No joy with browser connection

The one, the only, the Atremis. Forum for the monster metal machine from SeeMeCNC
User avatar
felich
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:41 pm
Contact:

No joy with browser connection

Postby felich » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:16 pm

I just plugged in my RTP Artemis and went through the Configuring Artemis procedure.
Wifi enables fine.
YAT reports: ok<LF>Wifi module is connected to access point studio, IP address 10.0.0.232<LF>
Step 3 says:Open a new tab and enter the IP Address of your printer. When the page loads, click on "Settings" in the lower left of the screen.
I open my Chrome browser and enter 10.0.0.232.
I get: This site can’t be reached. 10.0.0.232 took too long to respond.
I disabled the firewall; same message.
If I ping 10.0.0.232 I get a reply, but the response time is 84 ms.

What is a guy to do?


Thanks in advance for your help with this issue.

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby dc42 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:32 pm

First step is to send M122 and check the RSSI in the diagnostic report.

User avatar
felich
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby felich » Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:03 pm

I don't see anything about RSSI.

Used output buffers: 1 of 32 (9 max)
=== Platform ===
RepRapFirmware for Duet WiFi version 1.19.2 running on Duet WiFi 1.0
Board ID: 08DGM-95BNL-MGPSJ-6JKFG-3SJ6Q-T1W7Y
Static ram used: 21176
Dynamic ram used: 95552
Recycled dynamic ram: 2056
Stack ram used: 4056 current, 5204 maximum
Never used ram: 7084
Last reset 00:50:49 ago, cause: power up
Last software reset reason: User, spinning module GCodes, available RAM 6400 bytes (slot 3)
Software reset code 0x0003, HFSR 0x00000000, CFSR 0x00000000, ICSR 0x00400000, BFAR 0xe000ed38, SP 0xffffffff
Error status: 0
Free file entries: 10
SD card 0 not detected, interface speed: 30.0MBytes/sec
SD card longest block write time: 0.0ms
MCU temperature: min 32.5, current 32.9, max 33.4
Supply voltage: min 12.1, current 12.1, max 12.2, under voltage events: 0, over voltage events: 0
Driver 0: standstill
Driver 1: standstill
Driver 2: standstill
Driver 3: standstill
Driver 4: standstill
Date/time: 1970-01-01 00:00:00
Slowest main loop (seconds): 0.004639; fastest: 0.000000
=== Move ===
MaxReps: 0, StepErrors: 0, FreeDm: 240, MinFreeDm 240, MaxWait: 0ms, Underruns: 0, 0
Scheduled moves: 0, completed moves: 0
Bed compensation in use: none
Bed probe heights: 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.000
=== Heat ===
Bed heater = 0, chamber heater = -1
=== GCodes ===
Segments left: 0
Stack records: 0 allocated, 0 in use
Movement lock held by null
http is idle in state(s) 0
telnet is idle in state(s) 0
file is idle in state(s) 0
serial is ready with "m122" in state(s) 0
aux is idle in state(s) 0
daemon is idle in state(s) 0
queue is idle in state(s) 0
autopause is idle in state(s) 0
Code queue is empty.
Network state is running
WiFi module is connected to access point
WiFi firmware version 1.19
WiFi MAC address 2c:3a:e8:0b:2b:ef
WiFi Vcc 3.10, reset reason Turned on by main processor
WiFi flash size 4194304, free heap 40384
WiFi IP address 10.0.0.232
WiFi signal strength -47dBm
Reconnections 0
HTTP sessions: 0 of 8
Socket states: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Responder states: HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) FTP(0) Telnet(0)
ok

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby dc42 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:07 am

I forgot, I changed the name in the report. It's this:

WiFi signal strength -47dBm

That's quite good, so I am surprised you are having connection difficulties. You may find https://duet3d.com/wiki/WiFi_disconnect ... out_errors helpful.

User avatar
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDDI
Posts: 4707
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby geneb » Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:14 am

I find it very odd that your router is issuing 10.0.0.232.

0 is reserved as the network address and 255 is reserved as the broadcast address - however, that restriction may only be for the last octet in an IPv4 address. (yeah, it's been way too many years since I've had to think very hard about IP addressing... :) )

dc42, is it possible that the IP stack you're using doesn't like having zeroes in the subnet address?

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby dc42 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:54 pm

The TCP/IP stack used is lwip, version 1.4.1 in DuetWiFiServer 1.20 and earlier, and version 2.01 in DuetWiFiServer 1.20+1. AFAIK it has no problems with zeros in the IP address. However, we did hear a rumour that the patch from Expressiv to fix the KRACK vulnerability in WPA2 caused issues with used with some router makes/models.

User avatar
felich
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby felich » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:29 pm

I shut down Artemis and still got a reply from pinging 10.0.0.232 so it looks like a DHCP issue.
However, I don't know which machine is using 10.0.0.232 so I can't change it on that end.
Is there a way to set a static IP address on Artemis?
Also, where can I find all of these mysterious M codes you are using?

Thanks again for your help.

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby dc42 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:40 am


User avatar
DeltaCon
Printmaster!
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Wessem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby DeltaCon » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:30 am

felich wrote:I shut down Artemis and still got a reply from pinging 10.0.0.232 so it looks like a DHCP issue.
However, I don't know which machine is using 10.0.0.232 so I can't change it on that end.
Is there a way to set a static IP address on Artemis?.


Find these lines in your onfig.g and change them (and uncomment them if not already!) according to your wishes, and your local network requirements.

Code: Select all

M552 P192.168.1.76; Set the IP address
M553 P255.255.255.0; Set netmask (Subnet Mask)
M554 P192.168.1.254; Set the gateway (Default Gateway)


Chances are high that a fixed IP is already used, and that that is just the cause of your problem (because it probably was not reserved in your DHCP server /Router). ;-) Is this info not available in your Artemis Documentation?
Last edited by DeltaCon on Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
I am DeltaCon, I have a delta, my name is Con, I am definitely PRO delta! ;-)
Rostock V2 / E3D V6 / Raymond Style Heatchamber on the way!

PS.: Sorry for the avatar, that's my other hobby!

User avatar
felich
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby felich » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:47 pm

Where do I find the Artemis documentation?

AlanZ
Printmaster!
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:58 pm

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby AlanZ » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:08 pm


User avatar
felich
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby felich » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:38 pm

Here is the latest information on this issue:

I shut down the WiFi with M552 S0
I re-sent M587 with S"studio" P"password" I10.0.0.89 J10.0.0.1 K255.255.255.0
Then:
m552 S1
ok
m552
WiFi module is connected to access point studio, IP address 10.0.0.89
ok
m553
Net mask: 255.255.255.0
ok
m554
Gateway: 10.0.0.1
ok

I pinged 10.0.0.89 and got a reply average of 52ms
I shut down Artemis and pinged 10.0.0.89 again and got no reply
I restarted Artemis and pinged 10.0.0.89 and got a reply average of 56ms
I went to Chrome and opened a new tab and entered 10.0.0.89 and got "No webpage was found for the web address: http://10.0.0.89/

Here are some reports:
m408 S1
{"status":"I","heaters":[2000.0],"active":[0.0],"standby":[0.0],"hstat":[0],"pos":[0.000,0.000,0.000],"sfactor":100.00,"efactor":[],"babystep":0.000,"tool":0,"probe":"0","fanPercent":[0.00,100.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00],"fanRPM":0,"homed":[0,0,0],"msgBox.mode":-1,"geometry":"cartesian","axes":3,"volumes":2,"numTools":0,"myName":"My Duet","firmwareName":"RepRapFirmware for Duet WiFi"}

ok
m408 S2
{"status":"I","coords":{"axesHomed":[0,0,0],"extr":[],"xyz":[0.000,0.000,0.000]},"currentTool":-1,"params":{"atxPower":0,"fanPercent":[0.00,100.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00],"speedFactor":100.00,"extrFactors":[],"babystep":0.000},"sensors":{"probeValue":0,"fanRPM":0},"temps":{"bed":{"current":2000.0,"active":0.0,"state":0,"heater":0},"current":[2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0],"state":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0],"heads":{"current":[],"active":[],"standby":[],"state":[]},"tools":{"active":[],"standby":[]},"extra":[{"name":"MCU","temp":34.0}]},"time":333397.1}

ok
m408 S4
{"status":"I","coords":{"axesHomed":[0,0,0],"extr":[],"xyz":[0.000,0.000,0.000]},"currentTool":-1,"params":{"atxPower":0,"fanPercent":[0.00,100.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00],"speedFactor":100.00,"extrFactors":[],"babystep":0.000},"sensors":{"probeValue":0,"fanRPM":0},"temps":{"bed":{"current":2000.0,"active":0.0,"state":0,"heater":0},"current":[2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0,2000.0],"state":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0],"heads":{"current":[],"active":[],"standby":[],"state":[]},"tools":{"active":[],"standby":[]},"extra":[{"name":"MCU","temp":33.9}]},"time":333411.1,"currentLayer":0,"currentLayerTime":0.0,"extrRaw":[],"fractionPrinted":0.0,"firstLayerDuration":0.0,"firstLayerHeight":0.00,"printDuration":0.0,"warmUpDuration":0.0,"timesLeft":{"file":0.0,"filament":0.0,"layer":0.0}}

ok
m408 S5
{"axisMins":[0.00,0.00,0.00],"axisMaxes":[230.00,210.00,200.00],"accelerations":[500.00,500.00,20.00,250.00,250.00,250.00,250.00,250.00,250.00,250.00,250.00,250.00],"currents":[0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00],"firmwareElectronics":"Duet WiFi 1.0","firmwareName":"RepRapFirmware for Duet WiFi","firmwareVersion":"1.19.2","dwsVersion":"1.19","firmwareDate":"2017-11-01","idleCurrentFactor":30.0,"idleTimeout":30.0,"minFeedrates":[15.00,15.00,0.20,2.00,2.00,2.00,2.00,2.00,2.00,2.00,2.00,2.00],"maxFeedrates":[100.00,100.00,3.00,20.00,20.00,20.00,20.00,20.00,20.00,20.00,20.00,20.00]}

ok

m122
=== Diagnostics ===
Used output buffers: 1 of 32 (9 max)
=== Platform ===
RepRapFirmware for Duet WiFi version 1.19.2 running on Duet WiFi 1.0
Board ID: 08DGM-95BNL-MGPSJ-6JKFG-3SJ6Q-T1W7Y
Static ram used: 21176
Dynamic ram used: 95552
Recycled dynamic ram: 2056
Stack ram used: 4056 current, 5364 maximum
Never used ram: 6924
Last reset 92:39:54 ago, cause: power up
Last software reset reason: User, spinning module GCodes, available RAM 6400 bytes (slot 3)
Software reset code 0x0003, HFSR 0x00000000, CFSR 0x00000000, ICSR 0x00400000, BFAR 0xe000ed38, SP 0xffffffff
Error status: 0
Free file entries: 10
SD card 0 detected, interface speed: 30.0MBytes/sec
SD card longest block write time: 0.0ms
MCU temperature: min 33.5, current 33.8, max 40.2
Supply voltage: min 0.5, current 12.1, max 12.4, under voltage events: 3, over voltage events: 0
Driver 0: standstill
Driver 1: standstill
Driver 2: standstill
Driver 3: standstill
Driver 4: standstill
Date/time: 1970-01-01 00:00:00
Slowest main loop (seconds): 0.031250; fastest: 0.000000
=== Move ===
MaxReps: 0, StepErrors: 0, FreeDm: 240, MinFreeDm 240, MaxWait: 0ms, Underruns: 0, 0
Scheduled moves: 0, completed moves: 0
Bed compensation in use: none
Bed probe heights: 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.000
=== Heat ===
Bed heater = 0, chamber heater = -1
=== GCodes ===
Segments left: 0
Stack records: 0 allocated, 0 in use
Movement lock held by null
http is idle in state(s) 0
telnet is idle in state(s) 0
file is idle in state(s) 0
serial is ready with "m122" in state(s) 0
aux is idle in state(s) 0
daemon is idle in state(s) 0
queue is idle in state(s) 0
autopause is idle in state(s) 0
Code queue is empty.
Network state is running
WiFi module is connected to access point
WiFi firmware version 1.19
WiFi MAC address 2c:3a:e8:0b:2b:ef
WiFi Vcc 3.10, reset reason Turned on by main processor
WiFi flash size 4194304, free heap 40472
WiFi IP address 10.0.0.89
WiFi signal strength -53dBm
Reconnections 0
HTTP sessions: 0 of 8
Socket states: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Responder states: HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) HTTP(0) FTP(0) Telnet(0)
ok


I am at a loss for the next step.
Your help will be greatly appreciated.

wepollock
Printmaster!
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:18 pm

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby wepollock » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:24 pm

Hello Felich.. My approach was to purchase an access point so the printer would have a dedicated network and thus not have to compete with DHCP (the router assigning IP addresses to devices). My home network has far too much going on.

My plan is to replace the access point with a router.


Printer <------->Dedicated Router<---main house router---->Internet
......................... |
.....................My work PC

User avatar
DeltaCon
Printmaster!
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Wessem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby DeltaCon » Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:21 am

wepollock wrote:My approach was to purchase an access point so the printer would have a dedicated network and thus not have to compete with DHCP (the router assigning IP addresses to devices).


Adding an access point is meaningfull if your wifi signal is too low, but that does not seem to be the case here. Adding a router only complicates access to your printer, I do not advise that.

The Duet seems to have no webpages loaded, it is not that "loading the page takes too much time" it times out. I think I would take out the SD card and recommission it using the files here: https://github.com/seemecnc/Artemis/tree/master/SD. First start replacing the two *.bin files. You can also prepare the config.g according to your network settings, and upload it to the SD card from your PC SD-card slot. (or sdcard reader), or leave it as it is if you are convinced it is right.
I am DeltaCon, I have a delta, my name is Con, I am definitely PRO delta! ;-)
Rostock V2 / E3D V6 / Raymond Style Heatchamber on the way!

PS.: Sorry for the avatar, that's my other hobby!

wepollock
Printmaster!
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:18 pm

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby wepollock » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:38 am

DeltaCon wrote:
wepollock wrote:My approach was to purchase an access point so the printer would have a dedicated network and thus not have to compete with DHCP (the router assigning IP addresses to devices).

Adding an access point is meaningful if your wifi signal is too low,


I was interested in Simplicity not signal.. This way if I had a problem the debugging would be much easier; eliminate variables.

My access point is not really setup as an access point. Its basically a hub.

Its advertising a unique network-id and it has its own ip address range. It is just a stand alone wireless lan; the same has having an ethernet hub that goes nowhere. The idea is get the printer to work and then add complexity.

The next step is to add a router that points to a gateway. The wireless-lan stays simple (the printer won't know about routing, it just sits on the lan); but the PC on the same lan has a gateway so Fusion and other internet-connected software works. (with a router you could do more, and add more complexity; but that would be later).

Suggest connecting a PC in place of the printer; 1) do a cmd 2) then an ipconfig.
From there you could ping around, or traceroute.

User avatar
felich
Plasticator
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection -Solved now!

Postby felich » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:39 pm

Well I unmounted the controller and removed the SD chip and looked at it on my PC.
Everything looked OK far as I could tell.
I remounted the controller and inserted the SD chip.
BAM!
The web page loaded first try.

So I guess the SD chip was not inserted to its satisfaction, but re-inserting it made it happy.

Now I am happy and can proceed with the configuration.

Thanks to you all for your ideas and help.

ripacheco
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 1:44 am

Re: No joy with browser connection -Solved now!

Postby ripacheco » Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:08 pm

Phew! glad it was something like that and not some other issue with the firmware or network hardware!

felich wrote:Well I unmounted the controller and removed the SD chip and looked at it on my PC.
Everything looked OK far as I could tell.
I remounted the controller and inserted the SD chip.
BAM!
The web page loaded first try.

So I guess the SD chip was not inserted to its satisfaction, but re-inserting it made it happy.

Now I am happy and can proceed with the configuration.

Thanks to you all for your ideas and help.

User avatar
DeltaCon
Printmaster!
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Wessem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby DeltaCon » Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:42 pm

wepollock wrote:I was interested in Simplicity not signal.. This way if I had a problem the debugging would be much easier; eliminate variables.
---
My access point is not really setup as an access point. Its basically a hub.
---


I am not really sure what you are saying here. Adding network hubs, AP's, routers and other stuff is not simplifying in my opinion. Before you know it people are troubleshooting network topology instead of solving printer problems. Hence my comment earlier.
I am DeltaCon, I have a delta, my name is Con, I am definitely PRO delta! ;-)
Rostock V2 / E3D V6 / Raymond Style Heatchamber on the way!

PS.: Sorry for the avatar, that's my other hobby!

wepollock
Printmaster!
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:18 pm

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby wepollock » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:27 pm

My access point is not really setup as an access point. Its basically a hub.


I am not really sure what you are saying here. Adding network hubs, AP's, routers and other stuff is not simplifying in my opinion. Before you know it people are troubleshooting network topology instead of solving printer problems. Hence my comment earlier.


Having a dedicated stand alone network is as simple as it gets.

dc42
Printmaster!
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:17 am

Re: No joy with browser connection

Postby dc42 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:43 pm

You can also run the Duet WiFi in access point mode, without a router. That's about as simple as it gets! Needs firmware 1.20 or later, and of course a smartphone/tablet/laptop/PC with WiFi.


Return to “Artemis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest