Machine name in firmware

A place to talk about developmental stuff (firmware/software/hardware etc)
TN Yankee
Printmaster!
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:42 pm

Machine name in firmware

Postby TN Yankee » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:27 am

I cannot figure out where in the firmware the printer name (e.g. "Rostock Max V2") is entered. I would like to be able to change it, as I want to make it obvious to myself if I'm running a dev or master version. I see where the version & date are entered, but they're fixed fields.

I tried the most obvious field, "UI_PRINTER_NAME" but that doesn't have any effect, and it's also entered without spaces between the words, while the LCD text has spaces.

As an experiment, I changed the printer type to a 5 (i.e. V3), and interestingly it changes the display to "Rostock Max V3 Dual." However, when a V2 is selected, "dual" doesn't appear, despite the dual extrusion option still being selected.

What am I missing?

Thanks!

Eric
Printmaster!
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:09 am
Location: Chula Vista, CA

Re: Machine name in firmware

Postby Eric » Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:02 pm

It's in "uilang.h", look for UI_TEXT_PRINTER_READY. Only the english version has been customized for Seeme products.

The constant is invoked in "uimenu.h", which would be an alternate spot to change the label (or any other string on that page).
It's also used in "ui.cpp" for the bootup screen.

TN Yankee
Printmaster!
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:42 pm

Re: Machine name in firmware

Postby TN Yankee » Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:31 pm

Thanks, Eric! I was just coming back here to update my post that I had found it, via an M115 command. However, I wouldn't have know about the other locations without your post.

Thanks for the quick reply!


Return to “Development Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest