How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

A place to talk about slic3r software (http://slic3r.org)
User avatar
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:35 am
Location: Notre Dame area
Contact:

How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Jimustanguitar » Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:01 pm

I've read in several places that people are dissatisfied with how long Slic3r takes, but I don't really know how long a "long time" is... Is it uncommon for certain parts to take several minutes?

The .5mm test cube takes me about 1 minute to slice. Other small things take 2 or 3. Complex things like a stretchlet ( http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:13505 ) take 90 minutes.

Is this right?

2jayzman
Plasticator
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby 2jayzman » Sun May 12, 2013 2:18 pm

I use Kisslicer and have one or two times that it has taken 10 minutes to slice. On those times my printer freaked out and had to shut down and reboot my laptop. Other then that it takes 2 minutes tops. Even are large slices. Might need to reoad your software.

Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Redmond WA

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Polygonhell » Sun May 12, 2013 3:31 pm

It's been a while since I used Slic3r, but the test cube should slice very quickly on a reasonably fast machine.
The time depends on the complexity of the model, but I've seen models take over an hour to slice.

IME KisSlicer is much faster for most models, though I've seen it have issues on some models.
It's not a simple problem, even just generating slices isn't particularly easy to do in a numerically stable way, and the polygon offset problem is "hard" enough in the general case to have a large number of research papers written about it. I believe KisSlicer solves the latter with bitmap operations, which is probably why it doesn't very often run into degenerate cases.

User avatar
bretsquire
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:04 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby bretsquire » Wed Jan 01, 2014 6:34 pm

Is there some place other than the repetier log window that shows if slic3r is still processing?

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:00 am

well, it take me sometimes to much time, i try to slice the owl and after 1 hour the slic3r just broke up and give me some error and close herself....
i'm trying for so much time to make gcode from that owl but nothing.... every time i got error ( no matter what owl i'm trying to slice.... )
seems that my computer don't want me to slice owl, so i'm not trying anymore :( (i still want that owl )

User avatar
Captain Starfish
Printmaster!
Posts: 959
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Captain Starfish » Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:58 pm

On my mac, on some bigger pieces, slic3r gets to the point where it's writing the temp GCode and just stalls. Activity monitor shows very little activity out of it, looks like some kind of deadlock somewhere. Usually bouncing repetier and trying again fixes it.

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:57 pm

Orenfor wrote:well, it take me sometimes to much time, i try to slice the owl and after 1 hour the slic3r just broke up and give me some error and close herself....
i'm trying for so much time to make gcode from that owl but nothing.... every time i got error ( no matter what owl i'm trying to slice.... )
seems that my computer don't want me to slice owl, so i'm not trying anymore :( (i still want that owl )

Did you run the Owl STL through Nettfab to see if there were any errors before slicing it?
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:23 am

nope, i don't even know what is nettfab....

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:40 am

ok. so the nettfab say it's ok, it's the same file that Partdaddy print in *2.4 size, but yet i can't slice it....

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:42 am

Orenfor wrote:ok. so the nettfab say it's ok, it's the same file that Partdaddy print in *2.4 size, but yet i can't slice it....

Did you want it in the original size or the 2.4 larger size?
What kind of filament do you want to use?
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:23 am

original size for pla
first layer 0.3 other layer 0.25

infill 0.15
speed 30 mm/s

about the hot end 185 first layer and 180 other layer
bed temp 65 first layer 63 other layer
fan on from sec layer

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:12 am

Orenfor wrote:original size for pla
first layer 0.3 other layer 0.25

infill 0.15
speed 30 mm/s

about the hot end 185 first layer and 180 other layer
bed temp 65 first layer 63 other layer
fan on from sec layer

This is the GCode in zip format. It took 54 seconds to slice with Slic3r so I'm not sure why you are having problems slicing it.
It is sliced with the parameters you gave me so I hope that it works for you. I assume you know how to unzip it, if not Google on how to unzip.
The actual file size is over 10 megabytes.
Last edited by Eaglezsoar on Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:05 pm

well, yes i do know how to unzip it :)
the owl will wait, i have 1 vase with t-glass that printing now, than my bro here want galaxy s3 case, my wife want something too, and after that the owl that i want so much....
the printer going to kill me some day, she isn't stooping.... at least she eat ( filament of course) all time long...

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:02 pm

Orenfor wrote:well, yes i do know how to unzip it :)
the owl will wait, i have 1 vase with t-glass that printing now, than my bro here want galaxy s3 case, my wife want something too, and after that the owl that i want so much....
the printer going to kill me some day, she isn't stooping.... at least she eat ( filament of course) all time long...

As you are finding out, these things are addictive. Don't run out of printer food! :)
I really hope the owl prints out okay for you, I know how bad you wanted it.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:54 pm

It didn't work .... the printers properties are not the same ( look's like we have different bed size , the hot end went to the Y,Z direction and did some BOOM.... i hope that everything is still working down here....
ouch that noise heart me so much...

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:00 pm

It didn't work .... the printers properties are not the same ( look's like we have different bed size , the hot end went to the Y,Z direction and did some BOOM.... i hope that everything is still working down here....
ouch that noise heart me so much...

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:18 pm

Orenfor wrote:It didn't work .... the printers properties are not the same ( look's like we have different bed size , the hot end went to the Y,Z direction and did some BOOM.... i hope that everything is still working down here....
ouch that noise heart me so much...

You do have a Rostock Max do you not. That's what the owl slice was based on.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:22 pm

lol , yes i do have RostockMax..... and guess what after few more times i susses slice it in 40 sec.....
it was the infill that make me the problem....
so ... it's start printing now... let's wait 11 hours to see the reasult

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:26 pm

Orenfor wrote:lol , yes i do have RostockMax..... and guess what after few more times i susses slice it in 40 sec.....
it was the infill that make me the problem....
so ... it's start printing now... let's wait 11 hours to see the reasult

Great that you got it too slice but I have to wonder why my gcode didn't work.
Oh well at least you should have your owl in many hours of printing.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Eaglezsoar » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:29 am

Orenfor wrote:lol , yes i do have RostockMax..... and guess what after few more times i susses slice it in 40 sec.....
it was the infill that make me the problem....
so ... it's start printing now... let's wait 11 hours to see the reasult

How did the owl turn out?
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:16 am

well, i should post in in fail :)
it was bad and didn't finish....
Attachments
2014-01-08 18.13.40.jpg
2014-01-08 18.13.37.jpg
2014-01-08 13.26.53.jpg
2014-01-08 13.26.48.jpg

Orenfor
Printmaster!
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:31 am

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby Orenfor » Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:26 am

i just new topic on troubleshooting named Help!!!

User avatar
analog_banana
Printmaster!
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:53 am
Location: London, England

Re: How long is Slic3r supposed to take?

Postby analog_banana » Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:58 am

Just copypasting my post from a couple of threads up as it could be of use in answering a couple if questions on this thread:

If you are really bored waiting for slic3r to slice and you think it may have hung you can do this:

select "show work directory" from the File menu of Repetier (alt+w)

look at the file size of "composition.gcode" (assuming you have the windows folder set to view "details")
Keep pressing f5 to refresh, and you should see the file size gradually increasing - then you know that the gcode to create your print is actually being written.

I have occasionally thought a big file has hung, but have used this technique to reassure myself that something is happenning.

ALSO! Slic3r says that leaving "Avoid Crossing Perimeters" checked in the "Layers and Perimeters" field of slic3r's Print Settings can slow down gcode creation - I agree, I think it does on big files
Ho Hum...
Rostock Max MDF Kit purchased from Creative Machines UK April 2013
RAMPS 1.4
EZStrruder
SeeMeCNC Bowden Hotend V1
Onyx
Fware: Repetier 0.91
Sware: Repetier-Host V0.95D


Return to “Slic3r”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest