden Hotend V1
Onyx
Fware: Repetier 0.91
Sware: Repetier-Host V0.95D


Return to “Slic3r”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest