Page 1 of 1

How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:01 pm
by Jimustanguitar
I've read in several places that people are dissatisfied with how long Slic3r takes, but I don't really know how long a "long time" is... Is it uncommon for certain parts to take several minutes?

The .5mm test cube takes me about 1 minute to slice. Other small things take 2 or 3. Complex things like a stretchlet ( http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:13505 ) take 90 minutes.

Is this right?

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Sun May 12, 2013 2:18 pm
by 2jayzman
I use Kisslicer and have one or two times that it has taken 10 minutes to slice. On those times my printer freaked out and had to shut down and reboot my laptop. Other then that it takes 2 minutes tops. Even are large slices. Might need to reoad your software.

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Sun May 12, 2013 3:31 pm
by Polygonhell
It's been a while since I used Slic3r, but the test cube should slice very quickly on a reasonably fast machine.
The time depends on the complexity of the model, but I've seen models take over an hour to slice.

IME KisSlicer is much faster for most models, though I've seen it have issues on some models.
It's not a simple problem, even just generating slices isn't particularly easy to do in a numerically stable way, and the polygon offset problem is "hard" enough in the general case to have a large number of research papers written about it. I believe KisSlicer solves the latter with bitmap operations, which is probably why it doesn't very often run into degenerate cases.

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 6:34 pm
by bretsquire
Is there some place other than the repetier log window that shows if slic3r is still processing?

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:00 am
by Orenfor
well, it take me sometimes to much time, i try to slice the owl and after 1 hour the slic3r just broke up and give me some error and close herself....
i'm trying for so much time to make gcode from that owl but nothing.... every time i got error ( no matter what owl i'm trying to slice.... )
seems that my computer don't want me to slice owl, so i'm not trying anymore :( (i still want that owl )

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:58 pm
by Captain Starfish
On my mac, on some bigger pieces, slic3r gets to the point where it's writing the temp GCode and just stalls. Activity monitor shows very little activity out of it, looks like some kind of deadlock somewhere. Usually bouncing repetier and trying again fixes it.

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:57 pm
by Eaglezsoar
Orenfor wrote:well, it take me sometimes to much time, i try to slice the owl and after 1 hour the slic3r just broke up and give me some error and close herself....
i'm trying for so much time to make gcode from that owl but nothing.... every time i got error ( no matter what owl i'm trying to slice.... )
seems that my computer don't want me to slice owl, so i'm not trying anymore :( (i still want that owl )

Did you run the Owl STL through Nettfab to see if there were any errors before slicing it?

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:23 am
by Orenfor
nope, i don't even know what is nettfab....

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:40 am
by Orenfor
ok. so the nettfab say it's ok, it's the same file that Partdaddy print in *2.4 size, but yet i can't slice it....

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:42 am
by Eaglezsoar
Orenfor wrote:ok. so the nettfab say it's ok, it's the same file that Partdaddy print in *2.4 size, but yet i can't slice it....

Did you want it in the original size or the 2.4 larger size?
What kind of filament do you want to use?

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:23 am
by Orenfor
original size for pla
first layer 0.3 other layer 0.25

infill 0.15
speed 30 mm/s

about the hot end 185 first layer and 180 other layer
bed temp 65 first layer 63 other layer
fan on from sec layer

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:12 am
by Eaglezsoar
Orenfor wrote:original size for pla
first layer 0.3 other layer 0.25

infill 0.15
speed 30 mm/s

about the hot end 185 first layer and 180 other layer
bed temp 65 first layer 63 other layer
fan on from sec layer

This is the GCode in zip format. It took 54 seconds to slice with Slic3r so I'm not sure why you are having problems slicing it.
It is sliced with the parameters you gave me so I hope that it works for you. I assume you know how to unzip it, if not Google on how to unzip.
The actual file size is over 10 megabytes.

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:05 pm
by Orenfor
well, yes i do know how to unzip it :)
the owl will wait, i have 1 vase with t-glass that printing now, than my bro here want galaxy s3 case, my wife want something too, and after that the owl that i want so much....
the printer going to kill me some day, she isn't stooping.... at least she eat ( filament of course) all time long...

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:02 pm
by Eaglezsoar
Orenfor wrote:well, yes i do know how to unzip it :)
the owl will wait, i have 1 vase with t-glass that printing now, than my bro here want galaxy s3 case, my wife want something too, and after that the owl that i want so much....
the printer going to kill me some day, she isn't stooping.... at least she eat ( filament of course) all time long...

As you are finding out, these things are addictive. Don't run out of printer food! :)
I really hope the owl prints out okay for you, I know how bad you wanted it.

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:54 pm
by Orenfor
It didn't work .... the printers properties are not the same ( look's like we have different bed size , the hot end went to the Y,Z direction and did some BOOM.... i hope that everything is still working down here....
ouch that noise heart me so much...

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:00 pm
by Orenfor
It didn't work .... the printers properties are not the same ( look's like we have different bed size , the hot end went to the Y,Z direction and did some BOOM.... i hope that everything is still working down here....
ouch that noise heart me so much...

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:18 pm
by Eaglezsoar
Orenfor wrote:It didn't work .... the printers properties are not the same ( look's like we have different bed size , the hot end went to the Y,Z direction and did some BOOM.... i hope that everything is still working down here....
ouch that noise heart me so much...

You do have a Rostock Max do you not. That's what the owl slice was based on.

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:22 pm
by Orenfor
lol , yes i do have RostockMax..... and guess what after few more times i susses slice it in 40 sec.....
it was the infill that make me the problem....
so ... it's start printing now... let's wait 11 hours to see the reasult

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:26 pm
by Eaglezsoar
Orenfor wrote:lol , yes i do have RostockMax..... and guess what after few more times i susses slice it in 40 sec.....
it was the infill that make me the problem....
so ... it's start printing now... let's wait 11 hours to see the reasult

Great that you got it too slice but I have to wonder why my gcode didn't work.
Oh well at least you should have your owl in many hours of printing.

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:29 am
by Eaglezsoar
Orenfor wrote:lol , yes i do have RostockMax..... and guess what after few more times i susses slice it in 40 sec.....
it was the infill that make me the problem....
so ... it's start printing now... let's wait 11 hours to see the reasult

How did the owl turn out?

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:16 am
by Orenfor
well, i should post in in fail :)
it was bad and didn't finish....

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:26 am
by Orenfor
i just new topic on troubleshooting named Help!!!

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:58 am
by analog_banana
Just copypasting my post from a couple of threads up as it could be of use in answering a couple if questions on this thread:

If you are really bored waiting for slic3r to slice and you think it may have hung you can do this:

select "show work directory" from the File menu of Repetier (alt+w)

look at the file size of "composition.gcode" (assuming you have the windows folder set to view "details")
Keep pressing f5 to refresh, and you should see the file size gradually increasing - then you know that the gcode to create your print is actually being written.

I have occasionally thought a big file has hung, but have used this technique to reassure myself that something is happenning.

ALSO! Slic3r says that leaving "Avoid Crossing Perimeters" checked in the "Layers and Perimeters" field of slic3r's Print Settings can slow down gcode creation - I agree, I think it does on big files